We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for anyone visiting Alexandria or staying in Alexandria while visiting Washington. The location is outstanding-two blocks from King Street in Old Town with its shops and restaurants, and three blocks from the metro. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the metro and other places nearby if you prefer not to walk. The breakfast buffet is lovely with both hot and cold selections. The only issue we had with the hotel is that the beds are quite soft. Otherwise, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi DEA26TOR. Thank you for taking the time to share some of your experiences here at our Hotel during your recent stay. Obviously, you found our Hotel to be a great starting point not only for exploring the immediate Old-Town area but also for heading into Washington D.C. Our team at the Hotel from the Front Desk clerks to the attendants in the breakfast area were thrilled to have you as a guest and we hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    152
    49
    5
    4
See reviews for
203
101
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a nice weekend, had 2 rooms.. both nice, staff was fantastic and extremely accommodating.. Did not bring out dogs this time but definitely would next time and saw others with their pups at the hotel as well. Great place, nice quiet location,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good day chmash. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent weekend stay at our Hotel. Our team here always makes it their goal to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and it seems as though they succeeded. During your next visit to the Hotel we are more then happy to have you bring your four-legged guest with you as we are pet friendly. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again here in Old Town soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed the weekend. We really enjoyed it, the hotel is nice and the staff is excellent. They are very friendly and you are close to the trolley and plus the hotel has van to take you places. What more could you ask for. Great choice and I will stay again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello ejones88. Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad that the Hotel's location was convenient for your sightseeing in and around Alexandria. The Old-Town Trolley service is fantastic and a great way to see the heart of Old-Town. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Before my visit to Alexandria, I looked for an hotel in walking distance to the King Street Metro, restaurants and sights. This hotel was a good match. The location, room, and complimentary breakfast met or exceeded expectations. A helpful and friendly staff person offered exceptional service during check in and check out.

The Breakfast atmosphere was robust, full of families and couples grabbing breakfast before heading out to Alexandria and DC. I liked the atmosphere, service and location!

Unexpectedly, I found that the hotel was one half block from an upscale Whole Foods Store. My husband and I skipped the expensive Alexandria restaurants and ate two very satisfying meals there. They offered a full food bar, wine/beer bar and took orders for burgers and pizza. We liked that it was nearby, especially since we were staying in a suites hotel with a kitchen.

One block away, on Prince St, was a Crate and Barrel Outlet offering deeply discounted housewares. There aren't many outlets around, so this was a treat.

If you want an uninterrupted good night's sleep, I suggest you disable the refrigerator's ice maker which noisily dropped ice a few times during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good Day Jane S.

I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experienece during your stay here at our Hotel. We are happy that you were able to experience some of our Hotel's ammenities including our delicious complementary breakfast as well as the great team that takes care of our guests during their stay. It sounds like you were also able to discover some nearby gems in the Wholefoods and the Crate and Barrel outlet. I know that the Whole Foods has been my destination for lunch on more then one occassion and it is alway delicious and convienent.

Again, thank you for your kind words regarding your stay and we hope that you will join us again in the future when you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights Friday to Monday. Wonderful stay the staff was great. They were always willing to assist. The housekeeper Daysi kept our room clean. A delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. The Metro 2 blocks away.. A Whole Food Grocery store 1 block away. The hotel offers a courtesy shuttle of a 1 mile radius. King Street close with many stores and restaurants. Also by the waterfront by King Street we took the water taxi for $8 one way to National Harbor MD which had nice restaurants and stores. Enjoyed our trip would definitely return. Great hotel and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good Day bluej725.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding our Hotel. It sounds like you had a busy trip taking in all the sights here in Old-Town and also getting a chance to take the water taxi over the the National Harbor area which in and of itself is impressive. I will certainly be passing along your kind words to your Housekeeper as well as the team in our breakfast area. Thank you again for sharing some of your experiences and we hope that you will join us again as a guest soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Usual Marriott standards made this an enjoyable stay. The happy hour with ample food was an extra treat for us weary travelers. The beds were so comfortable as we always expect from Marriott; the room nice and large. Service very good and a good location -- a little pricey when you add in the parking, but a good choice for a short visit to Alexandria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day Candyer. I wanted to let you know how much the team here at the Hotel appreciates your kind words regarding your recent stay. I am glad that after a long day of traveling and perhaps some sightseeing you were able to relax and enjoy our complementary evening social and then get a great night's rest in our beds. Again, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will join us again the next time you are in town.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at this Inn before and like it very much. The 1 bedroom is comfortable and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was very good. The staff is very helpfu. It is so convienent to the sights and Rte 95. There are also stores nearby so we could have eaten in by choice. I know I will return.

Room Tip: I try to get our rooms near to each other. They did not honor this,disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Good Day JudithG. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are thrilled that you and your guests were able to enjoy our breakfast and then also take some time to relax in the pool. I would like to apologize as it seems we were unable to honor your request for rooms nearby during the stay and for that I apologize.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.