We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sorry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed 2 night. one of the staff wasn't friendly. i asked about public trans. but he said just take a taxi!
he gave me smoking room first. i complaned so he changed to next room.
the floor and the bed sheet were not clean like someone used it. it was difficault to controll the aircon. old door and microwave. nest room was empty it was only lucky.
worst was noise of traffic.
The motel wasn't my type...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Sorry you were unhappy. I can assure that we change our sheets after every guest departs, If a guest stays more then one night we change sheets every other day. Be advised that is myth that Hotels don't chage sheets. For professionals like us, it is 10 times easier for us to make up a bed with clean sheets, then it is for us to "remake" a bed that has been slept in. Remaking a bed is far harder and more work. The reason that we change sheets every other day for guests that continue to stay wih us is to make our property more "Green" and to decrease the environmental impact cause by using water, detergent, electricty. If you had reported a problem with your sheets to us, we would have been more then happy to have changed them again for you,
As far as being recomend to take a Taxi? Although we have lot's of public transportation in D.C. area, public transportation is NOT allways the best choice to accomplish many tasks. In many cases a Taxi is far easyier, and a much more pleasant experience for the guest, hence the reason a cab may have been recomended to you. Again I am sorry you had a bad experience. I hope that someday you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
17
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved that the room was so CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. We stayed at Budget Host in Alexandria for a 3 day visit to D.C. with our young children. We were so impressed with this hotel and the unbeatable price! It was pretty easy to take the shuttle to the Metro station, then the bus back and a short walk on our return. Easy! The hotel is a little dated, but that adds to its charm and character. Brought back childhood hotel memories, but it wasn't run-down.

Room Tip: There is road noise, but it was muffled by the white noise of the AC. We all had no problem sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful motel twice, most recently 6/18 to 6/20/13, now and it is my home away from home. The Budget Host motel rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and honest. I only heard a siren twice, once for an accident, the first time I stayed here, and once to pull someone over for a moving violation, this last time. I will stay here everytime I come to the DC area rather than in some over priced, over rated, fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first time to stay at this place. I was quite satisfied. The staff were all nice and friendly. The room was not updated but was clean. Simple breakfast was provided. It is convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop (Huntington, Yellow Line). It would be better if the price could be a little bit cheaper ; ). Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this motel. Overall, it was OK, quite shabby though. But: although it was quite cool outside, there was no ventilation in the room so it was intolerably warm and we couldn't sleep well, woke up sweating every few hours. Of course, we turned the thermostat to 'cool' but found several hours later that it was cranking out heat! We turned it off but that didn't help much. Next morning I complained to the guy on duty at the desk. He was surly and said we could have opened the door to let the heat out! Sure, at 2am, in a ground floor unit directly next to the parking lot and a major highway - not safe! And why should we have to get up in the middle of the night to do that anyway? So why no air conditioning? The other guy, who was a bit nicer, explained that their system is 'old' and only allows heat or cooling in the entire motel, individual rooms cannot adjust the temperature. We canceled our second night and found a mush nicer place (Days Inn) nearby. We will never return to Budget Host - surly staff and an uncomfortable room.

Room Tip: just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very convenient place to stay, close to Huntington station. The motel provides a shuttle bus to the station, return is by local bus, not a problem as full instructions are provided. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While our room appeared to be clean, the staff friendly, and the motel convenient by transit to old town Alexandria and Washington, DC, this motel is old and deteriorated. Our room was small; none of the rooms have a coffee maker; the microwave did not work; the bath room ventilation fan did not operate. The free breakfast consisted only of coffee and rolls; no cereal or fruit, etc..

Room Tip: Go to a different motel - we found the Days Inn at 6100 Richmond Highway very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 50 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Travelers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.