We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Old Town Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in Old Town Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arranged to meet family in DC area to tour the Mall. Found this hotel on Trip Advisor, noted the great reviews. Hotel did not disappoint; in fact, now that I have been there, I thought the reviews understated the amazing customer service, fantastic location, amenities, cleanliness and overall quality of the hotel. Each and every staff member went out of their way to assist us; folks who provided the glowing reviews of the hotel staff were right on the money - they were awesome. We stayed in a one room suite; queen size bed in bedroom-bathroom area and a seperate living room area with pull-out couch (in case you make spouse angry or snore famously). Full kitchen with large fridge (Whole Foods grocery store about a block away, so you won't forget how to cook or clean dishes while on vacation:-), stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot, dishes, towels, etc. Complimentary breakfast every day and, Mon-Thursday, a complimentary dinner and drink. Free wifi with room (thank you very much), and a shuttle if you ate (or drank) too much to waddle the block or so to the metro (15-20 min on Blue line to Mall) or King Street (where all the stores, restaurants, bars, etc are located). In-laws had a two-room suite, which was also very nice, and extremely spacious. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: We loved the suite with the large kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello ChrisVaBeachVa. Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your great experiences during your recent stay in our Hotel. It sounds to me like you and your family had a great trip and enjoyed your sightseeing in DC. Our team at the Hotel is happy you were able to experience so many of our great ammenities like the breakfast, evening social hour, complementary shuttle, and last but not least the team here at our Hotel. We value our guests contributions to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for providing us with such a glowing review. Hopefully we will see you and your family during your next visit to the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    179
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
228
120
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at a 1bedroom suite at this hotel close to Whole Foods super market and Metro. Thought the $18 tag for inside parking garage was stiff for this area but guess this is the going rate. Free breakfast was the usual stuff but after a while we needed to go somewhere else. Free dinner social Mon-Thurs was interesting but had it for one night only. Guess for business traveler on the run, this may be good but with so many good restaurant to choose from in Old Town, one night was good enough. Also with a small kitchen and Whole Foods close by, can eat better on your own. Service was great and reasonably priced compared to DC.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Good Day Yori O. Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your five night stay with us here in your one-bedroom suite. It sounds like the Whole Foods down the street combined with our in room kitchen allowed you to create some delicious dishes. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again during your next visit to the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was very happy with our stay here. The room is typical Residence Inn and very functional. The location is perfect--walkable to Metro and Old Town. The staff was great--working hard to keep the breakfast items out and the room clean. After a long day, we bought a couple of snacks from the little convenience store in the lobby and the woman at the desk must have seen how haggard we were, because she said our snacks were on the house. Our room felt like a mile walk from the elevator, so if that's a problem be sure to ask for something closer.

My only two complaints are: 1) the parking is $18/night, which is of course disclosed up front. You can definitely find cheaper/free parking nearby if you're willing to invest a bit of time. 2) breakfast was a complete mob scene both mornings--way more people than places to sit, even though they extended seating area out into the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi EW1616, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had such a great stay with us and it sounds like we were a perfect starting point for your daily adventures. We always try and make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible when they are here with us and it sounds like our Front Desk team member knew just how to make that happen after a long day with some treats from the Market. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and the amount of seating that is available. During our peak leisure season we do add additional seating which I believe was noted but at times it is still difficult to keep up with the demand.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions when I found it during a business trip. It was in driving distance to Ft Belvoir and was easy to get to from the highway or one of the backroads when I needed to avoid traffic which there is alot in this area. The hotel itself has standard rooms you find at any residence inn and the views are nothing special. They come equipment with full kitchens, good beds and decent couch. The shower is large. It is in walking distance of a few restaurants and has a convient parking garage. The hotel always seemed fulled and each morning breakfast was very busy.

Hotel staff were great. Friendly and professional they were always able to answer my questions and offer good advice.

My first stay was for business and then family when I came back to visit an old army buddy. My wife really enjoyed a local filipino grocery and restaurant and just added to our experience. We were also in town to try and catch the cherry tree festival but a recent cold front delayed them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Warsnake66, thank you for the feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. I am glad you were able to discover some short-cuts to get to Fort Belvoir and avoid some of the famous DC traffic. Also, I hope your wife was able to pick up something delicious from her visit to the nearby Filipino grocery store as I know they have a lot of tasty finds. I will be sharing your kind words regarding the staff and your other feedback about our Hotel ammenities during our next team meeting. Thank you again for taking the time to share some of your experiences and we hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great hotel for the price and location. We chose to stay here for our trip to DC. Had a wonderful suite for three nights for what DC would have cost us for one. Walking distance to Metro, or they will shuttle you over. Hotel had great free breakfast with daily menu change. Not just the usual bagels and cold cereal, but honest to goodness hot breakfast. All of the staff were nice and friendly. Loved seeing the same guy every morning, vacuuming with a smile and hearty "Good Morning". You can spend one day of your trip exploring this fantastic area of Alexandria. The free King street trolley makes it easy to navigate the long street filled with shopping and dining. Would definitely stay here again! Best place to stay if traveling with children, a mini home with kitchen and separate sleeping areas and pool for entertainment and winding down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Donna K, thank you for such great comments regarding your recent stay with us; it sounds like it was a busy trip. I am glad to hear you were able to fuel up for a big day of exploring DC and Old-Town at our breakfast and also that you were given such a warm greating each day by our team member working in the lobby. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was very nice and in a good location for the price. The staff was excellent and answered all of our questions. There is a shuttle that will take guests to the Metro as well as anything within a mile radius including King Street which is helpful if you don't want to walk to the downtown area.

There were a couple of things we were not thrilled with and one was stains and wear on some of the furniture in the living room as well as a missing foot stool. Additionally the business center is a little limited in nature.

The breakfast and manager's happy hour were well done and we enjoyed the food. Though we would have like more fresh food options, it was well appointed and the staff was helpful. We also liked the fact that the lobby offered local newspapers and coffee 24/7.

The staff here however was very, very helpful in so many ways and made this a very, very enjoyable stay. We also liked the close access to Whole Foods a block away so that we could buy groceries and prepare them ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom end unit suite that was the last room in the hotel at the end of a rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi CarrieMI2013, thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our Hotel shuttle as I know it can be a life saver after a long day of walking and site seeing. The pleasure and comfort of our guests is paramount to us and your feedback regarding some of the suggestions regarding your suite will help us in addressing focus areas. Lastly, thank you for all of your praise regarding our staff here at the Hotel as they are what we consider to be our best ammenity! Thank you again for your kind words and hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, if you are looking for a boutique hotel equipped with the latest, stylish amenities, this is not it. If you are looking looking for a place to call "home" for several weeks, or are a family visiting the D.C. area for several days and looking for a perfect base camp, I can think of no finer hotel in Old Town Alexandria.
Location - Only 2-3 blocks from the King Street Washington Metro stop (servicing the Blue and Yellow lines), the hotel is effectively less than 30 minutes travel time (foot and train) to the National Mall and Smithsonian Museums (Yellow line goes direct to L'Enfant Plaza, which is next to the Air and Space Museum). The shops and restaurants of Old Town Alexandria are a 20-30 min walk. If you don't want to walk, there is a complementary shuttle that will take you within "1 mile" of the hotel, though this effectively means any of the principal restaurants in Old Town between Queen St and Duke Street all the way to the Waterfront.
Amenities - Every room is a "suite" with full (if small) kitchen that includes a two-burner electric stove, full size refrigerator, freezer with ice maker, dishwasher and full complement of utensils, pots, pans, dishes and glasses. However, if you plan to stay a while and actually cook (which I did extensively), you will probably need to buy some actual cooking utensils that will stand up to heat (Crate and Barrell sells wooden utensils at the factory outlet store, which is a block away towards the King Street Metro). Many of the rooms are actual two-room suites, with a separate bedroom and a pull-out queen-size sofa bed (which I slept on when my parents visited - it was actually reasonably comfortable for a sofa bed). There is a full breakfast every morning, and Mon through Thurs there is a light meal served with two complementary drinks (red/white wine or Budweiser beer). Good coffee is available seemingly all the time in the lobby. Again, perfect for business/govt travel or travel with kids when you are looking to save some money. Parking is available onsite in a garage, though at $18/day it is a tad on the expensive side. Then again, good luck finding parking anywhere in Old Town for much less - the on street parking is either metered, or you require a pass; one thing that is ruthlessly efficient in Old Town is the parking enforcement (and their contract towing companies).
Staff - Superstars all around. Catherine and Katie, who never seemed to leave, always had a smile and great attitude that never failed to improve mine. Warm, inviting and friendly, I did not come across a single staff member who did not impress me. This is a very well managed hotel, with a professional staff that goes the extra mile.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "far side" of the hotel (40's, eg 549/650/etc) have a good view of the Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello 96Wahoo, thank you so much for giving such wonderful and insightful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Making our Hotel your "home" while you were here was our absolute goal and it looks like we succeeded. I could not have given a better description of our various ammenities if I had written it myself. What an informative and honest review of your stay from the Hotel's location here in Old-Town to the advice regarding Alexandria's parking regulations. Also, thank you for taking the time to recognize two of our outstanding desk clerks Katie and Christine; I will be sharing your kind words with them soon. Again, thank you so much for a great review of your time here and we hope that you will join us again next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.