We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Alexandria, VA 22314
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 39 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Quaint old seaport section of Alexandria on the National Register of Historic Places.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Such a quaint area... absolutely loved staying here. Metro is within about a mile walking distance... easy to get around... the old town feeling and sense of Americana is in every nook and cranny of this beautiful city. I would move here in a heartbeat! Also loved that the Mount Vernon bike trail was just a couple blocks away from my hotel. I am a big runner so having that so accessible was perfect.

I can't wait to come back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    328
    64
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This sweet little region is packed with history. It was considered a favourite haunt of George Washington, who visited the Gadsby Tavern frequently, and was a central region between the Union and Confederate forces during the Civil war. There are many old buildings to visit, including the Torpedo museum on the banks of the river, Carlysle House, the apothecary shops, and the stunning George Washington Masonic temple.

Take the free shuttle from the King St Metro, stops along the street, and visit the Visitors Centre for daily tours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old Town Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What can I say. We fell in love with Old Town, Va. It is so full if character and charm. Spent almost every day sampling a different eatery along King Street. Free trolleys up and down are a plus. Make sure to stroll up or down Captain's Row.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NOT dog friendly at all. do not believe the stuff online.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

worst sunday in awhile. keeping a family member's 7 lb dog so wanted brunch at a dog friendly place. based on entirely misleading reviews on this website , we went to chadwicks. big mistake. idiot blonde hostess could not, or didn't want to, figure out a three top and tiny dog on tje very small patio area . we watched tables turn 4 times in an hour and a half and finally left. horrible place. try virture instead. way better service, truly dog friendly and fab food

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurants In Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We walked and walked and walked exploring King Street. There are tons of shops and restaurants to visit. We rode the King Street Trolley one day from the King Street Metro Station. We explored the wharf and listened to street musicians. The buildings/architecture in the area is stunning. Lots of things to do, sights to see, and history to investigate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.