We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai You Can Afford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Phao Thai Cuisine

Sam Phao Thai Cuisine
1019 King Street, Alexandria, VA
703.548.3736
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good Thai You Can Afford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

During a recent visit to Alexandria, looking for a casual-dress (jeans) non-mortgage-causing restaurant for a casual meal, we asked a friend who works and eats daily along Alexandria's King Street for a recommendation. With no hesitation, Sam Phao is where he sent us. Turns out our friend eats lunch here almost every day, so he knew the food. Sam Phao is a tiny, little place. The decor is anything but memorable. But since you're not here to eat the walls, you'll find straight-up good Thai food at prices that are very reasonable. I had the pineapple chicken -- tasty, very enjoyable, served in a hollowed-out pineapple half. At this point, I don't remember what the other two diners had, but their selections were enjoyed, as well. Bottom line, for a come-as-you-are setting, good Thai food at very reasonable prices, give Sam Phao's a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a late Memorial Day lunch with a good friend. Pretty robust menu - ordered the tom yum soup with shrimp and the pad thai with shrimp. Service was friendly and food came out very quickly. Was delicious! Lunch prices were also competitive, particularly considering Old Town prices. Would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuebingen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not bad. Very good flavors. And excellent prices for King Street. We ordered green curry which wasn't the best that I have ever tasted but it was good. We also ordered the Kea Mao which was exceptional... Nice and spicy. Hotel recommended the place. We were happy. On a side note, this place is not fancy... So if you are trying to impress anyone, this may not be the place to go. If you are just catching up with an old friend, this place is perfect. Dinner entrees were around $10 -$12 each.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our favorite Thai place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have tried a few, but Sam Phao is our absolute favorite. My husband has been to Thailand about 16 times for work, so he is pretty picky when it comes to his Thai food. The food is delicious & the staff is so friendly. The prices are pretty good, especially for Old Town. The decor is pretty cheesy, but the food more than makes up for it. We have been so many times & have tried so many dishes and none of disappointed us yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Walking along King Street with a big lunch appetite, an out of town friend and I stopped in Sam Phao based on the number of people already inside, good reviews from another restaurant recommendation site, and our craving for Thai. We got very lucky. Although this is not the flashiest restaurant, it has a lot of charm and the food is excellent. We sat upstairs near a window, which on a warmer day would have been lovely but still allowed us a great view and let us people watch on a brisk Sunday afternoon. Our server recommended a special appetizer, which was like their crispy wonton except all vegetarian. It was great and served with a nice sauce. We then had two excellent entrees. I enjoyed the Pad Thai "J" with egg, and it was just the way I enjoy my Pad Thai - not too peanuty and with just enough spice. A great portion size too. My friend raved about his "Rama J", which was served in an excellent yellow curry sauce that he had never tried before and came away smitten with. I also thought it was very tasty and would go great on one of their rice dishes. We had an excellent server and we were warmly greeted and had a pleasant chat with what I assume was a manager or supervisor, too. I will be back, and with the Mrs. who loves Thai.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Phao Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Sam Phao Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Phao Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.