We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel. Service and staff are impeccable. Friendly and courteous atmosphere. Location is wonderful. Trails, shops, food snd sights.
Our suite was quiet and amenities superb. Wifi connection jumps around alot though.
Don't forget to compliment and thank those who serve here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share some of your comments regarding your recent stay with us at our Hotel. We obviously are able to provide our guests with great ammenities such as our location to various location attractions and our breakfast. However, we are always most pleased when our guests are able to enjoy our best ammenity, the team members here at the Hotel. Also, I do appreciate your feedback regarding our high-speed internet access. We are currently working towards a solution to upgrade our system in order to provide our guests with the best most consistent access possible. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope you will join us again soon here in Old-Town.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    176
    54
    7
    5
See reviews for
226
118
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the 2-bedroom corner suite on the 8th floor. The room had a nice size living area, although needed more seating for 4 people, sofa bed was small, small kitchenette (no oven) just a microwave two burner stove top with a table for 4 people in living area, fit our needs. Bedrooms comfortable and clean 1 larger with desk and chair and 3 large windows, each with it's own bathroom, queen beds .A few negatives: stains on carpeting living area and bedrooms, and some wear and tear on kitchen cabinets and sofa and chair in LVR. Tuesday AM problem with hot water-didn't have much was fixed by PM. Nice size Flat screen TVs all rooms. Excellent location to King Street Metro, walking distance, or hotel has a free shuttle that takes you up to 1 mile radius. Easy walk to King Street to pick up free trolley that travels to King Street shops/ restaurants and waterfront of historic Alexandria. Nice breakfast buffet cereals, muffins, toast, bagels, eggs, alternating waffles, french toast, bacon sausage., fresh coffee drinks, and comfortable clean dining area. All complimentary. Service was excellent all around. Friendly, helpful staff. Parking on site- garage, charge per day. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with our Hotel. We are always striving to find ways to improve our guests experience while they are here with us. I do personally apologize regarding the issue with the water as we had to repair a leak in a supply line therefore causing a temporary loss of hot water. My team and I are however glad you were able to enjoy our delicious breakfast each morning and also that you had a chance to interact with some of our wonderful associates during your stay. Again, we greatly appreciate all of your feedback and hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Residence Inn on Duke street in Old Town. Since I worked for another Residence Inn for 6 years, I am always notice the little things when I stay at a Marriott. This property was probably my best experience as a guest! The front desk ladies were warm and helpful, the breakfast people were quick and pleasant, the breakfast food was very good - lots of choices. The room was clean and the location was only 3 blocks from the metro. It could only have been better if everything was free...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at our Hotel! I am glad that you were able to relive some of the Marriott Magic that you certainly were a part of during your time with Residence Inn. Our team was certainly glad to have you here and also glad you were able to enjoy all of our great ammenities such as the location, breakfast, and especially our friendly staff. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at this hotel 6 times in 3 years. I find the front desk employees and all employees to be professional, genuinely very friendly and always willing to help. My complements to the management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for review of our Hotel. The team at this Hotel genuinely prides itself on their ability to go out of our way to ensure each guest has a memorable experience. Your kind words about the team here will certainly be shared with them and they will greatly appreciate it. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in town!

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is great for time în Alexandria or DC. Short walk to King Street Metro station and the free King St trolley. Full kitchens in each room are great f or a family. The breakfasts offer a large variety of choices. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The parking is extra and the spaces are small. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are always pleased when we are able to exceed our guests expectations during their stay. Our location in Old-Town does easily allow for great access to both the Metro into D.C. and the local complementary Trolley service. Our staff is genuinely excited to have the opportunity to provide outstanding service to every guest that walks through our front doors and it seems you certainly experienced that. Your kind words will definetely be shared during our next staff huddle meeting. We hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
263 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is all about the location. Small living room and bedroom, full kitchen that really did supply everything if you did intend to cook. Whole foods is next door which made picking up fruit, water a breeze.
The bed was just a queen when we told it would be a king. The pack n' play was waiting in the room which was very nice!
Breakfast is only served until 9 which is not great.
Parking a bit steep at $18 daily.
The room was clean but some updating would be nice and appreciated.

Room Tip: If you are flying in take a cab to the hotel. No car needed at all. Remember all Marriotts are Peps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities, especially our location and the Whole foods down the street. I do apologize for the mishap with the bed-type during your stay and hope that it did not impact your overall stay too greatly. Thank you again for staying with us while you were in the area and we hope to see you next time you are in the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location on Duke is close to King Street Metro, the Amtrak station, fifteen minutes from DCA and ten minutes from the Beltway. The hotel is clean, decent free breakfast, good wifi, and big rooms. The garage can be tough to navigate and weekend nights with wedding parties can be louder. Price is right for increasingly expensive DC area.

Room Tip: Facing away from King Street close to elevator high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
7/4/13

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities of our location. I do understand and appreciate your honest feedback regarding our parking garage and some of wedding block groups as we always are striving to find ways to improve our guests' stay. Thank you again for staying with us while you were in the area and we hope to see you next time you are in the DC area!

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.