We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had to attend a class in Alexandria for a month and stayed at this hotel. I joined him for 11 days. We lucked out and got room 802 which was a corner room so it had extra windows. It was on the top floor overlooking Duke st. Great view! The room was a good sized suite with a full kitchen.
This hotel was really convenient. It is just a few blocks from Old Town and King st where all the shops and restaurants are located. It is also only a couple blocks from the metro station. You can take the metro to the airport and all over the DC area. There are plenty of historical sites in Alexandria to visit. I loved walking down Prince st and looking at all the renovated old homes.
All of the hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. (Even when I had to find a plunger at 12:30 am) They have a breakfast buffet every morning that has the same general food, but was hot and plenty filling. They also have a happy hour Mon to Wed evenings with some free food (burgers, tacos, etc) and free beer and wine.
There is a small indoor pool and exercise room but I didn't use these.
I was sad when I had to say goodbye to the staff and return home. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Request top floor. We loved room 802.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Nosnogirl,

I really enjoyed reading your posting. I am impressed with how much you experienced in old town in the 11 days you were here. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    158
    50
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
105
32
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Convenient location close to the airport and walking distance from a metro. They had a decent selection of foods at breakfast with many tables and seating spots. There was a strong internet connection that was easy to connect to and even a desk in the room to work on. Although the furniture in our room had seen better days, I liked having the sink outside of the shower to be able to get ready while someone was showering.
Note: You do have to pay for parking which is $22/night so can add up but there is not easy free parking anywhere in the area so if you can metro it and not take a car I'd recommend doing that instead.
Overall good experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Bizmarit,

Thank you for your posting. It was great to read that you found our property to be very accessible to the Alexandria and greater DC area. I was also pleased to read that the internet connection was strong as we have been working on upgrades to provide a better overall experience in that area. We hope you will keep us in mind should your plans bring you back to this area in the future.

PS - The cherry blossom photo from your profile is a great shot.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our daughter recently moved to Old Town, Alexandria and as Marriott Rewards members we decided to stay in a one bedroom suite at the Duke Street Residence Inn when visiting her in late July, 2014. The property, however, was somewhat worn down, especially our room. There was no hassock in the living area as there normally is and the furniture was threadbare. Our tub would not drain when taking a shower. Even though we reported this on Sunday to the front desk, it was not fixed either that day or Monday. At checkout Tuesday morning I again reported the tub draining problem to the front desk, pointing out that I had reported the problem on Sunday. The response was "I'll let them know" - no apology. We visited our daughter again this past weekend and opted to stay at the Sheraton Suites which turned out to be a much better choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello NDFAN03,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent visit to our hotel. I was disappointed to read the comments as I am confident that our team can provide a much better experience for you and your family. I welcome an opportunity to speak with you further about your stay and can be reached at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com or 703.310.3040.

Sincerely,

Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week in July for business. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet had the normal choices, seemed to have enough food for everyone. The rooms were nice, kitchen had what you needed and the bed was a normal comfy Marriott bed. The location was very convenient in Old Town, a few blocks from the Metro and King Street. This is nice family friendly hotel in the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello fedtraveler66,

Thank you for staying with us in July of this year. You picked a great summer from a weather perspective. It has been beautiful and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Alexandria Old Town area in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very happy with the service and accommodations. The check-in process was very smooth and the front desk personnel on all the shifts were very courteous and knowledgeable about the area.

Our one-bedroom suite was very clean and very nicely appointed. The only thing I didn't like was the sink / vanity in the bedroom instead of the bathroom.

Like so many other reviewers we made the five-minute walk to the King Street Metro Station, where we were able to take the train into DC for an afternoon. Since we had a car we also drove over to National Harbor, which was literally only 10 minutes away!

I thought the hotel parking was a little expensive at $22 per day but not enough to keep me from returning.

There is also a very nice jazz bar right next door to the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello CT Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the property and all of the great options and access that Old Town Alexandria has to offer. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights during a visit to the D.C. area. The room was very comfortable, although we really did not use the kitchen. There are too many good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. The location is close to the King Street Metro, so it is easy to get into Washington D.C. Our room was quiet. The breakfast was the typical Mariott breakfast. The breakfast room was rather crowded, so it was easier to take everything up to the room. We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Wilwoodatheart,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. The accessibility that the property offers to Old Town Alexandria and DC is also one of my favorite features. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance with a future stay. We hope to see you again.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Residence Inn while taking two grandchildren on a tour of Washington DC. Great location, convenient to Metro, walking distance to old Town Alexandria, comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. They have a free shuttle that will take you wherever within a certain radius. We asked to be taken to the Torpedo Factory - a little outside our walking radius after a full day - and on the way the helpful driver detoured - unasked - to take us by the recreation of the townhouse used by George Washington when he couldn't get out to Mt Vernon. A delightful and unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tommy G,

We hope your travels back to Florida went well and appreciate you allowing us an opportunity to host you and your grandchildren for what sounds like a memorable experience in our nation's capital. Thank you also for sharing the kind words and story about our shuttle driver. We will be recognizing him with the entire team to ensure everyone is aware of his extra touch that he provided you and your family. We hope to see you again in the future should be plan a return visit to the Washington DC area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.