We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Local Live Music Venue in VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Birchmere

The Birchmere
3701 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22305
1-703-549-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Performances
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction Details
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Local Live Music Venue in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Best bookings. Classic artists. Great Stage. Just wish they used the Bandstand more often. The whole dinner-theater arrangement is good for the bottom line, I know, but that doesn't mean I have to like it!!!! Food is standard greasy spoon fare served with good intentions. Heck, at least the service is speedy! Order pitchers of beer (fine selection) see next paragraph:

Here's and insider/local tip. Eat across the street at the Bar at RT's Restaurant. Order the Jack Daniel's shrimp, better yet, order 2 of them. You will thank me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    71
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Good venue for music - food is so-so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We saw The Association at this about 500 seat, dinner theater style venue. Everyone has a good view but it is crowded with seating at tables up to 8. So expect to meet people and interact. Our server was slowwww, Other servers around us had food on the table 10-15 minutes faster. Good selection of entrees. But my crabcake sandwich had frozen cocktail sauce with it rather than tartar sauce and no coleslaw. Our appetizer, an onion "jumble" was tasty but came immediately before the entrees. So we did not get a chance to enjoy them. A tad pricey for the quality and the service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Music Hall in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the best Music Halls in America. Best place to enjoy a meal, a beer and great musical artist. Is like no other place in the DC area for a great night out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Music with Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great venue for enjoying all sorts of music. All seating is at tables, so you have to turn around to see the performers from some of the seats, but this isn't a problem. We saw Tommy Emmanuel; the show was sold out--as are many of the Birchmere's shows. You don't have to eat or drink, but most of the patrons do because most people arrive prior to dinner hour. There is an extensive menu; food is surprisingly good; and the portions are more than ample. The waitstaff knows their stuff. Hints: Get on their mailing list for advance notice of who will be appearing. Reserve (buy your tickets) as early as possible. If you want to sit down front, get there when the doors open because you'll be given a number in order of when you show up; then get in line to get your ticket and find the best seat you can. (You can always leave, wander around, and come back to your seat.) There is plenty of free parking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great music venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been twice to the Birchmere-saw David Sanborn the first time and Tower of Power in October-not a bad seat in the house!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birchmere also viewed

 

Been to The Birchmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birchmere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.