We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay when visiting Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Travelers Motel
5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place to stay when visiting Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very convenient place to stay, close to Huntington station. The motel provides a shuttle bus to the station, return is by local bus, not a problem as full instructions are provided. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
12
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While our room appeared to be clean, the staff friendly, and the motel convenient by transit to old town Alexandria and Washington, DC, this motel is old and deteriorated. Our room was small; none of the rooms have a coffee maker; the microwave did not work; the bath room ventilation fan did not operate. The free breakfast consisted only of coffee and rolls; no cereal or fruit, etc..

Room Tip: Go to a different motel - we found the Days Inn at 6100 Richmond Highway very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

When we first arrived at this hotel, I thought we had found one of the area’s best kept secrets:
- Friendly and very helpful staff
- Check in as early as 11:00am
- Clean room
- 15 minute walk to Huntington Metro (or less than a 5 minute drive. The hotel provides a shuttle to the metro but we did not use it).
- Right off the highway
- Close to restaurants, stores etc
- Priced well
- Microwave and fridge in room


However, we will not be staying here again for one reason: the walls are extremely thin. We could hear every time the people in rooms next to us flushed the toilet, washed their hands, took a shower, or blew their nose (true story). Sadly this is a deal breaker for us as it led to a night of being jolted awake every time someone used the water. If the walls were thicker this place would be a 4, if not a 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam;

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We try our best to run a quiet Motel. We have had over 1700+ customers so far this year. This is our first noise complaint. Again I appologise for your discomfort and hope that you will give us another chance some time in the future.

Sincerly
Paul Blunt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's a little cozy hotel, but the rooms are clean, no bedbugs to report, and the front manager Allen is cordial/adorably enthusiastic. The neighborhood isn't sketchy or ghetto at all (as I hear the area across the river is, Anacostia), and it's literal seconds from the beltway. Two miles from the gorgeous quaint little downtown, everything you could visit is pretty proximal to this great place. At nearly 90 (all included) for a night it's a bit on the sticker-shock side for a camping or hostel traveler but for a family of road warriors (mom, dad, six year old daughter) it's perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad you had a nice time! Safe travels to you and your family.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at Budget Host before and found it to be a great deal. Our recent stay was no exception. In an area where lodging can be through the roof, it is reasonably priced. The staff were all friendly and helpful, & you sometimes see the owner right there on the property. The room was not updated but was clean. We had a fridge and microwave. The shower was great, the bed comfortable. I like being able to park right outside the room. The location is not ideal, but it's convenient to major highways and not too far from a metro stop. We'll definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in have been similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at this hotel, taking a chance that it would be safe and convenient. The price seemed too good to be true. Although the hotel is old and the rooms small, we would definitely stay here again. The negatives are that the bed was just a full size, the bathroom only big enough for one person, the sheets a little scratchy and there is a lot of traffic noise. The positives are that the price is so reasonable, the staff was very friendly, our room included FREE Wifi, microwave and refrigerator and we were able to park just outside of our door for no additional parking fee. The location is very convenient to all DC attractions and the Metro station is only about 1/2 mile away -- with free parking on the weekends there, too. My boyfriend brought along a "white noise" machine and that took care of the traffic sounds. We felt safe and the room was clean and pleasant. If you would rather spend your money on something besides a fancy view and a workout room, try this hotel next time you go to DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your nice review! I have a white noise machine I use at my house to help me sleep, I could not live with out it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you think customer service does not exist you need to stay here. A simple, no frills mom & pops motel that does care about your experience at their motel and you impression of Alexandria! Came at the beginning of the heat wave to the DC area - WOW! Walked to the motel from the Metro - and survived the grueling heat and humidity. The next 2 times we were headed to the Metro they gave us a ride and would not accept a tip. This was a wonderful start to our DC trip - even though we only had one day in Alexandria and just needed a clean place to stay before we moved down the road to Capitol Hill. Thank you Budget Host Travelers - we were hot, but we had a fabulous trip!! Would definitively come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.