We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently visited the Residence Inn to join my family that live around the DC area to celebrate my 70th birthday. We chose the Residence Inn for the access to the Metro for my three children that live around DC and for the nearness to Washington National Airport as our oldest son and his family were flying in from WI. We had a great weekend and the hotel staff were fabulous. Our rooms were spacious and clean, the staff helped us select an excellent restaurant for my birthday dinner, and the staff actually provided a birthday cake for me. The breakfast served was very good also. Overall the hotel staff made it a great weekend for me and my family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello jryoakum. Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your experiences from your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to have a great Birthday celebration with your family members who live in the immediate DC area. Also, it looks like our team was able to work in a little Marriott magic by ensuring your Birthday was extra special with a delicious cake.

Thank you again for your kind words and I will be sure to share them with our team. We hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    184
    57
    7
    5
See reviews for
235
122
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary with a last minute trip to Old Town Alexandria. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. The hotel staff also surprised us with an acknowledgement of our anniversary, how sweet. We love the location of this hotel and the friendliness of the staff, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Rose58277. We are so thankful that you and your Husband chose our Hotel to celebrate such a wonderful milestone in your lives. We always pride ourselves in finding little ways to give our guests who may be celebrating a special occassion a more memorable stay and it sounds like we were successful. The team and I here at the Hotel hope that you both had an enjoyable weekend here in Old-Town and hope that you will join us again to celebrate soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is walking distance from the Metro and Amtrak stations. It is in a quiet area of town. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was just fine for 4 people. The room was clean and spacious though the smaller of the 2 bedrooms could have used a bit more space. The breakfast was good and had a nice variety of food. We took advantage of the complimentary evening social on two nights which was a nice benefit, especially when we arrived at the hotel hungry on our first night. The two items that prevented me from giving it 5 stars were that the hallway on the 6th floor was way too cold. Seemed liked the temperature was in the 50s. The second was the TV. The reception wasn't very good. We tried to watch a TV movie and the voice and picture kept coming in and out, Some channels were worse than others. This problem was on all the TVs in the room. Also it took forever to go from one channel to another so it took a long time to scan the channels. These are two easy things to correct and would make it a high quality property. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Good Day MinnesotaVisitor. Thank you so much for providing your feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. It sounds like our Hotel was a great location for you and allowed you to explore the local area and also stay in and enjoy some of our great ammenities such as the breakfast and evening social meals. Our goal is to provide our guests with a pleasant issue-free stay and I would like to apologize for the problems you experienced in regards to the public space temperatures as well as the television. I have personally engaged our Engineering team and they are going to work towards addressing both of these issues building wide.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skala, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during busy time (Marine Corps. Marathon.) ALL services were top-notch. Front desk was always friendly and efficient. Housekeeping kept the room clean and lovely. Engineering fixed all problems promptly. Food service was wonderful. I had 3 rooms there, and we were unanimous in our praise. The hotel also provided teddy bears to each of my grandchildren. A few days later, a craft project for Halloween was given to the children in the dining area. They were simply fantastic. I sound like I'm an owner, but I'm just a very happy guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Day maureen237. Wow, it sounds like you had a fantastic weekend despite it being our Marine Core Marathon weekend which can be quite busy. We are so happy to hear that everyone from our Housekeeping and F&B team to the Front Desk staff helped make your stay memorable. Your Grandchildren sounded like they had a wonderful time here at the Hotel as well enjoying some of our goodies including the teddy bears and crafts in the restaurant. I want to thank you again for providing such great feedback from your stay and hope that we will see you again during future stays.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited Residence Inn in Alexandria Old Town in October and had a great stay! Extremely spacious clean rooms with a full kitchen & living room, fantastic location close to all of the amenities, great nightlife and dining spots in Old Town. In addition, the staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Thumbs up to the management team for running a 1st class operation!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Good Day Bob D. Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay here at our Hotel in Old-Town. We never get tired of hearing when our guests have a great experience at the Hotel and it sounds as though you were no exception. We especially appreciate your kind words regarding the staff here at the Hotel and our leadership team. Your feedback will certainly be passed along to the team at our next meeting and we hope to see you again during future travels to the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn in July and thought it was a great place. The rooms were very clean and very big. Breakfast and the complimentary dinners were excellent and the staff was very helpful. Can't beat the location. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Day MItravelinfamily. We are so happy to hear that you and your guests had an enjoyable stay with us here in July. Our number one priority is to ensure each traveler that joins us for business or leisure has a memorable experience and it sounds as though you were no exception.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stay in a lot of Marriott properties, but the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street is one of the best. The amenities are excellent, as they are in all Marriott hotels. The difference is in the service and friendliness of the staff. The property is close to the Metro, and the hotel shuttle will go anywhere in Old Town. And the concierge services are second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building overlooking one of the oldest national cemeteries in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello Ted J. Wow, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff here at the Hotel. We always say that the best ammenity we have at our property is the team that works so hard everyday to ensure each of our guests has a memorable experience here in Old Town. Also, what a great tip for other travelers regarding the rooms overlooking Alexandria National Cemetary which was actually the National Cemetary prior to Arlington Cemetary's development. These rooms are often the most quiet in the Hotel and for history buffs offers a great vantage point.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we will see you again soon during travels to the Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.