We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyle, Marcus B and Fred are awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kyle, Marcus B and Fred are awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just PCS'd to the area and needed a place to call home for a couple of weeks while my house was being prepared for my family. Everyone (for the most part) who works at this hotel is really nice and genuinely care about the folks who stay with them. Kyle has been amazing and really enjoys taking care of the people staying at his hotel. Marcus B has saved my family a couple of times as we lost our door key while carrying kids/bags/groceries and saw the struggle on the security camera. Before I could get to the elevator to get a new key, he was coming out the elevator with a new key (can anyone say superhero?). And Fred is ALWAYS smiling and after a long day at work, its the simple things that count.

Thank you to everyone who has been so kind to me and my family during our stay ( The ladies at the front desk who always give us warm cookies like Rita and Danielle made me a believer.)

Room Tip: Speak with Kyle or Danielle when calling as they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Alauna F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review in regards to your stay at the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We’re glad that we could accommodate you and your family during your move. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will come back to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
7
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was put up at this hotel by my company for an extended stay. My experience here for the 3 months has been wonderful. The hotel is very clean and well managed. The hotel manager Kyle English was exceptionally helpful and accomodating to all my needs, I wish there was a Kyle in every hotel I stay in. The front desk guy Marcus B. was also very helpful and informative. The rooms were very clean and well mantained. I would definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to my family & frineds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Local731,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We are pleased that you had such a great experience while staying with us. We love to make our guest feel at home! We do look forward to accommodating you if travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Kyle at the front desk greeted us upon our arrival. He was very courteous, friendly and professional. The lobby is very well lit and cheerful.
Our room was near perfect. The appointments were smart and well placed. The room has a dishwasher, microwave, smooth top cook top, and a full size refrigerator.
The flat screen TV is the largest I've seen in hotel chains. It looks like maybe 47". The desk area is very well designed with plenty of outlets for your electronics. The bathroom tile is quite pleasing and the Kohler faucet is a dream to operate. I'm a little disappointed with the shower head but not a big deal and I was able to adjust it to a somewhat acceptable spray. The toilet seat is the kind that lowers without banging. (very nice). The entire room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Also, the pillows were nice and soft, the way we like.
Although they don't have a breakfast area, they do have a little "store" with lots of food choices, such as coffee, a variety of oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches, pizza, ice cream, candy, and many assorted snacks. The room rates are very competitive with the two well known hotels on either side of the parking lot. Over all, we're extremely pleased and will surely come back to Candlewood Suites on our next visit to Alexandria VA.

Room Tip: It's a bit confusing when entering the parking lot. Just go a little slow so you don't end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rusty610,

Thank you for such an amazing and detailed review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer and we look forward to your next visit to the Alexandria area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Great facilities for long term stay. Extremely clean. Staff is courteous, professional and extremely helpful (particularly Marcus B. at the Front Desk and Azucena with Housekeeping). Location is great if visit involves Fort Belvoir.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear John_B51463,

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. Here we try our best to be most accommodating and helpful to all of our guests. We are pleased that we met your expectations. If travel ever brings you back to the Fort Belvoir area, we hope to be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Travelling can be a burden in its own right. However, there is nothing better than coming to a hotel with a very welcoming staff that is dedicated to making sure your stay is memorable. I had to good fortune to stay at other Candlewood Suites and many hotels in the past, but this staff and the quality of rooms were second to none. They have spacious rooms, nice size kitchens, and are very accomodating. Simply put: this hotels aims to serve it guests and demonstrates it on a daily basis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear RJB04,

Thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled that we were able to be of great service to you. It means a lot to us that we made your stay memorable. If you are ever in the Alexandria-Fort Belvoir area, we look forward to being at your service once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The place is so nice and clean the front desk Kyle gives good customer service and Freddy is a really good help he waz always there when I needed him and the house keepers are so nice thanks candle wood suites

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Don503,

Thank you for your kind words of the staff here at the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We do strive to please our guests! If you are ever in the area, we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My garbage disposable was messed up and I called Freddy and he came asap had he could and fixed it for us and he has excellent customer service,great personality and respectful. I love the gym it keeps me for and I come here almost everyday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Ahsin24,

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir. We will be sure to praise Freddy for addressing your needs in a timely manner. We are glad you enjoy the gym as well as we enjoy having you here with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again if you return to the Alexandria-Fort Belvoir area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir

Address: 8847 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the *All New* Candlewood Suites Alexandria, Virginia - a refreshing choice for short and extended-stay Alexandria, VA hotels near Fort Belvoir and Washington DC. Come experience 100% all-suites comfort and convenience designed for today's busy traveler. Our corporate and military guests enjoy affordable Ft. Belvoir lodging less than a mile from the base. Plus, they can easily visit the Ft. Belvoir Community Hospital, United States Coast Guard-TISCOM and the USO Center. Corporations within a 10-minute drive include BAE Systems, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and Raytheon. Not here on business? Leisure guests and families have the remarkable history of Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC to explore. Other popular attractions near our Alexandria, VA hotel include the Ft. Belvoir Golf Club, National Museum of the Marine Corps and Mount Vernon. Whatever brings you, Candlewood Suites delivers the effortless warmth of home, whether you spend just the night or weeks at a stretch. Our 57 spacious Alexandria, VA suites features a fully-equipped kitchen, complete with refrigerator, stovetop, dishwasher, cookware and more. Get things done in a large, comfy work space with free high-speed Internet access, or relax with a DVD movie from our Lending Library®. At day's end, our signature Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection promises a restful night's sleep. Make the fresh new choice for short and extended-stay hotels in Alexandria, Virginia - Candlewood Suites Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.