We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant
5580 Vincent Gate Terrace, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 642 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Washington, D.C
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We love this restaurant. The menu has a large variety of excellent dishes and during the work week they have amazing specials. The service is one of the best in the area!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great service. Great food. Easy on/off to highway. Only con is parking. Need to park back in garage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We eat here all the time, sometimes in the restaurant and sometimes by delivery. We have never had a bad meal. The peanut sauce is the best around. Excellent fried rice. We highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'm still having dreams of their curry sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

DELICIOUS! Honestly deserves 4.5 stars but not an option...and was only going to dock it the half a star because they "cheated" us out of one chicken wing in our appetizer :)

That said, the chicken wings were fantastic. Flash fried so lightly crispy outside, generously covered in a honey siracha sauce. Perfect blend of spicy sweet!

The spice continued with the green curry chicken based on all the recommendations here. We were a little concerned that it came as huge chunks of chicken. We needn't have worried. The chicken fell apart at the touch and melted in your mouth. And I'm not ashamed to admit that I ate a few spoonfuls of the sauce by itself. Amazing.

We also ordered drunken noodles with beef. Meat was lean and cooked well. Noodles were tasty although not overly flavorful (Disclaimer: lack of flavor might have been due to my mouth being pleasantly on fire :)

Service was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere was clean, beautiful, modern and bright (colors; lighting was more 'mood lighting'). Prices were the tiniest bit higher than avg local thai options (avg entrees were between $10.50-$12.95)

My husband and I are BIG thai fans and will go to Bangkok Golden in Falls Church 99% of the time (our fave!) but this new found gem will surely change that frequency. Highly highly recommend. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFAX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was recommended by a friend who has eaten here many times. We had a group of 6 and we shared food and every appetizer and entree we tried was amazing! The portions were good, the decor is beautiful, the bar looked interesting (we hear they have specials during the week) and the service was fantastic. Definitely a place we will return to again and again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
Alexandria, VA
 
Alexandria, VA

Been to Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.