We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make you feel special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They make you feel special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Many reviews of this hotel mention how great the customer service is. There's a reason for that. We walked in and were greeted warmly by Carly. She was able to get us into a room right away that exceeded our expectations. We were traveling with our 8 year old grand daughter and Carly was so sweet telling her all about all the fun stuff to do.
The location, an easy walk to the Metro and the trolley down King Street.
After a day out sightseeing we returned to "Grill night" we expected some average overcooked brats and potato chips. They were serving the most delicious brat in an incredible deli style bun that held up well to the onions and sauerkraut available to pile on. And the most delicious potato salad!
I had expected maybe a snack and then we'd be out for dinner somewhere. We so enjoyed a full on meal, did I mention the fresh salad? And breakfast in the morning, and a couple complimentary beers or wine with dinner...way above and beyond!

One last thing. I noticed that a gentleman named Jeremy was always present in the lobby greeting and interacting with everybody that came through. He was sincerely cordial. He could also be seen clearing off the tables and tidying things up in the dining room and lobby. Pretty sure he was the manager. Pretty sure that's part of the reason everyone you encounter here is kind, friendly and helpful. Everyone, from the top down!

Room Tip: we were in the rear overlooking historic National cemetery. Very peaceful and pretty view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings FlyinDJRyan,

Thank you for posting your comments about the experience you had at our property. I am so glad you enjoyed the evening RI Mix and particularly the Brats and potato salad. I also appreciate you mentioning your great experience with Carla. She is a tremendous asset to our team and her eyes lit up when I shared your posting with her. it truly made her day and inspired our team. We hope to see you back the next time you are in the Old Town Alexandria area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    184
    57
    7
    5
See reviews for
235
122
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As other reviews have stated, the hotel is a little dated and could use a refurbishment. The air conditioning is very loud in the rooms as well. However, it is extremely clean, the staff is amazing and the location is great - walkable distance to the restaurants on King Street and the Metro is around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings MSaks2015,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience at our hotel. I am glad to read you felt it was accessible to various locations and we hope to see you back the next time you are in the Old Town Alexandria area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, breakfast was OK and included in rate. Decent option for this area within walking distance to Metro and restaurants and shopping. Staff was excellent. If you needed anything or had a question, they would help you immediately.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings VCS29,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you back again the next time you are in the Old Town Alexandria area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortuantely, though I should have known better, the website pictures make the hotel rooms look much nicer than they actually are. It's disappointing to travel a great distance and end up staying somewhere on vacation that is less clean and comfortable than your own home. I don't expect things to be brand new, and I am well aware that this is a high-traffic destination, but our room I would consider to be neglected. The furniture is extremely worn and stained and the cushion on the couch is completely flattened. The panels on the cabinet doors in the kitchen are worn to the point of the stain/varnish actually coming off. The door handle on the bathroom door IS coming off (actually hanging) and the carpet could really use a cleaning. Now nevermind if the room actually IS clean. It FEELS dirty. It is not a relaxing feeling to wear your shoes around because you don't want your feet on the floor, or to hope your sheets are cleaner than the rest of the furnishings. Or to tell your kids to play on the bed because anywhere else seems gross. It wouldn't take much to make this room a little more pleasant. Instead of ignoring the obvious need to fix and replace some of these items, just do it. Until then, I'll stay somewhere that does.

On the up side, very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings Emily Kokotovic,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. It is very insightful and helpful as we begin to prepare for a renovation later this year. I apologize that the conditional items you found did not meet your standards or ours. I welcome an opportunity to discuss your concerns further and can be reached at Jeremy.McCluskey@marriott.com.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel on and off for 3 weeks. The most notable staff member was the evening shuttle driver,named Mekonnen. He was so courteous, so helpful, so lovely that I think Marriott would benefit by letting him train others! He certainly is an example for all staff members. I rode with him numerous times and every time he went out of his way to see that I was comfortable, needed anything including,including providing cold water AND A NAPKIN for me while he drove me to different locations! He also took the time to share local history as we passed landmarks making what would have been a normal shuttle ride, feel like an elegant tour. He praised the management of the hotel and he was always was positive and delightful!

Another plus is that this hotel is very close, walking distance to a Whole Foods market.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings 832Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about Mekonnen. We are very fortunate to have him on our team. He takes a genuine interest in ensuring our guests have a great experience while staying with us and I am so glad that you experienced the same. We will be sure to share your comments with him and our entire team so that he receives the appropriate recognition. We hope to see host you again the next time you are in the Old Town Alexandria area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here for an extended period. Pet friendly and the front desk staff is great! Pool area is indoors and clean. Pool is open in the afternoon and evenings during the week and all day on the weekends. Whole Foods is next door which helps. Love the Mix In from Monday-Wed. Close to the King Street Metro and they have a shuttle to the waterfront.

Room Tip: Take the local shuttle from 6am-2:30am. The afternoon/evening driver can be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings travelerD9935RR,

Thank you so much for the kind words about your experience at our hotel. Based on your response it appears that you were able to get to know the hotel and the local area quite well. We hope you will keep us in mind for your next visit to the Old Town Alexandria area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location. Walk to King street and the water front. The work out room was well equipped with working machines. I stayed here for one month this past July. None of the other guests would wiped down the work out equipment after they were done. Just a pet peeve of mine. The room decor is worn and dated. The rooms do not have an oven, and the stove did not work very well. The first two weeks of my stay the rooms were nit cleaned well. I found a food wrapper on the dinette chair when I first opened the room. Another time they left a dirty wash cloth on the vanity. Looks like they used the wash cloth to wipe down the sink but just left it behind. The furniture is well worn. That carpet is matted down. The front desk staff is very friendly and pleasant. They were the highlight of the hotel. They always ask how my day was.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello GeoMike,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appeciate you giving us an oppotunity to host you on your extended stay. Your insights will be very helpful as we look toward renovating our hotel later this year. If you would like to provide any additional input I welcome your feedback and can be reached at Jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.