We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night during a long drive north from Florida and fitted in two half day visits to George Washington's estate/museum nearby. We arrived at lunchtime and a room had been made ready so we could leave our things (travelling in a canvas sided jeep !) and the next day there was space for our things in reception while we made a morning visit. Danielle and the duty manager could not have been more helpful and friendly.
The hotel is well equipped, super kitchen and TV with videos to borrow, and clean.
Great place to stay if on a longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear david537,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We’re glad that we were able to be of great service to you. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
6
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Received great service and assistance from Danielle at the front desk and the front office manager during our stay. The location was in close proximity to public transportation, shops, Wash DC and Fort Belvoir.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear LeeJ706,

Thank you for staying here at the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We’re happy to hear that you received great service and the location was suiting for your needs. We hope that we can be service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Audrey's level of hospitalty far exceeds what would be expected for someone who is part- time. I look forward to seeing her on Thursday morning before leaving for work.
The cleaning staff work is pretty average. There need to be a better inspection of the rooms between guest. This attribute is the primary for the average score.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Faith2013,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience with regards to the cleanliness of the room. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just PCS'd to the area and needed a place to call home for a couple of weeks while my house was being prepared for my family. Everyone (for the most part) who works at this hotel is really nice and genuinely care about the folks who stay with them. Kyle has been amazing and really enjoys taking care of the people staying at his hotel. Marcus B has saved my family a couple of times as we lost our door key while carrying kids/bags/groceries and saw the struggle on the security camera. Before I could get to the elevator to get a new key, he was coming out the elevator with a new key (can anyone say superhero?). And Fred is ALWAYS smiling and after a long day at work, its the simple things that count.

Thank you to everyone who has been so kind to me and my family during our stay ( The ladies at the front desk who always give us warm cookies like Rita and Danielle made me a believer.)

Room Tip: Speak with Kyle or Danielle when calling as they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Alauna F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review in regards to your stay at the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We’re glad that we could accommodate you and your family during your move. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will come back to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was put up at this hotel by my company for an extended stay. My experience here for the 3 months has been wonderful. The hotel is very clean and well managed. The hotel manager Kyle English was exceptionally helpful and accomodating to all my needs, I wish there was a Kyle in every hotel I stay in. The front desk guy Marcus B. was also very helpful and informative. The rooms were very clean and well mantained. I would definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to my family & frineds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Local731,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We are pleased that you had such a great experience while staying with us. We love to make our guest feel at home! We do look forward to accommodating you if travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Kyle at the front desk greeted us upon our arrival. He was very courteous, friendly and professional. The lobby is very well lit and cheerful.
Our room was near perfect. The appointments were smart and well placed. The room has a dishwasher, microwave, smooth top cook top, and a full size refrigerator.
The flat screen TV is the largest I've seen in hotel chains. It looks like maybe 47". The desk area is very well designed with plenty of outlets for your electronics. The bathroom tile is quite pleasing and the Kohler faucet is a dream to operate. I'm a little disappointed with the shower head but not a big deal and I was able to adjust it to a somewhat acceptable spray. The toilet seat is the kind that lowers without banging. (very nice). The entire room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Also, the pillows were nice and soft, the way we like.
Although they don't have a breakfast area, they do have a little "store" with lots of food choices, such as coffee, a variety of oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches, pizza, ice cream, candy, and many assorted snacks. The room rates are very competitive with the two well known hotels on either side of the parking lot. Over all, we're extremely pleased and will surely come back to Candlewood Suites on our next visit to Alexandria VA.

Room Tip: It's a bit confusing when entering the parking lot. Just go a little slow so you don't end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rusty610,

Thank you for such an amazing and detailed review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer and we look forward to your next visit to the Alexandria area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Great facilities for long term stay. Extremely clean. Staff is courteous, professional and extremely helpful (particularly Marcus B. at the Front Desk and Azucena with Housekeeping). Location is great if visit involves Fort Belvoir.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear John_B51463,

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. Here we try our best to be most accommodating and helpful to all of our guests. We are pleased that we met your expectations. If travel ever brings you back to the Fort Belvoir area, we hope to be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Address: 8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the *All New* Candlewood Suites Alexandria, Virginia - a refreshing choice for short and extended-stay Alexandria, VA hotels near Fort Belvoir and Washington DC. Come experience 100% all-suites comfort and convenience designed for today's busy traveler. Our corporate and military guests enjoy affordable Ft. Belvoir lodging less than a mile from the base. Plus, they can easily visit the Ft. Belvoir Community Hospital, United States Coast Guard-TISCOM and the USO Center. Corporations within a 10-minute drive include BAE Systems, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and Raytheon. Not here on business? Leisure guests and families have the remarkable history of Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC to explore. Other popular attractions near our Alexandria, VA hotel include the Ft. Belvoir Golf Club, National Museum of the Marine Corps and Mount Vernon. Whatever brings you, Candlewood Suites delivers the effortless warmth of home, whether you spend just the night or weeks at a stretch. Our 57 spacious Alexandria, VA suites features a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with refrigerator, stovetop, dishwasher, cookware and more. Get things done in a large, comfy work space with free high-speed Internet access, or relax with a DVD movie from our Lending Library®. At day's end, our signature Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection promises a restful night's sleep. Make the fresh new choice for short and extended-stay hotels in Alexandria, Virginia - Candlewood Suites Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.