We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome...just plain awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant

Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant
5580 Vincent Gate Terrace, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 644 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome...just plain awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I live close to this restaurant and have also lived in/ visited Thailand. Living in the area, it is nice to walk into an establishment and have the Service Staff, Owner Etc. remember your name, what you drank the last time you visited. It is Luxury Service in a small new, clean, Thai restaurant. They cook traditional Thai....if the dish wouldn't normally come with chicken....you aren't going to get it with chicken....
The food is consistently great. The presentation is always fantastic and the menu has a ton of variety.
If you want great food, fantastic service, consistency, and a great vibe....come here!
They are a Washingtonian Cheap Eats Winner too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great (spicy) food & attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

S and I have been going here for 6 months, maybe more. We usually go 2-3 times a month, mostly on the weekends. We've had great experiences every time.

The service is very attentive, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. Drinks are generously sized, there is a good if short wine list, and an excellent loooong cocktail list. I've only had the wine and margaritas, but S has tried many of the cocktails and likes them all.

The food is also very good. I usually get Thai staples such as satay, spicy beef salad (Nam Tok), pad thai, and panang curry - they are all allergy-safe for me, and quite tasty. S has tried many of the dishes. He particularly recommends the duck rolls, thai wings and firecracker calamari to start, and the Pad Khing and Nua Yang entrees. Our one complaint is that we have wimpy tastebuds, and a lot of the food is very very hot. Even the panang is sometimes so hot my eyes water, and although I order the Nam Tok extra extra mild, it's still very spicy.

We usually go as a couple or with some friends, but we've seen many people with kids as well, so i recommend for all ages.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We love this restaurant. The menu has a large variety of excellent dishes and during the work week they have amazing specials. The service is one of the best in the area!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great service. Great food. Easy on/off to highway. Only con is parking. Need to park back in garage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We eat here all the time, sometimes in the restaurant and sometimes by delivery. We have never had a bad meal. The peanut sauce is the best around. Excellent fried rice. We highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.