We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Cemetery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria National Cemetery

Alexandria National Cemetery
1450 Wilkes Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703 221- 2183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Attractions in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Cemeteries, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“National Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife has two relatives buried at Arlington (an uncle who survived the Bataan Death March and an aunt who served in the Army Nurse Corps). Whenever we're in the Washington D.C. area we try to stop here to pay our respects. The staff has always been very helpful in giving directions and the grounds are very well maintained.

It's a sobering experience to visit Arlington and see the graves of so many fallen service personnel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heart Wrenching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a very much worthwhile place to visit. The tour buss is the best way to go. The grounds are expansive. You need to have plenty of time. The Changing of the Guard is remarkable and memorable. It helps you gain and /or regain a tremendous respect for our Nations Military and the men and women who serve.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Never miss an opportunity to honor our fallen heroes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A walk through the Alexandria National Cemetery is another reminder of the high price of freedom and the amazing history of our nation. We never miss an opportunity to experience the sight of the rows of white stones that tell the story of our fallen heroes. Also connected to this National Cemetery are several local church cemeteries with new, old, and very old sections of interesting gravestones. A very intriguing day for someone who likes walking through old cemeteries.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful resting place that fills you with patriotism and deep respect for our soldiers. I recommend the tour (nominal fee) both for the information the guides have and the transportation (this is a big place to walk around in).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE CURRENT, ONTARIO, CANADA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT TO THE ALEXANDRIA NATIONAL CEMETERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A large cemetery full of military history and a wonderful display by the honor guard. So many gave their lives for our freedom! The Alexandria National Cemetery is a must visit for anyone visiting Washington D.C. or Alexandria, Virginia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandria National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.