We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for DC visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for DC visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our family of four recently stayed at this hotel (June 29th to July 3rd) and thought it was wonderful. The proximity to both the metro station at King Street and the Whole Foods market was great (even the market was impressive!). We had a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite which was very roomy and provided 3 TVs for us to use after spending 3 exhausting days in Washington DC. The breakfasts offered a lot of variety for the kids. The staff was friendly - the first day we arrived, our room wasn't ready so they offered us a shuttle ride down to the waterfront. You don't need a car if you are touring DC and Alexandria. The free trolley bus runs frequently up King Street and allows you to jump on and off whenever you want. We didn't utilize the indoor pool (rather small) but we did use the laundry facilities to prepare for the continuation of our trip. Having a kitchen in the room is nice as an option to eating out or keeping snacks around. Overall, this hotel was clean and well maintained. It works well if you don't mind not having quick access to DC spots in the evenings.

  • Liked — Proximity to Metro and downtown Alexandria
  • Disliked — Internet access in room didn't work
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    159
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
207
106
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to Reagan airport and the Metro station. What a great choice! The hotel and grounds were spotless and they have recently renovated, so the rooms were freshly carpeted and bathrooms immaculate! It is right on a busy road, but the road noise was almost non existent. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were bountiful. Different hot selections each day as well as the standard bagels, fruit, oatmeal, etc. The Metro is a very short two blocks away and was very easy to travel to get all over DC. No car was needed. The Metro was also clean and safe. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

My son was participating in a leadership conference during Spring Break at a different hotel in Bethesda. Therefore, we needed a hotel that wasn't too far from him but that was also in a safe and unique area for our two younger children to enjoy. We read the mostly favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and picked this hotel. Not only were the rates reasonable for Washignton D.C.($135 most of the nights--two nights at 250) but the service was excellent. The complimentary shuttle service took us anywhere we needed to go in Alexandria which was convenient since we had a baby in tow and we didn't want to spend time searching for our destinations. The rooms were fairly clean, a little small but provided a refrigerator, microwave and stove(please note they don't have ovens). The staff was super helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners(M-F) were good and a great place to socialize. Lots of families who were relocating to the Washington D.C. area were staying there so we really felt comfortable with our children.

Old Town is beautiful and the hotel is so close to King Street and the Metro Train Station. It felt very safe and there is so much to see on King Street.

Overall, it isn't a fancy hotel by any means and needs a little updating but we would definitely stay there again.

Note: The pool wasn't so bad. We had a great time swimming. But then we knew that "swimming" wasn't going to be our main activity. There is a fee for parking(can't remember what it is) and it does get a little crowded making it difficult to find a parking spot although we always found one.

  • Liked — Safe , Family Friendly, Great Locaiton
  • Disliked — Still had to pay a lot of money for a hotel(although less than other hotels in Washington DC)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just a short walk from the ever-efficient DC Metro system, this Residence Inn lacks for nothing. We found our accomodations spacious, spotless, and plush. The staff was truly remarkable and wonderfully refreshing in this day when service with a smile is typically just a memory from past days. This location is not a standard inn (modeled like town homes), but rather like metropolitan apartments. Multi stories - but worth the elevator ride for a very quiet location at the end of the hall. The indoor pool was a bit too small, but our 6 year old didn't mind too much. Breakfasts were hot and well prepared. The location, near the Old Alexandria King Street Trolley (mentioned later) and near the convenience of a Whole Foods (gastronomique heaven) were a special plus we had not expected. The Old Town trolley was a bit of a disappointment, though - rather undependable - but better than walking. We were glad, my age dictates that I point out, that we were not staying closer to King Street because the night life crowd could be a little rowdy.

Hats off to the staff! I hear they are planning renovations! I, for the life of me, could not tell why!

  • Liked — Staff helpfulness, room size and decor
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We've been to DC several times but have never visited Alexandria. We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. We arrived early, but the desk staff made an extra effort to see if a room was ready, which we really appreciated. The walk to the Metro was much shorter than we expected, and had we realized how close it was to Reagan National we would have turned in our rental car rather than parking it in the garage. We were thrilled to find a Whole Foods Market just a block away. After a week on vacation we were tired of eating out, so it was great to be able to stop there on the way back from the Metro (after a hard day of walking - that's DC!!) and pick up dinner ingredients. The market has a superb selection of ready made to ready to cook. As a previous reviewer said, the breakfast was excellent. We didn't get a chance to go to the evening reception. The hotel is undergoing some room renovations. We had an older room, but the new changes are going to be really nice! Again, the staff was really helpful, and the computer in the lobby was a nice touch because you could print out directions to attractions and check in to your flight without having to find a "business center" . We would definitely stay here again. It was a great value.

  • Liked — large suite with kitchen, great breakfast, super access to Metro
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

My husband and I just got back from our 3 night stay at the Residence Inn in Alexandria, over Memorial Day weekend. We loved this hotel. We got a great deal of only $104 per night through the hotel website with our Marriott Rewards number (regular rate was still very good at $139/night), and were very impressed with what we got for our money. We stayed in a Studio Suite, with a Queen bed, full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, full service dinner/cookware, dining table etc.. The room was really large and both the room and bathroom were very clean and nice.

The staff was really nice as well, always saying hello and helping when we needed it. The front lobby had a computer and printer we could use, as well as a computer kiosk with local dining/shopping/tourist information available.

The breakfast was totally awesome. It was much more than the usual Continental-sytle breakfast. Each day there were bagels, toast, English muffins, doughnuts, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, and waffle mix (for the waffle iron) available as well as some hot items, like eggs, pancakes and sausage, and juice, milk and coffee.

Parking was an additional $15 per day, but that still put our hotel rate at a much lower cost than most of the other hotels in the area, especially at this quality. The parking garage was covered and gated, so was very safe. We felt safe at all times in the hotel as well.

We drove to Mt. Vernon from here, which was an easy 15 min drive. For sightseeing around Alexandria, we walked- everything in Old Town was within walking distance. It was about 1 mile (20 mins) to the water, and King Street (with all the shops and restaurants you can imagine available) was only a few blocks over. We never did try the free King St Trolley, we preferred to walk everywhere, but we did see it going by quite frequently.

Overall, we were very impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great value, friendly service, large, comfortable room, great location- that's just about everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a room block for a wedding party. When I originally booked the room for 3 adults, I misunderstood the website, thinking every room has a bedroom separated from the sofa bed and sitting area. When we arrived and noticed the sofa bed and bed in the same room, I called the front desk and they promptly relocated us into a one bedroom suite with a separate bedroom.

This hotel is in a fabulous location. It is only a few blocks, and 5 minute walk, to the King St. Metro station, for easy access to D.C. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to Old Town destinations. This was a great way to be transported to the King St. area and wharf, where most of the action is. We never had to wait longer than 10 minutes to be dropped off or picked up. The front desk was happy to arrange this for us. (Note that the shuttle does not run after 10:30 P.M. So we did take a cab home in the evenings.)

We loved having a full kitchen! It was a great way to keep snacks and drinks on hand and would be wonderful for a longer stay or for a family who wanted to make some meals in the suite.

Breakfast each morning is free and ample. There were many choices including pancakes, waffles, eggs, potatoes, yogurt, fruit, pastries, etc.

We thought this hotel was an excellent value, especially considering the location and extra amenities. 3 adults easily enjoyed the accommodations without feeling crowded. I think this would be an excellent base for D.C. sightseeing.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.