We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lucky to have found Gatsby's House"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast

Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
517 3/4 South Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Lucky to have found Gatsby's House"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We consider ourselves very lucky to have come across available lodging with Marie at Gatsby's House. This was a last minute trip and we are used to staying at Bed and Breakfasts. Very little was available in the DC area and Marie only had two of the nights we needed; we are so glad she did. Gatsby's location is great! Just a few blocks off King Street where there are restaurants, shopping, the waterfront and the free King Street Trolley. It had been years since we had been in DC. Marie was a wealth of information. Directing us to restaurants, events, and helping us with transportation even driving us to the Metro station.
We booked the Blue Room but had the entire third floor to ourselves. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable with good bedding. The bathroom has tub and shower also a nice sized sink, mirror and vanity area with good lighting. The house is right on the street but the lodging is on the third floor so there was no problem with noise and shades on all the windows help get the rooms dark for good sleeping.
Marie's breakfasts were very good and more than we could eat. Fruit, hash brown potatoes, quiche, juice, tea and coffee one morning and strawberries with yogurt, bacon, a delicious scrambled egg in a flaky biscuit and a hollandaise sauce, broiled tomato slices with cheese and sage, juice, tea and coffee the second morning.
Marie doesn' t allow pets but does have a dog. This was a small concern since I do have allergies. But it was not a problem. The dog does not come onto the third floor and I did not have any symptoms while there.
We had to stay in a motel for the rest of our stay and repeatedly wished we were still with Marie at Gatsby's House. We would definitely recommend this place and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this quiet, charming bed and breakfast for a wedding. The room was clean and comfortable. It was very convenient to old town Alexandria's bars and restaurants-- we didn't need to drive at all. But the breakfasts were what really wowed me-- multiple courses, beautifully plated and with a variety of savory and sweet items at each meal. If we're ever near DC again, we'll be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Attractive, fresh and homey b&b a few blocks from King Street, the main thoroughfare of Old Town Alexandria. We loved our blue daisy room. Not frumpy or kitschy like you get in many b&bs.

Marie was extremely helpful and accommodating to my husband and me. We were planning our 5th anniversary trip around the childcare of our 2 year old. She was easy to reach and easy to communicate with.

Of note: beautiful and intimate backyard garden, a few blocks from Fontaine- an incredible creperie, blocks from the water and the Torpedo Factory.

We plan to return and will recommend that friends visit as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the house overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Marie Buckley is the proprietress of this marvelous bed and breakfast. She went out of her way to help us find what we were looking for, and kindly adjusted her delicious breakfasts to match our dietary restrictions. When the temperature became unexpectedly cool for August, she took the extra time to open all of the windows, and then to close them again when the next heat wave arrived. By renting the large room on the third floor, you get a charming view of the garden. The house is in the historic district on the south side, close to the waterfront and near a newly designed park which is excellent for walking or jogging by the old lighthouse. It's a short walk to King Street which has many restaurants and shops and a free trolley to the DC metro.

Room Tip: The Blue Queen Room is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 3/4 South Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheery private home Old Town Charmer is located in the historic Southeast quadrant. Gatsby's House is convenient to all amenities; two blocks to water; four blocks to King Street and its great shopping and amazing restaurants. Easy access to DC and other historic sites. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.