We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Algonac, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Older but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This motel is OLD, But very clean. The desk clerks are wonderful & VERY helpful. We were about 15 Min's from Washington D.C. There were all types of little shops about 5 Min's from this motel If you like to shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
13
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very old hotel but has been updated somewhat. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The best part of this motel is it's location and price! It took only about 10 minutes to get into Alexandria, train station to the district is 5 minutes away, a shopping mall conveniently located 3 traffic lights away and the highway is right across the street

Room Tip: Hotel is all on one level; be sure to get a non-smoking room and a room where the door is not so thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad you had a nice visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 2 night. one of the staff wasn't friendly. i asked about public trans. but he said just take a taxi!
he gave me smoking room first. i complaned so he changed to next room.
the floor and the bed sheet were not clean like someone used it. it was difficault to controll the aircon. old door and microwave. nest room was empty it was only lucky.
worst was noise of traffic.
The motel wasn't my type...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Sorry you were unhappy. I can assure that we change our sheets after every guest departs, If a guest stays more then one night we change sheets every other day. Be advised that is myth that Hotels don't chage sheets. For professionals like us, it is 10 times easier for us to make up a bed with clean sheets, then it is for us to "remake" a bed that has been slept in. Remaking a bed is far harder and more work. The reason that we change sheets every other day for guests that continue to stay wih us is to make our property more "Green" and to decrease the environmental impact cause by using water, detergent, electricty. If you had reported a problem with your sheets to us, we would have been more then happy to have changed them again for you,
As far as being recomend to take a Taxi? Although we have lot's of public transportation in D.C. area, public transportation is NOT allways the best choice to accomplish many tasks. In many cases a Taxi is far easyier, and a much more pleasant experience for the guest, hence the reason a cab may have been recomended to you. Again I am sorry you had a bad experience. I hope that someday you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved that the room was so CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. We stayed at Budget Host in Alexandria for a 3 day visit to D.C. with our young children. We were so impressed with this hotel and the unbeatable price! It was pretty easy to take the shuttle to the Metro station, then the bus back and a short walk on our return. Easy! The hotel is a little dated, but that adds to its charm and character. Brought back childhood hotel memories, but it wasn't run-down.

Room Tip: There is road noise, but it was muffled by the white noise of the AC. We all had no problem sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful motel twice, most recently 6/18 to 6/20/13, now and it is my home away from home. The Budget Host motel rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and honest. I only heard a siren twice, once for an accident, the first time I stayed here, and once to pull someone over for a moving violation, this last time. I will stay here everytime I come to the DC area rather than in some over priced, over rated, fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first time to stay at this place. I was quite satisfied. The staff were all nice and friendly. The room was not updated but was clean. Simple breakfast was provided. It is convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop (Huntington, Yellow Line). It would be better if the price could be a little bit cheaper ; ). Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this motel. Overall, it was OK, quite shabby though. But: although it was quite cool outside, there was no ventilation in the room so it was intolerably warm and we couldn't sleep well, woke up sweating every few hours. Of course, we turned the thermostat to 'cool' but found several hours later that it was cranking out heat! We turned it off but that didn't help much. Next morning I complained to the guy on duty at the desk. He was surly and said we could have opened the door to let the heat out! Sure, at 2am, in a ground floor unit directly next to the parking lot and a major highway - not safe! And why should we have to get up in the middle of the night to do that anyway? So why no air conditioning? The other guy, who was a bit nicer, explained that their system is 'old' and only allows heat or cooling in the entire motel, individual rooms cannot adjust the temperature. We canceled our second night and found a mush nicer place (Days Inn) nearby. We will never return to Budget Host - surly staff and an uncomfortable room.

Room Tip: just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.