We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Brooklyn, New York, USA
1 review
“Nice but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

A solid hotel--clean, near a Whole Foods, near the Metro. Missing some fancier/nice touches--the hairdryer is old, there is no contacts mirror, the tv is large and new but runs slowly and does not carry AMC (fyi, to those who watch 'Mad Men'!). Staff was very friendly. I stayed at a hotel in Arlington the year before and found that a little more modern and nicer than this one--though this was fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    151
    47
    4
    4
See reviews for
200
101
32
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband I stayed here for the weekend as we did some sightseeing at the Smithsonian and National Zoo. The hotel is convenient to a Whole Foods and there are several other restaurants within walking distance. Also, we walked to the metro station at King Street. The hotel breakfast was good - decent food and a good variety of choices. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Returning to the Old Town area of Alexandria, and this is a great place to stay. The location is great - just a block or two from Metro, a few blocks from anything in old Town.

The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. Our rate was outstanding this trip (AAA), and breakfast was free and a definite upgrade from usual hotel breakfasts. The parking garage was convenient and easy to use (although expect $18/day charge). Free Internet... nice!

We would return here, and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The Hotel was just as good as someone told me it was going to be. I had Room 810 with a corner view top floor and it was great. I was able to see the Washington Monument from my bed. The overall experience was good. The Beds were very comfortable and that was a pleasent surprise. The only things I would change were that the breakfast was not as good as I expected and ended too early. M-F 7am to 9am and Sat and Sun ends 9:30. With kids not getting out early enough to eat was a problem but with a wonderful Whole Foods supermarket just 2 short blocks away it was easy to stock up the fridge with bagles and all sorts of snacks. It is a easy walk to the train and a very safe place to stay. Parking was easy and more reasonable than some other hotels in the area. Free wifi was great and it was quiet. The pool was small but the kids still enjoyed it. Overall it was a nice stay and if I had to do it over I made the right choice. I had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 full baths and a livingroom. Perfect for kids all the room you could need.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I was highly impressed by the service at the Residence Inn (Mariott) in Old Town Alexandria, VA. The food was great and the service was excellent. Very professional and attentive staff.

We arrived at our hotel several hours early, a staff person was able to check us in early. The staff then went a step further by offering my father and I the complimentary breakfast even though we were not due to check in later on that day. They offered advice on the local sites and directions and even sent us a shirt we left in our hotel room upon departure.

I think it is a rarity to find the quality customer service that my father and I encountered at the Residence Inn. That is why I give the staff a 5 out of 5.

Thank you,
Wesley Cormier
Aberdeen, WA 98520

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have been staying at this hotel since the first week of May 2010 and will most likely be here through the end of the year. I've stayed her for extended periods in the past and I would not want to stay anywhere else. The staff is so amazingly accommodating you feel there's almost nothing you can't ask of them.
The rooms are spacious, the location is perfect, the staff is very helpful and respectful, The breakfast buffet should leave no one wanting.
There is a free hotel shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel so if you go out for a walk through old towne and a storm breaks out you can call the hotel and they will come pick you up. Just make sure you take care of the drivers. They've had to come get me a couple of times.
This hotel is very safe and the staff responds immediately to any concerns you bring.
the maintenance staff is equally responsive should you have difficulties w/ the A/C, TV, Wi-Fi, or any of the appliances. They also have grocery shopping services if your schedule does not allow for you to get to the store yourself.
I will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Nice hotel in a very good location. Room was a studio suite--contemporary decor, very clean, nice big flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet. Free dinner Monday-Thursdays, free Washington Post, even on Sunday. Nice pool, long enough to swim short laps, and a lifeguard on duty made sure kids didn't come to the pool without their parents (thanks!). 4 blocks to the metro, 2 blocks to a Whole Foods with great hot and cold food bar carryout, 1 block to a Crate & Barrel outlet store. Quick ride to downtown DC, quick access to the beltway. Staff was friendly and courteous. An excellent home base for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.