We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Birchmere

The Birchmere
3701 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22305
1-703-549-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Performances
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction Details
Vienna
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best in Class Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been frequenting the Birchmere for quite a few years, but had not been in the past 9+ months. I was back there this week for a Leo Kottke concert and was greeted with a fantastic facelift inside. The bar and band stand stage are all new, and the seating in the main hall is all new.

I still have a bone to pick on some of the food prices for the quality/price ratio; but overall love the variety of offerings. One unforgivable change is that they no longer put pitchers of water on the tables and force you to buy bottled water at a premium price. BAD BAD BAD.

I recommend going to their website and signing up for their email list to keep aware of upcoming shows. They book all kinds of talent - so there's something for everyone.

PS - they've perfected the first come - first served general admission seating process. Doors to get your "line ticket" open at 5:00 pm. This is the process to give the audience the order that you can go into the theater and get the best available general admission seats. The venue doors open at 6:00 and you have a nice 90 minute time to visit with your friends (or make new ones) and have appetizers, drinks, and dinner before the 7:30 show. Most shows are 90 minutes - so you can be out and on the road by 9:00 or 9:30 and not cut into your beauty sleep on a "work or school night".

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good entertainment in an intimate setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been visiting the Birchmere for years. You sure can't beat the variety of the entertainment. If you are new to the Birchmere scene, you should know that the earlier you arrive (doors open at 5:00) the better chance you will have to score a great table near the stage. When you pick up your tickets, you will receive a number which will determine your place in line to get into the theater (opens at 6:00). As long as one person in your group has a number, the rest, no matter how late they arrive, can follow you in. Since the ordinary food (although the pizza isn't bad) is so overpriced in the theater, I recommend that you order appetizers and drinks at the outer bar while you wait for the theater doors to open. Get there early, however, as the lines at the bar are rediculous. I don't recall this being the norm or perhaps they were short staffed when I visited this past Friday. In this case, there were only two bartenders handling the long lines for drinks. It's not all bad though... in addition to the variety of the talent, the venue itself is intimate due to its size, the Birchmere staff is very friendly and the restrooms are sparkling clean.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ok place to see an act”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I used to really love this place for seeing a good musical act. It was easy to get into and if you got there early enough you could really get a good seat. I felt like my last visit there was not as delighful. The prices had increased considerably since my last visit for good and drinks. You had to stand in line at the bar for a drink . Stand in line at a bar? strange. Also they would NOT give me a glass of water. I had to buy water. What kind of restaurant will NOT give you a glass of water if you ask for it. Shame of you Birchmere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

You MUST see a show at this venue! ANY SHOW!! If you cannot find something you like, give up, go home! I am not being mean. Everyone should be able to find something on the show list to enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great place for a date night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not a bad seat in the house...but you should still arrive early. Menu has been revised and features some really nice dishes. Portions are nice size. Grilled shrimp and Catfish are my favorites. You won't find a better place to hear live music. Great accoustics!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birchmere also viewed

 

Been to The Birchmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birchmere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.