We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant

Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant
5580 Vincent Gate Terrace, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We eat here all the time, sometimes in the restaurant and sometimes by delivery. We have never had a bad meal. The peanut sauce is the best around. Excellent fried rice. We highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I'm still having dreams of their curry sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

DELICIOUS! Honestly deserves 4.5 stars but not an option...and was only going to dock it the half a star because they "cheated" us out of one chicken wing in our appetizer :)

That said, the chicken wings were fantastic. Flash fried so lightly crispy outside, generously covered in a honey siracha sauce. Perfect blend of spicy sweet!

The spice continued with the green curry chicken based on all the recommendations here. We were a little concerned that it came as huge chunks of chicken. We needn't have worried. The chicken fell apart at the touch and melted in your mouth. And I'm not ashamed to admit that I ate a few spoonfuls of the sauce by itself. Amazing.

We also ordered drunken noodles with beef. Meat was lean and cooked well. Noodles were tasty although not overly flavorful (Disclaimer: lack of flavor might have been due to my mouth being pleasantly on fire :)

Service was friendly and attentive. Atmosphere was clean, beautiful, modern and bright (colors; lighting was more 'mood lighting'). Prices were the tiniest bit higher than avg local thai options (avg entrees were between $10.50-$12.95)

My husband and I are BIG thai fans and will go to Bangkok Golden in Falls Church 99% of the time (our fave!) but this new found gem will surely change that frequency. Highly highly recommend. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFAX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was recommended by a friend who has eaten here many times. We had a group of 6 and we shared food and every appetizer and entree we tried was amazing! The portions were good, the decor is beautiful, the bar looked interesting (we hear they have specials during the week) and the service was fantastic. Definitely a place we will return to again and again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thai In Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just running errands in the 'burbs, saw this place and dropped in. What a nice surprise. Probably the best vegetable pad thai we've had in the DC area, and they had an interesting curry eggplant that was so simple and so delicious. Service was very good. And the price was very reasonable - much less than what we pay in DC, and so much better. So, not expecting such a fine presentation, we felt very fortunate to have come upon such an accomplished Thai restaurant out there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sugar Palm is not right in the middle of all the action, but if you plan ahead you can stop there on your way to/from the action! I have eaten at many Thai restaurants over the past ten years, and this place is the absolute yummiest. We recently went back to an old favorite, and I swear it tasted like they made their dishes in the microwave! Sugar Palm has a slightly different take on Thai dishes, but it's definitely authentic. My husband works near the restaurant, so I try to make an excuse to visit him at least once a week and we almost always have lunch there. The staff is great too! We've been so many times that the waitresses remember what I've liked and make recommendations based on my previous visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.