We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Friendly and Helpfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely Friendly and Helpfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at this hotel 6 times in 3 years. I find the front desk employees and all employees to be professional, genuinely very friendly and always willing to help. My complements to the management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for review of our Hotel. The team at this Hotel genuinely prides itself on their ability to go out of our way to ensure each guest has a memorable experience. Your kind words about the team here will certainly be shared with them and they will greatly appreciate it. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in town!

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    159
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
206
106
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is great for time în Alexandria or DC. Short walk to King Street Metro station and the free King St trolley. Full kitchens in each room are great f or a family. The breakfasts offer a large variety of choices. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The parking is extra and the spaces are small. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are always pleased when we are able to exceed our guests expectations during their stay. Our location in Old-Town does easily allow for great access to both the Metro into D.C. and the local complementary Trolley service. Our staff is genuinely excited to have the opportunity to provide outstanding service to every guest that walks through our front doors and it seems you certainly experienced that. Your kind words will definetely be shared during our next staff huddle meeting. We hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is all about the location. Small living room and bedroom, full kitchen that really did supply everything if you did intend to cook. Whole foods is next door which made picking up fruit, water a breeze.
The bed was just a queen when we told it would be a king. The pack n' play was waiting in the room which was very nice!
Breakfast is only served until 9 which is not great.
Parking a bit steep at $18 daily.
The room was clean but some updating would be nice and appreciated.

Room Tip: If you are flying in take a cab to the hotel. No car needed at all. Remember all Marriotts are Peps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities, especially our location and the Whole foods down the street. I do apologize for the mishap with the bed-type during your stay and hope that it did not impact your overall stay too greatly. Thank you again for staying with us while you were in the area and we hope to see you next time you are in the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location on Duke is close to King Street Metro, the Amtrak station, fifteen minutes from DCA and ten minutes from the Beltway. The hotel is clean, decent free breakfast, good wifi, and big rooms. The garage can be tough to navigate and weekend nights with wedding parties can be louder. Price is right for increasingly expensive DC area.

Room Tip: Facing away from King Street close to elevator high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
7/4/13

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities of our location. I do understand and appreciate your honest feedback regarding our parking garage and some of wedding block groups as we always are striving to find ways to improve our guests' stay. Thank you again for staying with us while you were in the area and we hope to see you next time you are in the DC area!

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaretville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street is a terrific hotel with wonderful staff. Our family of 5 came in late at night, weary from a long drive. The reception staff were kind and courteous, and even gave my young daughter a small teddy bear. Moreover, after check-in we stopped at the little 'store' for a few water bottles. When we put them on the counter to pay, the staff told us there would be no charge - they took care of it themselves! What an unexpected surprise and blessing!
Our room was more than adequate - it was spacious, clean and lovely. The kids enjoyed the pool area also. The breakfast area was quite crowded, but the food was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
7/4/13

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities of our location. I am so happy that our staff was able to provide you and your family with such a memorable experience after a long trip to our Hotel and will certainly share your kind words with them. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will join us again soon!

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Residence Inn is a good option if you are looking for a hotel that is within walking distance of the King St. metro/ Amtrak station. It took between 7 and 15 minutes depending on how quickly you walk. Every staff member we encountered, from the reception desk to the housekeeping staff to the staff at breakfast, was very friendly and helpful. It is also 1 block from Whole Foods which is very convenient if you want to pick up some drinks or snacks for your room.

The rooms, like all Residence Inns, were spacious with a kitchen, living area and bedroom. We had plenty of dishes and cutlery for the two of us. I was travelling with my daughter so we used the sofa bed; it was great having separate space without having to book a suite, though the sofa bed was probably one of the most UNcomfortable ones I had ever slept on. So if you do know you need two beds you may want to book a room with two beds or two actual bedrooms. My only other complaint with the room was with noise/ sound-proofing. We heard quite a bit of road-noise (we were on the 8th floor) and the AC compressor was quite loud. That said, AC compressors tend to be loud in most hotels.

The breakfast was meh. The first morning we both had the waffles, but either the batter was overmixed or old because they cooked incredibly tough. They also had cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, and english muffins, toast, muffins, etc. The second morning we stuck to cereal.

We didn't go to any local restaurants as we were pretty tired each night after walking all over DC, but there were several choices nearby, from nicer restaurants to diner-y places. We did get deliver from Sumo Sushi which was very good and very reasonably priced.

We would consider staying there again, but if given the choice and the rates were in the same range we would go back to the Embassy Suites. It is closer to King St. station, the rooms had better sound proofing, and the breakfast is better. Though this is certainly a good option as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when in the DC area. It's is a good neighborhood, close to plenty of food choices and the Metro. The hotel is very quiet and the staff is friendly. Cab ride from Union Station will run you about $30. Metro is under $5 from station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.