We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CLEAN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved that the room was so CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. We stayed at Budget Host in Alexandria for a 3 day visit to D.C. with our young children. We were so impressed with this hotel and the unbeatable price! It was pretty easy to take the shuttle to the Metro station, then the bus back and a short walk on our return. Easy! The hotel is a little dated, but that adds to its charm and character. Brought back childhood hotel memories, but it wasn't run-down.

Room Tip: There is road noise, but it was muffled by the white noise of the AC. We all had no problem sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
16
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful motel twice, most recently 6/18 to 6/20/13, now and it is my home away from home. The Budget Host motel rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and honest. I only heard a siren twice, once for an accident, the first time I stayed here, and once to pull someone over for a moving violation, this last time. I will stay here everytime I come to the DC area rather than in some over priced, over rated, fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first time to stay at this place. I was quite satisfied. The staff were all nice and friendly. The room was not updated but was clean. Simple breakfast was provided. It is convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop (Huntington, Yellow Line). It would be better if the price could be a little bit cheaper ; ). Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this motel. Overall, it was OK, quite shabby though. But: although it was quite cool outside, there was no ventilation in the room so it was intolerably warm and we couldn't sleep well, woke up sweating every few hours. Of course, we turned the thermostat to 'cool' but found several hours later that it was cranking out heat! We turned it off but that didn't help much. Next morning I complained to the guy on duty at the desk. He was surly and said we could have opened the door to let the heat out! Sure, at 2am, in a ground floor unit directly next to the parking lot and a major highway - not safe! And why should we have to get up in the middle of the night to do that anyway? So why no air conditioning? The other guy, who was a bit nicer, explained that their system is 'old' and only allows heat or cooling in the entire motel, individual rooms cannot adjust the temperature. We canceled our second night and found a mush nicer place (Days Inn) nearby. We will never return to Budget Host - surly staff and an uncomfortable room.

Room Tip: just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very convenient place to stay, close to Huntington station. The motel provides a shuttle bus to the station, return is by local bus, not a problem as full instructions are provided. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While our room appeared to be clean, the staff friendly, and the motel convenient by transit to old town Alexandria and Washington, DC, this motel is old and deteriorated. Our room was small; none of the rooms have a coffee maker; the microwave did not work; the bath room ventilation fan did not operate. The free breakfast consisted only of coffee and rolls; no cereal or fruit, etc..

Room Tip: Go to a different motel - we found the Days Inn at 6100 Richmond Highway very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

When we first arrived at this hotel, I thought we had found one of the area’s best kept secrets:
- Friendly and very helpful staff
- Check in as early as 11:00am
- Clean room
- 15 minute walk to Huntington Metro (or less than a 5 minute drive. The hotel provides a shuttle to the metro but we did not use it).
- Right off the highway
- Close to restaurants, stores etc
- Priced well
- Microwave and fridge in room


However, we will not be staying here again for one reason: the walls are extremely thin. We could hear every time the people in rooms next to us flushed the toilet, washed their hands, took a shower, or blew their nose (true story). Sadly this is a deal breaker for us as it led to a night of being jolted awake every time someone used the water. If the walls were thicker this place would be a 4, if not a 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam;

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We try our best to run a quiet Motel. We have had over 1700+ customers so far this year. This is our first noise complaint. Again I appologise for your discomfort and hope that you will give us another chance some time in the future.

Sincerly
Paul Blunt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Travelers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.