We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighbourhood gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Ray Cafe

Del Ray Cafe
205 East Howell Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
(703) 717-9151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Ray Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: French, Café, Organic, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: From the owners of La Bergerie, a French cafe serving local, natural, and organic products.
Arlington, VIrginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first time to Del Ray and we've lived here for a long time. We will definitely go back. Food is delicious with wonderfully interesting menu. I had lamb, cooked to rare perfection over haricot verts and broiled tomato topped with farci. There is an extensive wine list. But save room for dessert. All were delicious decadent and definitely worth the calories. The restaurant is divided into small rooms so one can hold a conversation without any trouble. Service is great - attentive but not overly.

This is definitely a good value. For tourists, it is not easy to get to via public transportation but take a cab and you won't be disappointed. This is a "locals" destination.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
597 reviews 597 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE HAS GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had dinner at the Del Ray Cafe last Saturday. Very good service, ambience and most importantly cuisine. Our table of four enjoyed the soft shelled clams and chicken dishes. Dessert was very good. We tried an assortment of beignets. The service could not have been more pleasant or prompt regarding our needs and requests. Parking is in the rear and on the street. Reservations are accepted. Location is right off Mt. Vernon Avenue in Alexandria on Howell Street. This is a relatively new cafe and so it has not accumulated many reviews. My prediction is it will have many reviews in time and the great majority will be quite favorable. We will return to this restaurant which also serves lunch and breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict and "Create Your Own Omelet" - Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just before flying home to Hawaii, we asked our son and daughter-in-law to recommend a special place for a late breakfast. At DelRay Cafe we were greeted warmly and seated inside on the first floor (a bit too chilly for us on the outside porch and we didn't need the privacy of the upstairs dining room). Coffee was offered immediately and refilled frequently - perfect. I had the two egg omelet with Swiss cheese, bacon, mushrooms, and shallots. My husband ordered Eggs Benedict with English muffin, Canadian bacon, and Hollandaise sauce. Our were served a small cup of chopped fresh fruit and my omelet was accompanied by a small, very flaky, delicious croissant. Preparation, flavors and portion sizes were perfect. We thought the pricing was very reasonable and hope it will remain so. Our breakfast entrees with tip were just under $30. Free parking is available behind the restaurant, but for DelRay natives, the destination is very walkable. We wish we could return weekly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just had brunch. I had two egg omlet with mushroom and swiss. Yum. Served with small croissant and fruit. Just the right amount for breakfast. Second in party had the vegetable quiche. He was very pleased with it, and he doesn't ususally even like zucchini! Third had two poached eggs perfectly cooked. Liked the lightness of the place. Very busy with a young crowd, but kids were well behaved so all was fine. Manager was receptive to our suggestions to add lemonade and either black or orange pekoe tea. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I dined here for lunch this week with friends and we were all very pleased. I had the Croque Monsieur, it was very good and plated with a small salad and fruit cup. One friend had classic steak frites and was very pleased, while another savored her crepes with strawberry jam and nutella and the other had a lovely open faced sandwich with chicken, avocado and sun dried tomatoes. For the four of us, the check was $55.00. The fact that they have their own parking lot is a huge plus!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Ray Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Del Ray Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Ray Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.