We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
san diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here due to the proximity to the patent office -- I didn't need a kitchen or all the room that the hotel offers. But I have to say it was really nice to have such a large room to move around in. Bed was very comfortable.

The other thing I really liked about the hotel was the breakfast -- there is something for everyone including eggs/potatoes/sausage links in buffet style.

If I am in Alexandria again I would absolutely book here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good Day sdtraveler73. Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. We are happy to hear that our location was perfect for you working out of the US Patent Office right down the street. It sounds like you had plenty of room to spread and relax after a long day at work in your suite. Also, thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast, we strive to ensure we offer a variety of foods so that all of our guests can find something to their liking.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    184
    57
    7
    5
See reviews for
235
122
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
APPLETON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We took a family “Learncation” to Washington DC area. We stayed at the Residence Inn Alexandria March 31 through April 5. We arrived in the evening of the 31st and checked in. The pull out couch wasn't the most comfortable; but that is something I believe would be the same no matter what hotel we stayed in. My mother said the bed in the suite was quite comfortable (a pillow top bed, I believe) and she slept well.
If we found things that required attention in the room, we called down to maintenance or stopped by the main desk. We do these things when we travel so the person after us doesn’t have to deal with it, and as well, it makes our stay that much more pleasant. At Residence Inn Alexandria, the process to fix whatever we reported was expedient and the people who fixed them were so very nice; we were quite impressed.
The employees at the hotel were wonderful. If there was a question or need, they were very quick to assist and it made the stay that much more comfortable. The employees seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
The location of the hotel was ideal. We were a few blocks from the Metro and a few blocks from King Street. We did as many of the natives in Alexandria did and purchased smart strip cards from the fare vending machines and if we needed to, we could add fare to the cards. If there was something left on the card at the end of the day, there was a deposit box for Veterans in need. And traveling on the Metro was very simple; getting from point A to B never seemed a problem and if a question arose, we’d ask a Metro employee.
The hotel swimming pool was so very tiny; but considering we were out most of the day and my nephew was the only one who really used it, it was okay. There were plenty of other children in the pool area for him to play with.
Another nice perk of the hotel was the extensive breakfast buffet. What surprised and delighted us even more was the evening meal that the hotel offered. It was usually a substantial meal and included two glasses of wine or two domestic beers for adults, and a drink of milk, juice, or soda for children. Both breakfast and dinner were included in the price of the room. It was a nice atmosphere to come back to when we decided to ‘stay in’ for our evening meal. This hotel is very family oriented.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a visit to the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi BerkanaBeads. Wow, it sounds like you and your family had an amazing time here during your "Learncation" to the Washington D.C. area. We are so happy that our Hotel was able to provide you with a great hub for all of your various activities in and around the area. The staff here at the Hotel do genuinely enjoy their work everyday in providing all of our guests with memorable stays.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words and we hope you will join us again soon during your next trip to the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. It was like home with full kitchens pull out sofa beds and internet access. The complementary breakfast buffet was pretty good with plenty of choices. I enjoyed shopping and went sightseeing in Old Town Alexandria. The ideal place to stay if you are looking to save money as the price is reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. The staff were attentive and I was well taken care of. There was also pay and park facility. Comfortable hotel and will stay here again.;

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Good Day FannieJJL. The team here at the Hotel are all so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are thankful you provided such positive feedback. We are glad that our Hotel and all of our ammenities including complementary breakfast, high-speed interent, and our location allowed you to have such a memorable time in Alexandria.

We want to thank you again and hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed over a hundred nights this year with Marriott properties, so feel rather qualified to judge the chain. This RI excels across the board.

The location is very convenient to the Metro, Amtrak, and Reagan National. I used to drive into DC, and have started using the trains and staying here. It's a short three blocks to the trains, easy even in cold weather. I kind of get my fill of eating out, so with Whole Foods a block away, I get everything I need to eat in and eat healthy.

The dining area is quite large, plenty of room for everyone to enjoy the good breakfasts and the happy hours. While I missed my workout (for like the 3rd year in a row) I did pass by the fitness center with my beer, and it seems quite extensive.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They always make sure you are up to speed on all their amenities and take care of any special requests.

This is my new favorite hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi Slovaktoo. Thank you so much for your great feedback from your recent stay here in Old-Town. Staying with Marriott as frequently as you do we are thrilled you gave our Hotel top marks across the board. We are glad that we are now your new "favorite Hotel" in the area and hope that you will come back and join us again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for a family reunion for the Scottish Walk in Old Towne Alexandria. Rooms were fantastic, classic apartment style rooms with full kitchens and extra "living" space with a large TV. Guest service was fantastic, and fantastic to have the complimentary shuttle considering the weather we had for the weekend. Breakfast was better than average with multiple hot items and always a great spread of muffins, bagels, cereal and waffle bar. Appreciated the complimentary coffee / tea in the lobby during the chilly afternoons. Would definitely return given the price and all the little "extras" that you got.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outer walls of the hotel have a better layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Good Day robram_1999. Thank you so very much for sharing your experiences from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. The team and I here are so happy you enjoyed your time with us so much while enjoying the wonderful Scottish Walk and time with your family. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of the ammenities that our Hotel has to offer such as our wonderful suites, shuttle, complementary breakfast, and especially all of those people that make up our great team. Also, I am glad to hear that after a long day out in the chilly weather you were able to warm up with a cup of coffee or tea in our lobby.

Thank you again so much for taking the time to provide your feedback as we greatly appreciate it and it will be shared with the associates here at the Hotel. Hopefully you will join us again during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Greatly enjoyed my stay here over Thanksgiving holiday. Nice rooms. Nice breakfast. Reasonable price. It was very convenient to be so close to a metro station. Dinners are even provided some nights of the week. Look forward to returning to this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Burden88. Thank you so much for taking the time to share such great feedback from your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully we will see you again soon during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
292 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed two nights for business, very impressed with the facility, new and convenient to Metro, Amtrak, Wholefoods market, and a short drive or long walk to old town. Very clean modern rooms, quite comfortable. Breakfast was typical of a residence inn, generic but it sustains and is crowded. Breakfast room closes at 9 on a weekday in the am for late risers. Hotel has a good gym and laundry facilities on premises. There is a shuttle to get your around and plenty of nearby dining and links ot public transportation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi flipper95. Thank you so much for sharing the great feedback from your recent two-night stay with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our great ammenities such as our complementary breakfast, our Hotel Shuttle, our location, and best of all the team working here. It sounds as though we were the perfect location for your travels in and around Washington D.C. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the same level of service you experienced during this recent visit on your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.