We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town Motel, alexandria Virginia....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Towne Motel Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Towne Motel Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towne Motel Alexandria
808 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Best Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Town Motel, alexandria Virginia....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This motel is very modest looking, and could do with some curb appeal sprucing up. However, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The rooms and baths are very clean, and the location is excellent, and the price is right. A nice, cinvenient, and resonable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I rented a room here based on the mostly good TA reviews, location near Old Town Alexandria, and the cheap price. We don't like to spend a lot of money on hotels/motels, we only ask for a clean, reasonably comfortable room in a good location (walking distance to our points of interest). We really liked it. The rooms are basic, but very clean, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The TV and the AC/Fan unit worked well. The sound of the fan drowned out most of the outside noise for us. We were only awakened once by a siren, not much you can do about that. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
We have stayed at the Holiday Inn nearby before, but it is twice the price and farther away from Old Town. My only criticism would be that the room had a bit of a musty odor (as many hotel/motel rooms do), but we turned on the fan and it helped.
For the price, in this location, it is a real find. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this establishment, recently, while visiting family in Alexandria. My wife nearly fainted as we pulled into the parking lot. I believe that her exact words were..."Are you sure this isn't a by-the-hour motel?" At first glance, this motel leaves a lot to be desired, literally. It's a courtyard motel and gives the appearance of being run-down. Check-in was easy and the young man who waited on me was very pleasant. They still have the old-fashioned key on a huge key ring so that added to our trepidation. However, when we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had been renovated, and was very clean and quite nice. It had a Keurig coffee pot in the room, as well as a fridge. Bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The air conditioner worked well; the bed was comfortable and we were pretty satisfied with the digs. Complaints... we had a large TV, though not a flat screen, and it was incredibly difficult to watch because the contrast/color settings were way off. I tried to adjust them with no success. We didn't complain to management, basically because we were in town for a whirlwind visit with family and really only used the room to sack out. The only other issue we had was noise. IT IS NOISY! I guess that I should be more specific. The motel itself wasn't noisy, it was the traffic. The motel is located on Washington Street, one of the main thoroughfares in Alexandria, and it is a busy street. Lots of sirens, lots of pedestrians... busy, busy, busy. We are from a reasonably small town so the presence of so many people, at all hours of the day and night, was uncomfortable, at first, but we quickly realized that this was just normal life in Alexandria. So, in conclusion, the Towne Motel is a cheap, yet pleasant to rest one's head. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to DC and wanted to find a hotel that wouldn't break the bank since we'd basically only be using it to sleep. We looked over the reviews and decided that the Towne Motel was the cheapest with acceptable reviews. We mainly chose it because of its location to the metro, standard refrigerator in the room, reputation of cleanliness, and price. However, we quickly realized that we had made the wrong decision.

The location to the metro was nice. It was only about a 10 minute walk. However, I wouldn't want to walk through that neighborhood by myself at night. Plus, when you've been walking around DC all day, those shuttles from other hotels passing you by look pretty nice.

When we opened the fridge to put in our drinks/snacks, we found that it was barely cooler than the room. My husband had to pull it completely out of the nook and turn the temperature down so that we could even use it.

As for the rooms being newly renovated and clean, yes, you could tell that the inside of the rooms were much nicer than the outside, but they weren't anything special. As for the outside, it's kinda scary--like the perfect location for a horror movie. When we saw a sign that said "no refunds after 10 minutes of checking in," we basically ran to the room to make sure we wanted to stay. No, there wasn't a weird smell when we walked in, but when I pulled the comforter back there was a bug. It was NOT a bedbug, but still, it was a bug. That's not what you want to see. The A/C worked okay and there was nice water pressure in the shower, but there was no shampoo/conditioner, and the towels were the thinnest and roughest I've ever seen. Oh, and the key they give you to the room looks like those gas station bathroom keys with a huge/obnoxious attachment on it.

Also, to comment on the friendliness of the staff that others have mentioned, a young college frat guy checked us in. There was no customer service, and he came off as being very rude--not the helpful personality you expect at any hotel. He told us nothing about the place or area--we had to call back down to the front desk just to get the wifi password. That should have been standard info for people checking in.

Overall, the experience wasn't unbearable. After all, we did stay, but we will not stay here again. While the price was one of the best in the area during our stay, this place is definitely NOT worth $110. Next time, we'll pay the few extra dollars for a hotel in which we feel more safe, comfortable, and welcomed--where we actually feel like we're getting what we pay for.

Room Tip: lots of road noise no matter where your room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a good place to stay, based on what it is, i.e. a 2-story courtyard motel and one of the less expensive places in the Washington area. The room was clean and in good condition; the bathroom seems to have been recently renovated. Don't expect luxury touches that you might find in an expensive hotel. There was no radio in the room, but those aren't usually very good in hotels. However, there was free wifi, also a refrigerator and microwave. It's about a 10-minute walk to King St., where most of the restaurants, etc., in Alexandria are. The Braddock Rd. metro station is a little closer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerd
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is an old (about 1950) motel with no frills, but clean rooms with about the lowest rates you will find in Old Town Alexandria. If you are looking for a convenient location for a good price, this will meet your needs.The do provide wifi and soap, but not much else. We stayed two seperate nights, one upon arriving, and one upon leaving the area. For that purpose it served us well and would stay here again for the same purpose. For longer stays you can drive a little further down US 1 (Richmond Highway) for much nicer accomodations at about the same price. Just be cautious of the heavy traffic getting back to the airport in the morning, which I would not attempt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here for the Cherry Blossom Festival. Booked online and read reviews. Price per night, including tax was $116 which was considerably lower than everything else. They are working on remodeling the rooms. Had a very nice bath/shower combination that you could tell was recently renovated. Room had small fridge, microwave and K-cup coffee maker. Very convenient to Dash bus stops and metro. The first night was very loud with sirens and traffic. The next night we could hear the couple in the room beside us. When doing the remodeling, they definitely need to put up soundproofing. Traffic noise gets louder from 6:00 a.m., on.

For what we paid, it was a god value. If you can ignore the noise or take some kind of sleeping aid at night, it's a good place to stay. Not sure it would be good for families with children. Too many noises to wake them up during the night because you can hear absolutely EVERYTHING.

The staff was very friendly. They let us park our car at the motel before checking in and walk downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Towne Motel Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel Alexandria

Address: 808 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towne Motel is centrally located near some of Washington D.C.’s best sites such as The White House, Arlington National Cemetery, The Pentagon, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Convention Center, Georgetown University and Andrews Air Force Base. The Towne Motel offers guests FREE High-speed Wireless Internet access, In-Room Keurig K-Cup Coffee Makers, Refrigerator, Microwave, Hair dryer, Iron & board, Direct TV with Showtime and ESPN packages and Free Parking. All Non-Smoking rooms. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Towne Motel Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towne Motel Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;