We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head down the street to Residence Inn Carlyle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Head down the street to Residence Inn Carlyle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ended up staying here last minute when the Residence Inn Old Town Carlyle was fully booked. It was a less-than thrilling stay. We requested a baby bed for my daughter, and it took over an hour to get one (even with a few calls to the front desk). One of the main guys at the front desk seemed to be having a bad week and was always frowning. When we went to go into the parking garage (which is a hefty fee of $22 a night), our cards were not set up and we had to drive around the block to have the front desk fix it.

The rooms were adequate, but not great. The bathroom door was really tight and you basically had to kick it open; it also made a really loud noise each time I did this, so I woke my daughter up a few times, even though she was in the other room with the door closed.

The breakfast was just the typical continental breakfast that you would find at a lot of middle of the road hotels. Not a whole lot of fresh stuff or variety, and the food is mostly either under or overcooked.

Overall assessment: not miserable, but definitely not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello HaveBabyWillTravel,

We appreciate you staying at our hotel and sharing your comments about your experience. We will take your insights into account as we look to continuously improve our operation. I hope we may have an opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you with the great experience you expect from a Residence Inn by Marriott. Please feel free to contact me directly at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    184
    57
    7
    5
See reviews for
235
122
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I had to stay here for graduation. The first night we had bloody sheets on my little girl bed as I was getting it ready for her. They did change it. Our TV went out no one fixed it. My husband had to fix it. They only have 2 channels for kids and I will not come back here again. Please stay somewhere else if you're coming here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Mrsjamescass,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was disappointed to read some of the issues you had and welcome an opportunity to speak with you further about them. I can be reached via e-mail at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my family. Great service, friendly staff, very attentive. Shuttle runs 1 mile around hotel, near Whole foods, 2 blocks, and 3 blocks from Metro. Not alot of restaurants nearby, but again, use shuttle or trolley on King Street, Hotel is somewhat dated, typical late 80's residence inn, but very clean and we were very pleased. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Andy H,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overall everything was great, the accommodations, location, housekeeping and the two ladies at the front desk. The man working at the front desk on July 7, 2014 at 4am, however, was extremely rude and obnoxious.

The day before, Tanitia order a cab for us for July 7th at 4am. We received a call at 4:02am that the cab was there, fine. I was feeling ill, unfortunately. My daughter got down to the front desk at 4:07am. The man at the front desk said that the cab was waiting for 10 mins. After my daughter checked out, she looked at the elevator to see if I was coming, to which the front desk asked her with an attitude if she needed something else. Then he told her to go talk to the cab driver. I came down at 4:08am (I looked at the time after the front desk told me how the cab was waiting 10 mins already - rudely). My luggage was there and my daughter had been trying to get back into the hotel, but it was locked because of the time. The front desk wouldn't let her back in!!!! Instead he just kept telling me how the cab was waiting 10 mins!!

This is uncalled for!! I understand and was very grateful to the cab driver for waiting and compensated him well for it.

Things happen. I was not feeling well and we weren't even 10 mins late, as the front desk kept saying.

I ask management to please retrain this individual, as he is in the hospitality industry but yet was far from hospitable.

Otherwise I would give this 5 stars and ask that the washing machines be replaced.

Room Tip: Corner suites are usually bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello SusanLerner,

I was glad to hear that you had a great experience, but disappointed to read that one individual created a negative situation as you were departing the hotel. We value your input and appreciate your insight about the situation. We will certainly be reviewing this with the appropriate individual and conduct the necessary training to avoid situations of this type occurring again in the future. If I may be of any additional assistance please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our second family trip to Washington D.C. and we wanted to be just outside of D.C. but close to a Metro stop. This hotel is perfect for this! The property is in good condition and in a nice neighborhood. The Metro stop is about 5 minutes away. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, which gave us a very good amount of space. The staff was friendly. On the down side, some of the furniture and bath fixtures were a bit worn, which kept the room from being perfect. The kitchen does not include an oven, so all cooking is stove top or microwave. The other thing you should know is that the hotel says it has a shuttle, but once there I learned that it only goes within 1 mile of the hotel. They don't pick you up from the airport. Still, Ronald Reagan airport is only 2 stops away on the Metro. The hotel room was very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The pool is quite small, but we didn't come to the D.C. area to swim in a pool. Our 2 bedroom suite also had 2 bathrooms which is a huge benefit with a family.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be quieter, and you can ask for a room that faces away from the street to be even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello ColeQ,

I am glad to hear that you found our Two bedroom suites to be spacious and our accessibility to the metro was beneficial to your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to our final driving destination. It was fine for a family of five (3 teen boys 14,16,18). The place is really in need of renovation. The chairs in the living area had "pleather" arms that were cracked all over. The mattress sunk a bit (not the usual firm bed from Marriott). Signs if wear and tear were throughout.

That being said, it had all we needed for a quick one night stay. We walked around the corner to a Whole Foods and bought everything we needed for dinner. Breakfast was included and was your typical hotel breakfast (eggs, sausage, toasts, muffins, fruits, cereal, etc).

On the way home, we will possibly try the Spring Hill suites in Alexandria. If we do, I'll review that one also.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Emzaro,

We appreciate you input and feedback concerning your recent stay. We hope to see you again at some point in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Residence Inn on Duke Street near the Alexandria King Street Metro station over 75 times in the past 7-8 years. The hotel is 3 blocks from the metro station. It is also one block from Whole Foods, which has an excellent selection of ready-to-eat meals. I have used this store to purchase dinner many times.
The hotel has some of the friendliest and most capable staff in the DC area (including Najet, Tanitia, Elizabeth, Esmirelda, and others). As of June 2014, the hotel has new management. I certainly hope they retain all the great staff!
The best and quietest rooms are on the high floors in the back overlooking the National Cemetery.
I have stayed in over a dozen other hotels in the DC area for 20 years. I always consider this hotel to be HOME.

Room Tip: High floors on the back side overlooking the national cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Ed C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. With the exception of myself and two other managers we intend to keep the same great staff that you have grown accustomed to at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street. If I may ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I hope we have an opportunity to meet in the near future.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.