We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation with Grandkids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
“Vacation with Grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn while taking two grandchildren on a tour of Washington DC. Great location, convenient to Metro, walking distance to old Town Alexandria, comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. They have a free shuttle that will take you wherever within a certain radius. We asked to be taken to the Torpedo Factory - a little outside our walking radius after a full day - and on the way the helpful driver detoured - unasked - to take us by the recreation of the townhouse used by George Washington when he couldn't get out to Mt Vernon. A delightful and unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Tommy G,

We hope your travels back to Florida went well and appreciate you allowing us an opportunity to host you and your grandchildren for what sounds like a memorable experience in our nation's capital. Thank you also for sharing the kind words and story about our shuttle driver. We will be recognizing him with the entire team to ensure everyone is aware of his extra touch that he provided you and your family. We hope to see you again in the future should be plan a return visit to the Washington DC area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    163
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
210
107
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town on June 24. On check-in, I found the front staff to be very friendly, and helpful when I asked for directions to a specific street address.

The room seemed just about new, and the full kitchen had plenty of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, and silverware. The kitchen table was comfortable, and had plenty of room for working an reading.

The wi-fi was snappy. The room was quiet.

The location was great for access to the highway, and to the main thoroughfare in Old Town, which is King Street.

There is a parking garage on-site, which costs $22. The garage has a level that has direct access to the hotel.

My only complaint was that the couch in the living room was uncomfortable. The cushions caved in and deflated as soon as I sat on them. That was a bit disappointing and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear RogerNyack,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your experience and found our hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and that you had great access to King Street/Old Town. If I can ever be of assistance with a future stay please do not hesitate to contact me.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Took our grandson to see DC
We were welcomed back by the Hotel Front Desk staff; Tenitia & Nadjet are
so gracious & professional. They took special effort to greet our grandson
and we appreciated that. Our visit was great - the hotel remains our very
favorite. It is not only clean and comfortable but once again it is the
hotel staff that make it so appealing. Everyone is just so nice and helpful
Mekonen , our van driver, is always so personable and does a great job
of helping us get around town. The food service staff do a wonderful job
& we always look forward to seeing Netle each time we return. She is great
Proximity of the Metro station is real plus. King Street is so close and the
Waterfront offers the option of reaching DC by water taxi which takes us to Georgetown -
from there, the heart of DC is a simple $1.00 Circulator Bus fee.
We go over to DC by the Metro train and come back on the water taxi - a most
enjoyable cruise on a summer evening.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a terrific view. From high front rooms you can see the Washington Monument. Hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello rmcPhiladelphiaPA,

Thank you so much for the kind words about our team. I am looking forward to sharing this with them all during our daily team meeting (Huddle as we call it). We appreciate you allowing us to have an opportunity to be a part of your special experience with your grandson. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future and we hope to see you again when your plans bring you back to the DC area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel needs a refurbishment as it doesn't look as though it has been updated and decorated for a while. However, we still enjoyed our stay. The room was huge, with a lounge area and kitchenette.

Location is good. Five mins walk to King Street Metro to go into DC (doesn't take too long). Alexandria itself is lovely. Found some great restaurants and shops on and around King Street. Free trolley bus is good too, an easy way to get down to the busier parts of the town.

Breakfast was nothing special, but was included, which was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Elliequie,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our hotel. We are glad that you found the suites to be spacious and appreciate the feedback concering the decor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying the staff here is great, but as a marketing professional I want to send a loud message to Marriott that this property needs room refurbishing. The chair I am sitting in has scarred arms that have been covered up with ill-fitting fake leather covers. The couch sags and feels dirty. Honestly, feels like I am in a trailer. The location is excellent which is why we booked and we are top level in the Elite program, so we usually get great rooms. The room layout is fine but the cheap and dirty furniture is terrible! I know Marriott is working to refresh their overall brand image .....start here and fast. BTW the new Hyatt Place facilities are amazing - I will not be booking with Marriott for this hotel concept (residences) until I am sure they are improved.

Again, super location and terrific staff. I am sure the staff would like to see a facelift here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Gail G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent visit to our hotel. I was happy to hear that you found our staff and location to be great assets. We also appreciate your input concerning conditions of the hotel and we will certainly take this into consideration for future property improvements. If I may be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We are frequent Marriott users and had a single night here recently due to a mess up on a house rental in DC. We decided to stay in Alexandria for the night to see the Old Town (which is touristy but cute) and then we'd head into DC for the "magical history tour" with our kids. This large Residence Inn is quite tired. The fold out couch for our 12 year old was lumpy when it was folded and really bad opened. Sheets were too small to tuck in, towels were very tired, carpets needed deep cleaning and the facility was generally average at best. Service on the other hand was great. We wouldn't pick this place again unless they refurb'ed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Martin D,

We hope that your vacation and magical history tour of DC with your family was one you all enjoyed and will remember for years to come. Thank you for allowing us to have an opportunity to be a part of it. I was glad to hear that the service you experienced was great. We also appreciate the feedback you provided about the property as we are consistently looking for opportunities to improve and your comments are very helpful as approach future plans for the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was a little disappointed. In a one bedroom suite, the couch was broken so lounging was out. The easy chair was missing the foot stool kept under the table. In all I sat on the bed to watch TV between meetings.

Breakfast was fine but not up to the normal par for any Marriott or even this venue, which I have stayed at several times.

I'll continue using this hotel and look forward to its former high quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you coming back based on your comment that you had stayed previously. Being new to the hotel myself I welcome any feedback you may have in addition to your comments already shared. I can be reached at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com. Please let me know if I may ever be of assistance to you with a future stay as well.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.