We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and Staff, wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Chesapeake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel and Staff, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed just two days and loved it. Free shuttle into Old Town Alexandria, young front desk clerk was wonderful, so helpful. Every time we returned if she was at the front desk, she smiled and greeted us as though she knew us. The hotel (included) breakfast was much better than most, nice variety, quality items. Marriott never fails. You always know what your going to get and it always exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Good Day thesailorbob. Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback from your recent stay at our Hotel. It is always such a pleasure to hear that a guest had such a memorable experience during their time with us here and it sounds as though you most certainly did. Your positive comments regarding our shuttle service, breakfast ammenity, and especially the kindness of our Front Desk team will be passed along during our next team meeting.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope you will join us again soon during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    158
    50
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
105
32
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is our third time visiting this hotel, for its location, near DC and the Metro station. Also will be the last time staying at this hotel.
Beautiful area, near Old Town Alexandria and nice facilities in the hotel
Breakfast is included, with a nice selection of hot and cold items.
Due to us been most of the time out of the hotel the few staff we encounter were friendly and helpful.
Our main problem was how TERRIBLY UNCONFORTABLE the bed was.
We asked the front desk if we could change rooms after the first horrible night of sleep.
They told us all the beds are the same and there is nothing they can do about it.
My partner and I are both over 6 feet tall, we need a firm bed.
Because our stay of 4 nights, we were not going to ruin our sleep; we pull the bed apart and put the cheep flimsy mattress on the floor.
At home it takes the 2 of us to move the mattress since its so heavy, the one in this hotel took no effort to pick up, obvious that quality was not there.
Folks if you want to have a good night sleep, DO NOT stay at this hotel you will pay for it with a soar back and no sleep it the next day.
Sadly since everything else the hotel has to offer it of high quality

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel if you want a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Good Day Guillermo L. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay with us over the Holidays. I want to apologize for the discomfort you found regarding the bedding in our Hotel and the response that our team here had in regards to addressing it. As a Marriott Hotel our goal is to always work in addressing and finding solutions to any issues brought to our attention by guests. However, it sounds as though in this instance my staff reacted poorly to your issue regarding the bedding which is certainly not to our standards and for which I apologize again.

We do certainly hope that as a repeat visitor here to Old Town and multiple time guest at our Hotel that you would give us the opportunity to serve you again and make up for this occurrence.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at the Hotel directly and I will be happy to assist you.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We reserved a hotel room block at the Residence Inn for our recent wedding. Our guests loved the hotel and it was easy to set aside rooms for our big day! It was a much better value than many of the other hotels we looked at in Old Town and they offer great one and two bedroom suites for families to share. The only negative was dealing with some of the front desk staff. I felt like I was playing a game of 20 questions just to get answers to some really simple inquiries. I thought the management was great though, especially Burma, who was so helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Snd45. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us for your wedding day. We are so thrilled that our Hotel made it easy to organize rooms and not add any additional stress in planning your big day here in Old Town. I do apologize you found some of your interactions with our Front Office team members to be less than satisfactory but did want to thank you for commending Birmah directly.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences and we hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Once again, we returned to our hotel of choice to spend a wonderful New Year's Eve & Birthday
in our favorite city. This hotel is really a step above, As usual, from the moment we arrived the
stay was wonderful! Again, I will say,, what makes this hotel a step above, is THE STAFF.
As always, the entire hotel was spotless clean - a very important factor in choosing a place to stay. Everyone is so gracious and efficient .. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk by the Assistant Manager Ed Peters who gives new meaning to the word exceptional! Throughout our stay, he was everywhere, doing everything to make everyone welcome & comfortable.
Our van driver was great and as usual Nadjet, Cindy, Tunisa & Katie were so very helpful, We had a wonderful holiday visit to our favorite part of this country and these people really added
to that happening. I also must add that the food service staff is remarkable - they too go out of their way to set up & serve a wonderful morning and evening repose. I have said it before & will say it again - there is not a better place to stay in Alexandria, VA - location, staff & accommodations are really the BEST in town! It does not get any better than this!

Room Tip: We love the corner front rooms - spacious ,quiet and a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel and glowing comments about the team. We are glad you have been able to experience the culture of our hotel that makes us so unique. Your comments about the departments and specific team members; Ed, Nejat, Cindy, Katie and Tanitia will be celebrated by everyone.

We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and staff.

M Wilson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape may, nj
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Really liked where this hotel was located. Shuttle was really helpful since it was so cold. Breakfast was plentiful. Did not take advantage of the dinners. Just like other reviewers the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed over the New Year. I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Good Day capemaydonna. Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay over the New Years holiday at our Hotel. We are thrilled that you found our location here in Old-Town to be to your liking and that our shuttle was hopefully able to help you explore all the immediate area has to offer.

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Hotel and the team that make it so special. We truly hope you will join us again during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Being a loyal Marriott customer this is one of the Friendliest and Nicest properties in the chain. Starting with the amazing front desk staff that go beyond expectations. The hotel is close to the King Street Metro station for easy access on the Blue or Yellow lines into D.C. Just a 2 block walk. And the King Street shopping/dining area is an easy walk as well. There is also a Whole Foods store a block away so you can stock up on things if needed. I've read some of the reviews on here and may agree that a little updating would be nice. But the hotel is still well above most properties in the area. At the risk of sounding too upbeat about the hotel, I would a say that one negative thing is the parking fee. But then again, what hotel in a downtown setting does not charge for parking. So stay and enjoy D.C. and then enjoy Alexandria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Raxel7851. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel. It sound as though our location was a great fit for you and allowed easy access to both the Metro system as well as local ammenities such as King St. and the Whole Foods. Also, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team at the Front Desk. Each Front Desk staff member takes great pride in ensuring all of our guests have a memorable stay and it sounds as though you were no exception.

Thank you again so much for your feedback and we hope you join us again soon during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've enjoyed staying at this property before, and there are things about it which are still terrific. The staff is professional and extremely helpful. The location is wonderful. On this stay, though, I had a few concerns about my room. The first concerns noise--the heating system thunked on and thunked off, constantly interrupting my sleep. I finally figured out how to turn it off--if you hit the "fan" button on the thermostat, it will move from "auto" to "on," and if you hit the fan button again, it will turn off the system. Then you only have to deal with the quieter thunking noise of the refrigerator. The second night of my stay, the clock radio alarm woke me up at midnight, although I hadn't set the alarm myself. The second concern was with the room furnishings. The room was very clean and the housekeeping was great. But the fabric cornice above one of the windows had a stain (such an odd place, how on earth did it get there?) and the lampshade of one of the bedside lamps was ripped. Despite those concerns, I got a decent room rate thanks to AAA membership, and I'd still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good day GoingGoingSwVa. Thank you so much for taking time to share some of your experiences from your most recent stay at our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Hotel on previous visits to Alexandria and joined us again. As you mentioned, we have a great team here at the Hotel and I am happy to hear you found their service to be commendable. I would like to apologize for the multiple room issues you mentioned regarding both mechanical and condition. As a Marriott Hotel we work very diligently to ensure all of our guests especially repeats have a pleasant and comfortable stay. However, it sounds like we may have fell short of meeting all of your expectations for which I can offer my apologies.

I do want to thank you again for sharing some of your experiences and we hope that you will join us again during future visits to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.