We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for DC area vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great choice for DC area vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Based upon the other tripadvisor reviews, we booked the Residence Inn Old Town for a weekend getaway from August 21-24. As always, the other reviews were helpful.

First, a warning, the mapquest and yahoo travel directions are a bit misleading if you are coming from south of DC. The directions tell you to get on I-495 but, instead, you should just remain on I-95. Not a big deal, though, as we easily found the hotel anyway.

The hotel is almost finished with an interior renovation so the lobby, breakfast area, etc. had a few issues (paint/wallpaper off the walls, construction noise, etc.). According to information located within the elevators, they still need to finish the lobby and floors 2 and 3 including the exercise room. But, this was just a minor inconvenience.

The check-in process was a breeze and the desk staff was always helpful with directions and suggestions. Our first night, there were power outages on the block (unrelated to the hotel renovation) and the staff did a good job of notifying the guests. On-site parking was in a garage behind the hotel that seemed to have a limited number of spaces (partly due to spaces being taken by construction materials) and many of the spaces were quite tight. The garage was gated with access by key card only so you felt secure in leaving some items in your car. I question the need for the $15 per night fee but it was much more reasonable than the $40 per night parking fee (with valet, though) I paid at a Marriott property in Philadelphia.

Our room was on the 8th floor (top floor) and was beautifully decorated with a modern feel. There were granite (likely faux but still nice) countertops in the kitchen, a leather chaise which pulled out to an extra bed, a sitting chair, small coffee table, small leather ottoman, breakfast table for 2 (where we ate our snacks and lunches), and a queen bed. Given all of the renovations, I was a bit surprised that a console TV had not been replaced with either a plasma or LCD. The bedding was comfortable and we slept well each night. Our room faced a parking lot and a few shops though we also had a view of the Masonic Temple. I’m a neat freak and thought the room and entire hotel were clean.

Included in the cost of the hotel is a breakfast buffet. The buffet included cereals, bagels, toast, make-you-own waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausage (one day only), yogurt, and fruit. It was not great but it was better than just an ordinary continental breakfast. More breakfast meats would be appreciated.

As others noted, the hotel was only a 2 block walk to the Metro station for easy travel into downtown DC without having to worry about parking or traffic. Further, Old Town was only 4 blocks away with loads of restaurants, historic sites, bars, and nightlife. Mt. Vernon was also an easy 15 minute drive from the hotel.

We will be staying at this hotel on future jaunts to the DC area.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, comfort
  • Disliked — Pool, parking cost
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    160
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
208
107
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

As always, the Marriott provided excellent service. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is located near the Metro and is in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. It was like a home away from home. Pets are allowed here and there is a washer/dryer on site.

  • Liked — Washer and dryer on site; pets allowed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Everything about this hotel was EXCELLENT! They just remodeled the rooms and they are so cool. This hotel makes you fell like you are at home. My family and I didn't want to leave!
The rooms were very cozy. I loved them. Everything is very modern. I loved it!
It was very easy to check-in. All of the employees' were very, very caring and they gave you every bit of information that you need to know. They treated you like you were at home.
Like I said before, my family and I didn't want to leave. I wanted to cry! Everyone and everything was very nice. I would definatlly recommend this to everyone that is going to visit Alexandria, VA!

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no restaurants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little rock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Stayed from June 28 to July 5. Second stay for my wife and I. Another outstanding experience Metro close by, Whole foods next door. No need for car. Great staff. We love the place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Allows dogs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our family of four recently stayed at this hotel (June 29th to July 3rd) and thought it was wonderful. The proximity to both the metro station at King Street and the Whole Foods market was great (even the market was impressive!). We had a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite which was very roomy and provided 3 TVs for us to use after spending 3 exhausting days in Washington DC. The breakfasts offered a lot of variety for the kids. The staff was friendly - the first day we arrived, our room wasn't ready so they offered us a shuttle ride down to the waterfront. You don't need a car if you are touring DC and Alexandria. The free trolley bus runs frequently up King Street and allows you to jump on and off whenever you want. We didn't utilize the indoor pool (rather small) but we did use the laundry facilities to prepare for the continuation of our trip. Having a kitchen in the room is nice as an option to eating out or keeping snacks around. Overall, this hotel was clean and well maintained. It works well if you don't mind not having quick access to DC spots in the evenings.

  • Liked — Proximity to Metro and downtown Alexandria
  • Disliked — Internet access in room didn't work
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to Reagan airport and the Metro station. What a great choice! The hotel and grounds were spotless and they have recently renovated, so the rooms were freshly carpeted and bathrooms immaculate! It is right on a busy road, but the road noise was almost non existent. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were bountiful. Different hot selections each day as well as the standard bagels, fruit, oatmeal, etc. The Metro is a very short two blocks away and was very easy to travel to get all over DC. No car was needed. The Metro was also clean and safe. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

My son was participating in a leadership conference during Spring Break at a different hotel in Bethesda. Therefore, we needed a hotel that wasn't too far from him but that was also in a safe and unique area for our two younger children to enjoy. We read the mostly favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and picked this hotel. Not only were the rates reasonable for Washignton D.C.($135 most of the nights--two nights at 250) but the service was excellent. The complimentary shuttle service took us anywhere we needed to go in Alexandria which was convenient since we had a baby in tow and we didn't want to spend time searching for our destinations. The rooms were fairly clean, a little small but provided a refrigerator, microwave and stove(please note they don't have ovens). The staff was super helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners(M-F) were good and a great place to socialize. Lots of families who were relocating to the Washington D.C. area were staying there so we really felt comfortable with our children.

Old Town is beautiful and the hotel is so close to King Street and the Metro Train Station. It felt very safe and there is so much to see on King Street.

Overall, it isn't a fancy hotel by any means and needs a little updating but we would definitely stay there again.

Note: The pool wasn't so bad. We had a great time swimming. But then we knew that "swimming" wasn't going to be our main activity. There is a fee for parking(can't remember what it is) and it does get a little crowded making it difficult to find a parking spot although we always found one.

  • Liked — Safe , Family Friendly, Great Locaiton
  • Disliked — Still had to pay a lot of money for a hotel(although less than other hotels in Washington DC)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.