We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife & I and 2 kids (aged 7&8) stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend and as the first time we went to DC. Alexandria was exactly what we like, a nice quietish town with a great high street and restaurants to enjoy at night-time after a long day exploring the city. Metro is only 5 mins walk away and is about 7 stops into DC center.
Hotel was nice & comfortable, typical of this brand. Pretty clean, the breakfast buffet was a bit of a battle on one of the mornings, but given the rate you pay incl. breakfast , I wouldn't complain about this too much. There's a small pool which kids enjoyed splashing in after a day's walking in DC.

Staff were very good, always helpful. They have a free shuttle to the top of Old Town, but if you don't mind walking and weather is OK, it's much nicer to stroll down along the main street.
Good, well-priced, clean hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    156
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
103
32
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Stayed at this hotel while sightseeing with relatives. Two blocks away from King St Metro..shuttle available to take you there and other places in Old Town. Helpful front desk personnel gave good directions. Excellent restaurant next door (La Porta) also provides room service. Whole Foods nearby.

Breakfast included with many choices, hot and cold.

Wished there had been a coffee shop in this hotel, but was happy with the room,location, and service. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Best beds ever! After walking all over town it was nice to have such a comfortable bed to relax on. The rooms were spacious too. The staff was very friendly. Nice location also.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We were head to the DC area for 2 nights. We knew we wanted to stay in Alexandria, so I used the TA site to look at hotel options and decided on this Residence Inn. Our 2 and 5 year old kids were going to be with us, so I booked a one BR suite for $110 per night. That seemed like a really good price, especially for the pricey area. When we arrived I realized how good of a price it was. The suite was extra spacious, with a full kitchen, eating area, desk area and sitting area. Separated by a door was the bedroom and bathroom. The setup was absolutely perfect for us and the kids. The kids slept together on the pullout sofa. We were able to put them to bed, close the door, and have our room to ourselves. The rooms were very nicely decorated. The only thing that showed a little age was the bathroom vanity cabinet. The finish had some wear but in comparison to the condition of the entire suite, it was minor. Our floor was quiet, peaceful. Breakfast was full of great choices for everyone. The location of the hotel provided easy access to the freeways but was still in a nice and quiet area of town. I agree with some of the other reviews that charging $15 for self parking in the hotel's garage is a bit ridiculous. Maybe the room rate was so great because they hit you separately for parking. Anyway, parking was readily available although the garage had some tight turns in it. We had minimal contact with the staff but what we did experience was friendly and efficient. All in all, a great stay. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is very clean and has updated furnishings. We arrived at 1am on Friday morning, and I was a little uneasy because they had the doors locked and you had to be buzzed in that late at night. I have to say I never felt affraid to walk around the area, and even asked at the front desk if it was safe to walk around the area. They said "Oh yes." The rapid transit station is only two blocks from the hotel, and it seemed like a safe area. It saves you the hassle of parking, and is convenient. The free breakfast was great, a good variety. My kids liked the free internet access. The only negative thing I could complain about is the $15.00 nightly parking fee. Otherwise it was a great, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

It's tough to find a convenient, good hotel in DC for $230-$250 a night, but the Residence Inn Alexandria may be the best one. It is very difficult to get a reservation here, so as soon as you know that you are going to DC, book this hotel. If you can't get in, keep trying up to the last minute and you may get in. This hotel is very convenient to the Metro (about a 3-4 block walk) and takes about 20 minutes to get into the heart of DC on the train. They run a great shuttle that will take you anywhere within about 3-4 miles. I love going to Trader Joe's to stock up since you have a full fridge at the Residence Inn. Old Town Alexandria is great to walk around and has some wonderful little restaurants, many of which specialize in seafood. Try the Union Street Public House. Also ty having the shuttle drop you off in Old Town, then walk back on King Street and stop in a couple of restaurants for a drink and an appetizer, a great way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We LOVED our stay at the Residence Inn. The parking charge is pretty steep, but we parked across the street and used the 24-hour pass from the Old Town Visitor's Center.

When we got to our room (which we thought was gorgeous), the front desk called to let us know there was a bachelor party next door and we may want to switch rooms. It was so nice of the staff to think about us... someone even came up to help us move. When the front desk person got to our room, she had two Ben & Jerry's and a free movie ticket in hand... and she was doing us a favor by telling us we may want to change rooms. (The Chunky Monkey was delicious!)

My daughter slept on the sofa bed, the baby was in a pack and play (they even included the sheet and blanket) and my husband and I got our own room, which was wonderful. And since my daughter loved talking to the front desk staff, they gave her and her sister a teddy bear.

To top things off, the breakfast was amazing. We loved the make-your-own-waffle with toppings and couldn't believe there were both hot and cold options. We also were amazed that we were so close to Old Town... we took the shuttle and realized it was really just a 5-minute walk! And Whole Foods was a close walk as well.

Between the breakfast, easy access to Old Town and the staff, we never wanted to leave the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.