We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great sleeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
SW VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not great sleeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've enjoyed staying at this property before, and there are things about it which are still terrific. The staff is professional and extremely helpful. The location is wonderful. On this stay, though, I had a few concerns about my room. The first concerns noise--the heating system thunked on and thunked off, constantly interrupting my sleep. I finally figured out how to turn it off--if you hit the "fan" button on the thermostat, it will move from "auto" to "on," and if you hit the fan button again, it will turn off the system. Then you only have to deal with the quieter thunking noise of the refrigerator. The second night of my stay, the clock radio alarm woke me up at midnight, although I hadn't set the alarm myself. The second concern was with the room furnishings. The room was very clean and the housekeeping was great. But the fabric cornice above one of the windows had a stain (such an odd place, how on earth did it get there?) and the lampshade of one of the bedside lamps was ripped. Despite those concerns, I got a decent room rate thanks to AAA membership, and I'd still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good day GoingGoingSwVa. Thank you so much for taking time to share some of your experiences from your most recent stay at our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Hotel on previous visits to Alexandria and joined us again. As you mentioned, we have a great team here at the Hotel and I am happy to hear you found their service to be commendable. I would like to apologize for the multiple room issues you mentioned regarding both mechanical and condition. As a Marriott Hotel we work very diligently to ensure all of our guests especially repeats have a pleasant and comfortable stay. However, it sounds like we may have fell short of meeting all of your expectations for which I can offer my apologies.

I do want to thank you again for sharing some of your experiences and we hope that you will join us again during future visits to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    176
    54
    7
    5
See reviews for
226
118
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are loyal Marriott vacationers. Location for Old Town and shuttle to local businesses are a plus for this hotel, but the rooms were overly worn and badly in need of refurbishment. Chairs were splitting, cabinets in the kitchenette were chipped. Hotel was at least clean and breakfast was plentiful and constantly restocked with both hot and cold offerings. Compared to Crystal Cities for the same price, this hotel needs improvement. Probably will not select this location again unless specific destination was Old Towne. Otherwise there are much better offerings in same price range. Do like the suite space and refrigerator, but overall it is time for a makeover to bring it up to Marriott standards expected.

Room Tip: Room at end of hallway was relatively quiet. Elevator bank was noisy, so avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello JeSheVA. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel. We are glad that you found our location for a visit to Old Towne to be enjoyable as well as the cleanliness of our suites and complementary breakfast each morning. I would like to apologize for the issues raised regarding the condition of your suite. As a Marriott Hotel, we work very diligently to ensure that our rooms meet all company and brand standards. The team here at the Hotel and I do apologize again that we failed to meet your expectations regarding the condition of our suite and will continue working to note and address issues such as those you mentioned.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you continue to choose Marriott during your travels.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel and the amazing staff! The beds are extremely comfortable and plush bedding. The amount of space in the rooms are beyond standard size and it is in walking distance from all cute shops and great eats! I had the best trip! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! And the complimentary meals/drinks saved me a lot of money and were good.

Room Tip: Our business trip had different rooms and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good Day Candice S. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at our Hotel. The team here are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found our suites to be comfortable and spacious and that our location allowed you to explore the wonderful Old-Town area.

We hope that you will join us again soon during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is a typical residence inn with great large rooms. This property has a pool and laundry.
The location is great if you are looking to visit Alexandria, VA as they have a shuttle that takes you within a mile. You could also walk to downtown Alexandria. If you are looking to see sights in DC the hotel is only a 2 block walk to the metro station and is in a very safe area. On the weekend we were there it was fully booked and thus very crowded for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Good Day Ann M. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel in Old-Town. It is such a pleasure to hear that our location helped make your stay so memorable and allowed for easy exploration of Alexandria and also Washington D.C.

Thank you again for providing your feedback of our Hotel and we hope that you will join us again soon during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here due to the proximity to the patent office -- I didn't need a kitchen or all the room that the hotel offers. But I have to say it was really nice to have such a large room to move around in. Bed was very comfortable.

The other thing I really liked about the hotel was the breakfast -- there is something for everyone including eggs/potatoes/sausage links in buffet style.

If I am in Alexandria again I would absolutely book here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good Day sdtraveler73. Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. We are happy to hear that our location was perfect for you working out of the US Patent Office right down the street. It sounds like you had plenty of room to spread and relax after a long day at work in your suite. Also, thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast, we strive to ensure we offer a variety of foods so that all of our guests can find something to their liking.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLETON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We took a family “Learncation” to Washington DC area. We stayed at the Residence Inn Alexandria March 31 through April 5. We arrived in the evening of the 31st and checked in. The pull out couch wasn't the most comfortable; but that is something I believe would be the same no matter what hotel we stayed in. My mother said the bed in the suite was quite comfortable (a pillow top bed, I believe) and she slept well.
If we found things that required attention in the room, we called down to maintenance or stopped by the main desk. We do these things when we travel so the person after us doesn’t have to deal with it, and as well, it makes our stay that much more pleasant. At Residence Inn Alexandria, the process to fix whatever we reported was expedient and the people who fixed them were so very nice; we were quite impressed.
The employees at the hotel were wonderful. If there was a question or need, they were very quick to assist and it made the stay that much more comfortable. The employees seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
The location of the hotel was ideal. We were a few blocks from the Metro and a few blocks from King Street. We did as many of the natives in Alexandria did and purchased smart strip cards from the fare vending machines and if we needed to, we could add fare to the cards. If there was something left on the card at the end of the day, there was a deposit box for Veterans in need. And traveling on the Metro was very simple; getting from point A to B never seemed a problem and if a question arose, we’d ask a Metro employee.
The hotel swimming pool was so very tiny; but considering we were out most of the day and my nephew was the only one who really used it, it was okay. There were plenty of other children in the pool area for him to play with.
Another nice perk of the hotel was the extensive breakfast buffet. What surprised and delighted us even more was the evening meal that the hotel offered. It was usually a substantial meal and included two glasses of wine or two domestic beers for adults, and a drink of milk, juice, or soda for children. Both breakfast and dinner were included in the price of the room. It was a nice atmosphere to come back to when we decided to ‘stay in’ for our evening meal. This hotel is very family oriented.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a visit to the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi BerkanaBeads. Wow, it sounds like you and your family had an amazing time here during your "Learncation" to the Washington D.C. area. We are so happy that our Hotel was able to provide you with a great hub for all of your various activities in and around the area. The staff here at the Hotel do genuinely enjoy their work everyday in providing all of our guests with memorable stays.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words and we hope you will join us again soon during your next trip to the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. It was like home with full kitchens pull out sofa beds and internet access. The complementary breakfast buffet was pretty good with plenty of choices. I enjoyed shopping and went sightseeing in Old Town Alexandria. The ideal place to stay if you are looking to save money as the price is reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. The staff were attentive and I was well taken care of. There was also pay and park facility. Comfortable hotel and will stay here again.;

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Good Day FannieJJL. The team here at the Hotel are all so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are thankful you provided such positive feedback. We are glad that our Hotel and all of our ammenities including complementary breakfast, high-speed interent, and our location allowed you to have such a memorable time in Alexandria.

We want to thank you again and hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.