We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Alexandria, VA 22314
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old...
Ranked #2 of 32 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint old seaport section of Alexandria on the National Register of Historic Places.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Historic Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The place is full of excellent restaurants and shops. You can easily walk around and there are parking facilities near the center of town. A free trolley takes you thru King's Street, from Metro Station to Torpedo Factory. I visit it every year and look forward to visit again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    348
    66
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

While visiting a friend, she took me to Old Town for lunch and shopping. There are tons of shops selling clothing, unique kitchen supplies, home décor, etc. Really great experience. I can't wait to go back when it's warmer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“History, food, and shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I hate to shop, but in Old Town I make an exception. Funky little shops in historic buildings. Pubs and fine dining galore. I was surprised this visit that shops don't open till 11:00 a.m. for the most part. Free trolley from King St. Metro to the foot of King Street, but unless the weather is bad, it is a fun walk.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good new year's eve experience in historic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Alexandria is close-by on the Metro blue line King stop. We explored it on 31 December 2013, and it was a great family experience. The trolley bus is free and runs up and down King street from the Metro to the Waterfront every 15 minutes. Lots of shops and historical places to see.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great place to walk and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I always have a good time in Old Town. Used to live in the area and now live 100 miles away....I always look forward to finding a parking place and exploring Old Town

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.