We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first time to stay at this place. I was quite satisfied. The staff were all nice and friendly. The room was not updated but was clean. Simple breakfast was provided. It is convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop (Huntington, Yellow Line). It would be better if the price could be a little bit cheaper ; ). Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
13
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans usa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this motel. Overall, it was OK, quite shabby though. But: although it was quite cool outside, there was no ventilation in the room so it was intolerably warm and we couldn't sleep well, woke up sweating every few hours. Of course, we turned the thermostat to 'cool' but found several hours later that it was cranking out heat! We turned it off but that didn't help much. Next morning I complained to the guy on duty at the desk. He was surly and said we could have opened the door to let the heat out! Sure, at 2am, in a ground floor unit directly next to the parking lot and a major highway - not safe! And why should we have to get up in the middle of the night to do that anyway? So why no air conditioning? The other guy, who was a bit nicer, explained that their system is 'old' and only allows heat or cooling in the entire motel, individual rooms cannot adjust the temperature. We canceled our second night and found a mush nicer place (Days Inn) nearby. We will never return to Budget Host - surly staff and an uncomfortable room.

Room Tip: just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very convenient place to stay, close to Huntington station. The motel provides a shuttle bus to the station, return is by local bus, not a problem as full instructions are provided. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While our room appeared to be clean, the staff friendly, and the motel convenient by transit to old town Alexandria and Washington, DC, this motel is old and deteriorated. Our room was small; none of the rooms have a coffee maker; the microwave did not work; the bath room ventilation fan did not operate. The free breakfast consisted only of coffee and rolls; no cereal or fruit, etc..

Room Tip: Go to a different motel - we found the Days Inn at 6100 Richmond Highway very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

When we first arrived at this hotel, I thought we had found one of the area’s best kept secrets:
- Friendly and very helpful staff
- Check in as early as 11:00am
- Clean room
- 15 minute walk to Huntington Metro (or less than a 5 minute drive. The hotel provides a shuttle to the metro but we did not use it).
- Right off the highway
- Close to restaurants, stores etc
- Priced well
- Microwave and fridge in room


However, we will not be staying here again for one reason: the walls are extremely thin. We could hear every time the people in rooms next to us flushed the toilet, washed their hands, took a shower, or blew their nose (true story). Sadly this is a deal breaker for us as it led to a night of being jolted awake every time someone used the water. If the walls were thicker this place would be a 4, if not a 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam;

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We try our best to run a quiet Motel. We have had over 1700+ customers so far this year. This is our first noise complaint. Again I appologise for your discomfort and hope that you will give us another chance some time in the future.

Sincerly
Paul Blunt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's a little cozy hotel, but the rooms are clean, no bedbugs to report, and the front manager Allen is cordial/adorably enthusiastic. The neighborhood isn't sketchy or ghetto at all (as I hear the area across the river is, Anacostia), and it's literal seconds from the beltway. Two miles from the gorgeous quaint little downtown, everything you could visit is pretty proximal to this great place. At nearly 90 (all included) for a night it's a bit on the sticker-shock side for a camping or hostel traveler but for a family of road warriors (mom, dad, six year old daughter) it's perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels to you and your family.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at Budget Host before and found it to be a great deal. Our recent stay was no exception. In an area where lodging can be through the roof, it is reasonably priced. The staff were all friendly and helpful, & you sometimes see the owner right there on the property. The room was not updated but was clean. We had a fridge and microwave. The shower was great, the bed comfortable. I like being able to park right outside the room. The location is not ideal, but it's convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop. We'll definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in have been similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.