We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow Wow WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This property is newER, but feels and looks BRAND new! I was absolutely blown away when I entered into my room and saw how fresh, modern and clean it was. I have not one single complaint. This is definitely the hotel to book if traveling to the area-best bang for your buck! I will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience at the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. We hope that we will see you in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
6
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love this place. DVD lending library, free use of laundry machines, on-your-honor snack shop, and well appointed suites. Awesome staff. The manager on duty, Kyle, resolved a problem that was totally my fault.

The only downside for me, which is huge, is that it is six miles from the metro. So I had to change hotels after the weekend to shorten my commute into the district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear clcohen,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Candlewood suites Fort Belvoir. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed a few of the amenities we have to offer. I’m glad I was able to assist you in the problem solving. If you ever need a great place to stay you are always welcome at the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir!

Kindest Regards,
Kyle L English

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is a minute from Belvoir and the perfection location for being near work.The staff is fantastic and goes above and beyond to assist! Danielle always helped us get cleaning service as needed. Special thanks to Irine for assisting with the delivery of our car (that arrived before we did) and to Kyle for holding our mail during our move. Great people, great customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear LAbaker13,


Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that we were able to accommodate you even before you arrived at the hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Audrey, Marcus, Kyle and the rest of the staff at Candlewood Suites, near Ft Belvoir, in Alexandria Virginia were very helpful and accommodating during our stay at their hotel. They are very knowledgeable of the area for things to do and see. Close to Ft Belvoir makes this hotel ideal for servicemember's to stay while in the area on TDY or relocating to the area like me and my family were. Very professional, clean, and customer oriented service. Top notch !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Wright Family,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write about your experience at the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. I will make sure to show your review to the employee’s you had mentioned. We hope that you will visit us again.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I just want to think Marcus and the rest of the staff here at Candlewood Suites for a great stay. The staff always made sure my family and myself was taking care of no matter what it was. Our stay lasted just about 2 weeks and i didn't regret one moment of it. Cleam rooms, Clean sheets and towels and most of all free wifi!!!. They are less than a mile from FT. Belvoir which helped me out a great deal. When i had to adjust my check out time the Staff was very understanding and actually went above and beyond the regular customer service you normally receive. Overall i would most definitely stay here again and will recommend this hotel to my Unit to use as a TDY location. Thanks again
Richard S.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Richard S,
Thank you for such a wonderful review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. It is always very rewarding to know that we were able to go above and beyond for you. A threshold that we strive to provide for each and every guest. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here awhile back when I wanted a hotel closer to Ft. Belvoir. This hotel offered the proximity I wanted and had the amenities for a long stay. While there isn't anything really in walking distance you are a short drive to Ft Belvoir and down Richmond Hwy for food items and other food. The front desk staff were polite and helpful, I had several convesations and enjoyed their opinions and advice. Each room comes with the standard bed, computer desk and recliner. Since this is a new hotel you have the newer decor such as updated kitchens and granite bathroom sink etc...functional and appealing.

note. the parking lot fills fast and the road to enter and exit is tricky, you actually have to drive down the service road towards 7-11 to get back to Ft Belvoir or make a U-turn when going north on Richmond.

I would stay here again if at Ft Belvoir.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Warsnake66,

Thank you for writing your review about the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. It is good to know that enjoyed the amenities and also the new décor we have to offer. Please let us know if you need any future accommodations. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the great hospitality, communication, customer service, and friendliness at Candlewood Suites during our recent stay. The room was very quiet (we were on the 1st floor) and the beds were very comfy. The free use of the washer and dryers were great as well as the complimentary coffee and tea. When the air conditioner and refrigerator wasn't working in the first room,we were immediately moved to another. The TV channels weren't working right and it was reprogrammed within 24 hours. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear gubesoum,

On behalf of the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir Team we would like to thank you for writing a review about your most recent stay. It is always a pleasure to know that we provide great and responsive service while you were with us. We have a great team that always strives to go above and beyond for our entire guest. We are glad we accomplished that during your stay. We look forward to hosting you in the near future at the Candlewood Suites Fort Belvoir. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for future accommodations.

Kindest Regards,

Kyle L English
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Address: 8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the *All New* Candlewood Suites Alexandria, Virginia - a refreshing choice for short and extended-stay Alexandria, VA hotels near Fort Belvoir and Washington DC. Come experience 100% all-suites comfort and convenience designed for today's busy traveler. Our corporate and military guests enjoy affordable Ft. Belvoir lodging less than a mile from the base. Plus, they can easily visit the Ft. Belvoir Community Hospital, United States Coast Guard-TISCOM and the USO Center. Corporations within a 10-minute drive include BAE Systems, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and Raytheon. Not here on business? Leisure guests and families have the remarkable history of Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC to explore. Other popular attractions near our Alexandria, VA hotel include the Ft. Belvoir Golf Club, National Museum of the Marine Corps and Mount Vernon. Whatever brings you, Candlewood Suites delivers the effortless warmth of home, whether you spend just the night or weeks at a stretch. Our 57 spacious Alexandria, VA suites features a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with refrigerator, stovetop, dishwasher, cookware and more. Get things done in a large, comfy work space with free high-speed Internet access, or relax with a DVD movie from our Lending Library®. At day's end, our signature Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection promises a restful night's sleep. Make the fresh new choice for short and extended-stay hotels in Alexandria, Virginia - Candlewood Suites Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.