We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good located!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've spent one night and one day in Washington and it's a really good motel. The service was nice and it's very good located. My dad and I have spend the evening doing weird work-outs and enjoying the view on some kind of lake and cars passing by.
Even though there's a road next to the motel, you can barely hear any noises.

The rooms weren't big but clean, nice kingsize beds. I'd definitely come back here!

Room Tip: I'm not sure about the free wifi though, but I guess there was. If you're really in for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We are glad you had a nice time. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
13
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed a three day stay at Budget Host Travelers Motel this summer. Prices were great, room was very clean, and the location was great. Easy access to downtown Alexandria ans Washington D.C. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is an older motel but don't let that fool you. Everything was clean and quiet and the centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Driving the long journey (in a huge U-Haul) from Seattle to Alexandria, Virginia was quite the distance. And after having a terrible stay in Chicago, and a terribly expensive stay at the Old Town Alexandria's Sheraton, Budget Host Travelers Motel was in a sense, a home away from home. A huge room with an updated bathroom, super clean sheets, floors, walls, etc... a cute tiny fridge and a small couch-this studio style hotel room was perfect for our 5 night stay in Alexandria while we were looking for an apartment in DC. The breakfast was some fruit, coffee and some yummy carbs, the hotel is located right off the main drag and was easy to get to. The staff were super attentive and pleasant and had we not found a place we would have had no problem with staying longer. Close to shopping and restaurants (they give you a little restaurant package of coupons and menus when you check-in.

I high suggest staying here.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the street, I suppose if you have trouble walking long distances, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This motel is OLD, But very clean. The desk clerks are wonderful & VERY helpful. We were about 15 Min's from Washington D.C. There were all types of little shops about 5 Min's from this motel If you like to shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very old hotel but has been updated somewhat. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The best part of this motel is it's location and price! It took only about 10 minutes to get into Alexandria, train station to the district is 5 minutes away, a shopping mall conveniently located 3 traffic lights away and the highway is right across the street

Room Tip: Hotel is all on one level; be sure to get a non-smoking room and a room where the door is not so thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad you had a nice visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 2 night. one of the staff wasn't friendly. i asked about public trans. but he said just take a taxi!
he gave me smoking room first. i complaned so he changed to next room.
the floor and the bed sheet were not clean like someone used it. it was difficault to controll the aircon. old door and microwave. nest room was empty it was only lucky.
worst was noise of traffic.
The motel wasn't my type...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Sorry you were unhappy. I can assure that we change our sheets after every guest departs, If a guest stays more then one night we change sheets every other day. Be advised that is myth that Hotels don't chage sheets. For professionals like us, it is 10 times easier for us to make up a bed with clean sheets, then it is for us to "remake" a bed that has been slept in. Remaking a bed is far harder and more work. The reason that we change sheets every other day for guests that continue to stay wih us is to make our property more "Green" and to decrease the environmental impact cause by using water, detergent, electricty. If you had reported a problem with your sheets to us, we would have been more then happy to have changed them again for you,
As far as being recomend to take a Taxi? Although we have lot's of public transportation in D.C. area, public transportation is NOT allways the best choice to accomplish many tasks. In many cases a Taxi is far easyier, and a much more pleasant experience for the guest, hence the reason a cab may have been recomended to you. Again I am sorry you had a bad experience. I hope that someday you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved that the room was so CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. We stayed at Budget Host in Alexandria for a 3 day visit to D.C. with our young children. We were so impressed with this hotel and the unbeatable price! It was pretty easy to take the shuttle to the Metro station, then the bus back and a short walk on our return. Easy! The hotel is a little dated, but that adds to its charm and character. Brought back childhood hotel memories, but it wasn't run-down.

Room Tip: There is road noise, but it was muffled by the white noise of the AC. We all had no problem sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.