We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn a few weeks ago for one night and we chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and also based on its proximity to King Street which was great. (only a few blocks)

We arrived at the hotel a bit early (before check-in time) but had no problem checking in which was great! The service at this hotel is great and the front desk staff was really helpful.

Our room was a bit far but it was quiet and it had everything we needed. We needed help getting a cab to go to Mount Vernon from the hotel for the afternoon and the front desk helped us (although they did not have the correct rates -which was $30 one way from this location -the front desk had mentioned to us $15-20).

When we returned to the hotel after our afternoon at Mount Vernon we were surprised to find out that there was a manager's reception in the lobby which offered burgers and hot dogs and drinks! We were tired and it started to rain so we were delighted to find out about this and it made our night! We did not have to go anywhere else to eat that night.

Breakfast the next day was fine too. They had cold and hot items and it was decent. We enjoyed it.

We had a flight the next day at 4:00 pm and the front desk had no problem keeping our bags and calling a cab for us when we were ready.

I did not rate this hotel excellent only because of the very loud air conditioner which made a real loud noise each time it came on and therefore woke us up. Other than that everything about this hotel was great and we would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    160
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
208
106
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we checked in everyone was freineldy and helpful.
Easy access to King Street Metro.
Breakfast was always good with a variety of food served everyday. The staff was always so friendly and accomodating at both breakfast and evening reception.
Our room was very clean and taken care of throughout our stay.
Cannot get over all the smiles from everyone there.
Great for family staying in DC for a vacation.
Alexandria has alot of history and wished we had more time to explore the immediate area.
AWESOME is the only way to describe our visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from a brief stay here. We were very pleased with the clean and spacious room. The location is optimal, walking distance from the shops on King Street and, as a bonus, there's a wonderful Whole Foods just down the block. Along with the fully outfitted kitchen, this provided a great way to dine and relax at the end of the day. The breakfast the next morning was extensive in terms of options and the staff was diligent about keeping things filled and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The room was veery big. My children had a lot of room to play and run around. It would have been nicer to get a King bed but they are not offered. The breakfast that is offered was not that great. The hot food (eggs, sausage, pancakes etc) was a bit cold and did not taste good at all. The pool was also a bit small and there was no spa. Over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for work at Bolling AFB, and I have nothing but praise for this review! Hotel is clean, staff is wonderful, breakfast is hot and delicious. They have a light dinner served every evening along with two drinks for free (wine or beer, good selection of both) which was great for budgeting for food if needed. The location of the hotel is perfect. Alexandria itself is beautiful, and the kings street metro stop is a five minute walk away, if that. Moreover, a whole foods is two short blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the train ride to the dc mall area is quick and easy. Another plus--this hotel has the best gym I've ever seen for a hotel. Treadmills ellipticals and free weights, as well as a smith machine! I was pleasantly surprised at that. The only negatives, the pool is small and has a dungeony feel to it. Also, the rates are high, of course, and if you drive here, expect to pay 18$ per day for overnight parking. Other than that, this is a wonderful hotel and I would definitely stay here every time I come to DC!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is ideally located. You can park your car and forget about it for your entire visit. Centrally located to King Street, trolley and Amtrak/trains. They have a wonderful full, free breakfast buffet and parking is relatively inexpensive compared to other area hotels. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms roomy with full kitchenette for those evening snacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is located 3 blocks from the metro and about a ten min ride to down town D.C. My family of 6 have stayed every year for the past four years. Great free breakfast, swimming pool with life guard at all times and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We have never had one problem.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the bedroom suites with kitchens. We have no problem sleeping 6 to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.