We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but needs new mattresses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Travelers Motel

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Travelers Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Travelers Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Travelers Motel
5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice, but needs new mattresses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here while visiting Washington, D.C. While most everything in the reviews about this place was true, it does have room for improvement. Here are those areas:

1. Both mattresses in our room were completely worn out. The one closest to the bathroom sagged horribly in the middle while the one closest to the door angled down to the left (nightstand) side. This lead to everyone in the room getting a poor night's sleep each night.
2. Every time the occupants of the smoking room next door to our non-smoking room lit up a cigarette, we could smell it in our room. It was so strong, it would wake us from a deep sleep.
3. The walls between rooms are quite thin and we could hear the same smoking couple having sex. It wasn't particularly loud sex, just a low, rhythmic grunting. This also woke us from a deep sleep. Luckily, my children thought they were snoring.
4. There's no pen or pad of paper in the room to fill out the feedback card, so I didn't.
5. The feedback card is not postage paid, so I didn't bother to fill it out later and mail it to them once I did find a pen.
6. When told of the room problems, I was told to fill out the above card. I would have thought the desk help could have written down the issues for me instead.
7. The room door could only be completely closed or opened by me, a fully grown man. It required bashing it shut with my hip and yanking it open with both hands and all my weight. This could be a safety issue in a fire. The door or frame need to be planed down to overcome the interference fit between them.
8. The shower curtain had mildew on it on the back, bottom edge against the tub. My children thought it was gross, though it didn't bug me.

On the plus side, because it is so close to the river, this part of the neighborhood isn't scary (no foot traffic, no retail traffic). However, drive just a little ways down US-1 in the direction away from downtown Alexandria to the other nearby hotels and restaurants, and the neighborhood does get a little scary/rundown. Okay in the daytime, but I wouldn't risk it at night.

Overall, it is an affordable place by DC standards to jump off from for trips into DC. It's close to the Huntington Metro stop ( though I'd consider it too far to walk at 0.9 miles by my odometer), US-1, I-495, and I-295. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Ask for any room with the newest mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul5050511, Manager at Budget Host Travelers Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for you comments. We have addressed your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
11
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Clean and convenient to many things. Metro walking distance, staff very nice and helpful. Will stay here when we come to DC again.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wylam, northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My friend and I stayed here last week. IWe were very impressed with the hotel.
The bedroom was spotless, it had a modern new bathroom. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was a bother. In the morning there was a free breakfast coffee, orange juice fruit and bagels. Perfect. The icing on the cake was the cost of the rooms so reasaonable we could not belive it.
An excellent little gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

This motel was a great find for us. We were visiting relatives for a week and needed an affordable place to stay. The first night was rocky, as there was a leak in the room. They immediately moved us to another room, even helped us carry our things. There was a fridge, microwave, and wonderfully comfortable bed & good shower. If you're looking for luxury, it's not for you. If you're looking to stay comfortably without breaking the bank, I would highly recommend it. Right off the beltway, not too far from a metro stop. There is a considerable amount of traffic noise, but it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

It was my first time that I have to stay in this motel and it was my last time. I was forced to spend a night there because of the winter storm.First ,it was too much noise from ouside and at morning cleaning staff was looking through your window.Next,I was charged twice for the same thing.I stayed one night and I left and I was charged twice .When I called to dispute this charge they told me that according to their info I spent two days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This is not the Hilton. It is a 1950s style hotel that is clean,friendly with a daily shuttle to the metro station. It is just off I 395, 10 min from DC in the middle of the $200 a nite hotels. 5 min from historic Alexandria downtown. Rooms are typical small of the era,and no frills, but have been kept up. Clean exterior. The staff is super friendly older Americans. The man that built it in 54 still comes in to check on it daily. Don't expect fancy at all, expect good rates and driving / transport convenience. Plenty of Food nearby, major shopping 10 min down US1 (Target,etc) Great for a budget stay. They still proudly fly the flag here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixonia, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

There were no surprises about my room which was up to date in every sense...new bathrooms from floor to ceiling, refrigerator, microwave, free wi-fi and newspaper, coffee, juice & donut breakfast. The man who built this place in 1954 showed up a couple times; his son is the manager and could be seen picking up litter, hauling loads of laundry. Nice clean landscaping. Convenient location. Good prices for the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Travelers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Travelers Motel

Address: 5916 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Budget Host Travelers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Travelers Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Travelers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.