We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wildlife glimpses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntley Meadows Park

Huntley Meadows Park
3701 Lockheed Blvd, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best wildlife glimpses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Come right before dusk, especially in Spring and Summer, and you can see all kinds of creatures - muskrats, beavers, deer, turtles, frogs, water birds and forest birds.
Bring mosquito spray!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice park with walking trails and bird viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Two entrances to the park, and the improved trails don't connect. The parking at Kings Hwy/Telegraph Rd intersection is more limited but I like the trails better. Lots of parking at the "main entrance" off Harrison Lane. Bird viewing best at dawn and dusk and in the fall/winter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of the burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just minutes off of Rte 1, nestled behind apartments and schools, Huntley Meadows Park is a nature-lover's dream. Beautiful woods, an informative staff and great visitor center are all present to enhance the experience. The trails and boardwalk are immaculately maintained, but well-used. The wetlands are amazing and the boardwalk that runs through it puts you right in the middle of an incredible habitat. We got there late in the morning, so the birding was a little soft, but we did manage to see a red shouldered hawk, white egret, numerous common yellowthroats, a marsh wren and heard a pair of pileated woodpeckers. We can't wait to go back this winter for the waterfowl.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stroll the Boardwalk in a Marsh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Huntley Meadows Park combines a woodland and marsh setting right off busy U.S. Route 1 in Alexandria. You can stroll through the woods to reach the boardwalk that leads through the wetlands where beavers still patrol the waters, turtles sun themselves on rocks and exposed logs, and herons and egrets stand perched on their spindly legs ready to dip into the water and pull out a still wriggly fish for lunch or dinner. it's a tranquil oasis with a small but informative park educational center and shop.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Waterfowl Oasis in the Heart of Suburbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Going to Huntley Meadows Park is perfect in all seasons, if you enjoy woodland and wetland walks. I've never been disappointed with a trip t this park - there's always so much to see! With the exception of the well-maintained paths, the park is in its natural state - beautiful! The boardwalk through the wetlands passes through cattails and native grasses, accompanied by sights and sounds of frogs, turtles (LOTS of turtles!), herons and other birds, bright colored tiny lizards, and brilliantly colored dragonflies. In the spring, flowering dogwoods decorate to parking area. Go up the lookoout tower to get a good look at the beaver lodge. At dawn and dusk, you may see beaver out gathering. Dogs and bikes aren't allowed on the boardwalk so the birdlife isn't startled away very often. It's the best viewing of blue and white heron and dragonflies I've ever seen!
The park has a great website that lists events and nature walks for children. Sometimes the have a game day for children, with games like spin the wheel, bean toss and hop scotch that have nature themes. The park office has a lovely, though small if you're used to museum displays, display of the animals inhabiting the park and information about the park. It has restrooms inside (none that i could find outside) that aren't accessible when the office closes, fun items to purchase and bottled water. It also has a drinking fountain. There are usually great (and cheap) used bird books that have been donated to help raise money for the park.
Since I had to pick a month and year for my visit, I did, but actually I visited the park every month I lived there, in every season.
This park is what I miss most about living in Alexandria, VA.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntley Meadows Park also viewed

 

Been to Huntley Meadows Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntley Meadows Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.