We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location and price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed a three day stay at Budget Host Travelers Motel this summer. Prices were great, room was very clean, and the location was great. Easy access to downtown Alexandria ans Washington D.C. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is an older motel but don't let that fool you. Everything was clean and quiet and the centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank movingexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Driving the long journey (in a huge U-Haul) from Seattle to Alexandria, Virginia was quite the distance. And after having a terrible stay in Chicago, and a terribly expensive stay at the Old Town Alexandria's Sheraton, Budget Host Travelers Motel was in a sense, a home away from home. A huge room with an updated bathroom, super clean sheets, floors, walls, etc... a cute tiny fridge and a small couch-this studio style hotel room was perfect for our 5 night stay in Alexandria while we were looking for an apartment in DC. The breakfast was some fruit, coffee and some yummy carbs, the hotel is located right off the main drag and was easy to get to. The staff were super attentive and pleasant and had we not found a place we would have had no problem with staying longer. Close to shopping and restaurants (they give you a little restaurant package of coupons and menus when you check-in.

I high suggest staying here.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the street, I suppose if you have trouble walking long distances, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleAmanda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This motel is OLD, But very clean. The desk clerks are wonderful & VERY helpful. We were about 15 Min's from Washington D.C. There were all types of little shops about 5 Min's from this motel If you like to shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnie572003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very old hotel but has been updated somewhat. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The best part of this motel is it's location and price! It took only about 10 minutes to get into Alexandria, train station to the district is 5 minutes away, a shopping mall conveniently located 3 traffic lights away and the highway is right across the street

Room Tip: Hotel is all on one level; be sure to get a non-smoking room and a room where the door is not so thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad you had a nice visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 2 night. one of the staff wasn't friendly. i asked about public trans. but he said just take a taxi!
he gave me smoking room first. i complaned so he changed to next room.
the floor and the bed sheet were not clean like someone used it. it was difficault to controll the aircon. old door and microwave. nest room was empty it was only lucky.
worst was noise of traffic.
The motel wasn't my type...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guswn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Sorry you were unhappy. I can assure that we change our sheets after every guest departs, If a guest stays more then one night we change sheets every other day. Be advised that is myth that Hotels don't chage sheets. For professionals like us, it is 10 times easier for us to make up a bed with clean sheets, then it is for us to "remake" a bed that has been slept in. Remaking a bed is far harder and more work. The reason that we change sheets every other day for guests that continue to stay wih us is to make our property more "Green" and to decrease the environmental impact cause by using water, detergent, electricty. If you had reported a problem with your sheets to us, we would have been more then happy to have changed them again for you,
As far as being recomend to take a Taxi? Although we have lot's of public transportation in D.C. area, public transportation is NOT allways the best choice to accomplish many tasks. In many cases a Taxi is far easyier, and a much more pleasant experience for the guest, hence the reason a cab may have been recomended to you. Again I am sorry you had a bad experience. I hope that someday you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved that the room was so CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. We stayed at Budget Host in Alexandria for a 3 day visit to D.C. with our young children. We were so impressed with this hotel and the unbeatable price! It was pretty easy to take the shuttle to the Metro station, then the bus back and a short walk on our return. Easy! The hotel is a little dated, but that adds to its charm and character. Brought back childhood hotel memories, but it wasn't run-down.

Room Tip: There is road noise, but it was muffled by the white noise of the AC. We all had no problem sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful motel twice, most recently 6/18 to 6/20/13, now and it is my home away from home. The Budget Host motel rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and honest. I only heard a siren twice, once for an accident, the first time I stayed here, and once to pull someone over for a moving violation, this last time. I will stay here everytime I come to the DC area rather than in some over priced, over rated, fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#10 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Travelers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing