We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Marriott quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Consistent Marriott quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got a one bedroom suite. Furnishings were modern, room was nice and clean. HDTV's in both the bedroom and living room, but no channels in HD. Vanity was outside the bathroom, which made it easy to get ready while my traveling companion used the shower.

Free breakfast was extensive: eggs, sausage, various forms of potato, biscuits, muffins, waffles, soda, and coffee. In addition, the waffle station had a lot of toppings to choose from: different fruits, syrups, whipped cream, and nuts. However, the quality of the breakfast was just "OK".

Parking was quite expensive in the very tight parking garage at $18/night. The entry was so tight that I nearly hit the buidling with the side of my car turning into the entrance. It was also a chore to perfectly position myself centrally into the parking spot and not hit one of the supporting pillars.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming, always saying "hello".

Room Tip: Regarding parking: To save money, there is metered parking just west of the hotel around the Carlyle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    156
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
103
32
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the Residence Inn in Alexandria for a girls' weekend. We wanted easy access to the Metro and a safe walkable area. This hotel offered both. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a nice kitchenette. It was an easy walk down to the Metro station and there were several good restaurants in that same area. They also had a pretty nice breakfast spread—the usual buffet and cold selections. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights with my family while we visited DC. Staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Food was very good, shuttle service was quick, and they were glad to help with small details that we needed. Highly recommend this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in the town for a major meeting and booked into an overflow hotel as I generally do, however I booked into the wrong Residence Inn so I was staying in Alexandria VA instead of the one in the Inner Harbor. The staff was very helpful and friendly, even while handing two group of students visiting the sights of the nat'l capitol. The hotel is two short blocks from the the King Street Metro and also the free Kings St. Trolley. The metro accesses all the major area of DC, the trolly gets you to the eateries and pubs in the historic district. I wished I could have stayed one day longer to taken in more of the sights. Great restarurant, LaPorta's, next door - thats another review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is .3 of a mile from the metro station, so it was convenient for sightseeing in DC. One of the best features is a Whole Foods that is .1 of a mile up the street. We got a wonderful dinner and a bottle of wine from there one evening and took it back to enjoy in our room. After a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to get some great food and go back to the hotel and relax. Several times we stopped by there for snacks. The staff at the hotel were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities of our location. We always share feedback with the team...they were happy to see your recognition for them. Thank you for staying with us!

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really enjoyed my three nights at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was nice -- clean, quiet, spacious. Didn't try the dinners in the evenings, but breakfast was good. Location is also nice -- a five minute walk to the King St. Metro and about a mile walk to the shops/restaurants in Old Town. Given the traffic up and down King Street around dinner, the walk wasn't bad at all. No complaints here...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are excited to learn that your 3-day stay was so memorable!

Mike Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have to echo what other reviewers are saying--great staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast and very convenient to Metro. We just spent over a week touring Washington DC and this hotel made our trip incredibly comfortable. King St. is fun to explore and the Whole Foods grocery is one block away. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.