We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towne Motel Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Towne Motel Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towne Motel Alexandria
808 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Best Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Upstate New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just got home after spending three nights at the Towne Motel. As many other reviewers have said, it's nothing fancy, but the room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The neighborhood is lovely, and it's about a five-block walk to the Metro station, King Street in Old Town or the park system that runs along the Potomac. For budget travelers, the fridge and microwave are a big plus, especially with two grocery stores (Giant and Trader Joe's) within a couple of blocks. The only drawback is that if you don't want to hang out in your room, there's noplace right at the motel where you can sit outside. (The rooms open onto a balcony, but it's not a pleasant place to hang out. You can walk a couple of blocks to the plaza of the building where Trader Joe's and Starbucks are, or go a little farther to find a bench along the river.) Considering the high price of nearly all accommodations in the D.C. area, though, I'd say this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very simple but very comfortable, clean and quiet room with king size bed, desk and office chair, small kitchen corner with a Keurig coffee machine and very clean bathroom.
A few blocks from downtown Alexandria and its very good restaurants on King street and 10 minutes walk from the Metro to downtown Washington, DC.
Recommended in our favorite travel guide, we were not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I picked this place because it was close to a place that I had to attend for a meeting. The location was not bad close to water and sites and price was great. The rooms are nice and looked renovated but the TV was old and dull picture. I woke of in the AM with bites on my arms and legs and looked like bed bugs got me. So be careful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is an older place, but the management obviously goes to great length to keep it in top shape. My room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The only staff contact I had was with the live-in manager and he was extremely pleasant. The rates are far below the area average, but don't let this be a turn-off. Next time I'm in the DC area, Towne Motel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnait Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three of us stayed there in May 2013. We were looking for a reasonably priced placed to stay in a good location. The location was FANTASTIC!! The other hotels were triple the cost!! So that did play a role in why I picked a motel. The bathrooms were clean!! The bedding left a lot to be desired. If the bedding was newer, it would have looked nicer and it would be a no brainer!! As it was, it was okay! We walked to the subway station, easy walk to King Street, which we loved and easy to get into DC!! I probably would do it again but I might call and asked about the bedding!!! The rooms are small so getting three of us ready some sometimes a challenge but we were never in a hurry so that was okay!! Remember, you get what you pay for!! Take shampoo, conditioner, etc., they do have hair dryers and GREAT Keurig coffee maker!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week as a base to travel into DC. Was only a 10min walk to Metro which suited us. Staff were very friendy and helpful. Rooms were a reasonable size and clean and comfortable. Exactly what we wanted from a hotel room in my proice range.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you. This is a VERY nice motel. Hotel room was spotless and updated. Appeared to be granite shower. Very friendly staff. Quick 10 minute walk to the metro or 10 minute drive into DC. Kid safe area. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towne Motel Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel Alexandria

Address: 808 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towne Motel is centrally located near some of Washington D.C.’s best sites such as The White House, Arlington National Cemetery, The Pentagon, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Convention Center, Georgetown University and Andrews Air Force Base. The Towne Motel offers guests FREE High-speed Wireless Internet access, In-Room Keurig K-Cup Coffee Makers, Refrigerator, Microwave, Hair dryer, Iron & board, Direct TV with Showtime and ESPN packages and Free Parking. All Non-Smoking rooms. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Towne Motel Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towne Motel Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.