We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location and the Residence Inn is nice also.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Jordan, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location and the Residence Inn is nice also.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Probably the best feature of the hotel is the location. the hotel is located two stops on the metro from Ronald Reagan airport. It is also a very short distance from the Alexandria Amtrak station. We arrived by Amtrak. Metro and Amtrak are two blocks away from the hotel. The old town area is a lot of fun, with restaurants and bars of all kinds less than a mile from the hotel. We took a hotel shuttle to a fine seafood restaurant located on Alexandria's waterfront.
The Metro will link to just about anywhere in Washington.
The hotel is a nice clean place. It is a very busy hotel. There were many people staying for the Marine Marathon. The room was pretty spacious The room is very clean and bright, with plenty of windows. We didn't use the kitchen at all, just the refrigerator. The bed was fairly comfortable.
There is a buffet breakfast every morning. It is just average, nothing fancy, but adequate.
We did not have a car, but there is a garage in the rear of the hotel if you need to park.
All in all we had a nice stay. Took the metro to DCA (Reagan Airport) and had a nice couple of days with no car.

Room Tip: The corner rooms seen to be larger than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Day mazuza2. Thank you for taking the time to share some of the experiences from your recent stay here at our Hotel. You are certainly correct about our location as we consider this one of our best ammenities outside of the team we have working here. I am glad to hear that you found our Hotel convenient to the local Amtrak, Metro, as well the heart of Old town all just a few blocks away.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again during future travels to the Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    152
    49
    5
    4
See reviews for
203
101
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for the Army Ten Miler due to its proximity to Metro. The Metro is an easy walk from the hotel and the main pedestrian areas for Old Alexandria are near by. Overall, the room was good, the free breakfast was good, and the service was very good. Internet was free but you paid for the parking, $18/ day. It is pricey but it is downtown Alexandria and it is secure. I did not check the exercise areas since we stay only two nights. Overall, the value was good except for the parking. You could use this hotel without a car and use the Metro to explore DC. the only detractor is the room was warm with the AC on while the hallway was very cool. it appears the room AC (not window AC) are in need of repair or replacement while the HVAC for the common areas was great. Luckily, you can open the windows partially and get cool, night air.

Room Tip: None except above the 4th floor to get above street noise but not higher than 7th floor for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi SV_Traveler. Thank you for providing the great feedback from your recent stay here with us in Alexandria. We are glad to hear that our location was ideal for you to explore both the Old-Town Alexandria area but also close to the Metro to allow you access to Washington D.C. As a Member of the Marriott family of Hotel's it is our number one priority to ensure our guests have a pleasant and issue free stay and in regards to your room HVAC unit it sounds like we fell short of this goal. I want to apologize and thank you for bringing it to our attention. If you could please reach out to me direclty (ri.wasdk.agm@marriott.com) so that we can ensure that we can address any issues with that room for future guests I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again during future travels to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went on a "girls weekend" with my 7 year old daughter and decided to stay in Alexandria over our first choice of a hotel on Capitol Hill, as we were coming in the middle of the gov shutdown, and I did not know what sort of temperment people would have in the DC area. This was a great place. The location is walking distance to so much, Whole Foods, King St Metro, shops, restaurants. Each day the manager at the hotel was happy to help direct me once I gave him our agenda. He was very helpful in learning what stop we needed to get off at on the Metro, as well as recommended places to eat in Alexandria, and of course walking directions. The breakfast buffet was great, and the eating area was spread out, much bigger than others I have stayed at. I normally feel like we are on top of people at breakfast, but this place was nice. My only wish was there there was more fruit options for breakfast, when we were there is was only melon, and some greenish bananas. But otherwise, breakfast was great.
It was easy to get to DC on the Metro, and we actually had a great weekend despite the shutdown. Only sleeping complaint was that our room was near the parking garage, and there were a lot of teenagers in our hotel the weekend we stayed, and they chose to whoop it up at 1am in the parking garage, and that woke me up.
We will visit DC again, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi STom21. Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback from the recent stay here in Old-Town. We are sorry that you were not able to experience all that Washington D.C. has to offer due to the "shutdown". However, we are happy that you were able to find us here and stay in Historic Alexandria. We are thrilled that you took advantage of the various ammenities that not only our Hotel has to offer such as the breakfast, and our team here, but also some of the local attractions such as Historic King Street and the nearby WholeFoods. I do want to apologize for the noise levels during your stay as we always strive to ensure our guests have a quiet and enjoyable evening's rest. Also, I appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast offerings as we are always trying to find ways to provide our guests with more selections and items to their liking.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope that you will join us again soon here in Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for anyone visiting Alexandria or staying in Alexandria while visiting Washington. The location is outstanding-two blocks from King Street in Old Town with its shops and restaurants, and three blocks from the metro. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the metro and other places nearby if you prefer not to walk. The breakfast buffet is lovely with both hot and cold selections. The only issue we had with the hotel is that the beds are quite soft. Otherwise, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi DEA26TOR. Thank you for taking the time to share some of your experiences here at our Hotel during your recent stay. Obviously, you found our Hotel to be a great starting point not only for exploring the immediate Old-Town area but also for heading into Washington D.C. Our team at the Hotel from the Front Desk clerks to the attendants in the breakfast area were thrilled to have you as a guest and we hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a nice weekend, had 2 rooms.. both nice, staff was fantastic and extremely accommodating.. Did not bring out dogs this time but definitely would next time and saw others with their pups at the hotel as well. Great place, nice quiet location,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good day chmash. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent weekend stay at our Hotel. Our team here always makes it their goal to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and it seems as though they succeeded. During your next visit to the Hotel we are more then happy to have you bring your four-legged guest with you as we are pet friendly. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again here in Old Town soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed the weekend. We really enjoyed it, the hotel is nice and the staff is excellent. They are very friendly and you are close to the trolley and plus the hotel has van to take you places. What more could you ask for. Great choice and I will stay again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello ejones88. Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad that the Hotel's location was convenient for your sightseeing in and around Alexandria. The Old-Town Trolley service is fantastic and a great way to see the heart of Old-Town. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Before my visit to Alexandria, I looked for an hotel in walking distance to the King Street Metro, restaurants and sights. This hotel was a good match. The location, room, and complimentary breakfast met or exceeded expectations. A helpful and friendly staff person offered exceptional service during check in and check out.

The Breakfast atmosphere was robust, full of families and couples grabbing breakfast before heading out to Alexandria and DC. I liked the atmosphere, service and location!

Unexpectedly, I found that the hotel was one half block from an upscale Whole Foods Store. My husband and I skipped the expensive Alexandria restaurants and ate two very satisfying meals there. They offered a full food bar, wine/beer bar and took orders for burgers and pizza. We liked that it was nearby, especially since we were staying in a suites hotel with a kitchen.

One block away, on Prince St, was a Crate and Barrel Outlet offering deeply discounted housewares. There aren't many outlets around, so this was a treat.

If you want an uninterrupted good night's sleep, I suggest you disable the refrigerator's ice maker which noisily dropped ice a few times during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good Day Jane S.

I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experienece during your stay here at our Hotel. We are happy that you were able to experience some of our Hotel's ammenities including our delicious complementary breakfast as well as the great team that takes care of our guests during their stay. It sounds like you were also able to discover some nearby gems in the Wholefoods and the Crate and Barrel outlet. I know that the Whole Foods has been my destination for lunch on more then one occassion and it is alway delicious and convienent.

Again, thank you for your kind words regarding your stay and we hope that you will join us again in the future when you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.