We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Brooklyn, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our room was quite spacious with a full kitchen, a living room and a bedroom. The size of the room was bigger than a typical 1 bedroom apartment in New York City! The hotel rate we got in February was really great. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant inside and there are so many options around the hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    184
    57
    7
    5
See reviews for
234
122
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Actually, every time is a charm at this wonderful hotel near the Metro stop in Old Town Alexandria. This is the third time I've stayed here, and this time I brought my family with me. We made a last minute hotel reservation. And I do mean last minute! (Thank you, G.G., you're one of the reasons I LOVE being a Marriott Platinum Elite member.) The staff was very helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. Yes, this hotel is a little older, but that adds to its charm. For an old building, the elevators are fast. The breakfast was delicious, and there was quite a variety of items to choose from. The staff who prepare the food and maintain the beakfast area show a great deal of pride in their work. The breakfast area was full of people, but I noticed the hotel has added several tables since I stayed here in 2012. I highly recommend this hotel and its wonderful staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. I have stayed at the front, back, and side of this hotel. Some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbott, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here on April 5-8 2013. We were in town for a family wedding. We called ahead to see if we could check in early, when we arrived room was ready-no waiting at all. As soon as we walked thru the door, the staff greeted us with sincerity and not an act. We will be staying here on our next trip to see more of D C. We were pleased with room, amenities, breakfast, and the entire helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here's the deal...I had started to type a review of this property and it turned into a novel that no one would read... I've stayed at what most people would consider 'nicer' properties, JW Marriotts, Starwood properties such as Westin properties and resorts, Le Meridian properties as well as independents like The Jefferson in Richmond.... none of them are even close to the service we received here at the Residence Inn. The manager food and drink and breakfast are all great, the room was comfy, quiet and clean... but the workers were above and beyond friendly, respectful and responsive. Tenitia (misspelling likely) at the front desk and Michael also at the front desk went out of their way to make us comfortable. Tenitia is worth her weight in gold. Michael at just after midnight is helping me with a microwave issue in our room offering complimentary pizza since our microwave wasn't working.

I don't want to get too long winded because no one will read the whole thing, but for the service we received from those helping at check-in, serving meals, 'bussing' your dishses after meals, I would expect to pay 4 or 5 times the advertised rate. I will follow-up with a more detailed email to the manager, because his staff deserves to be commended. Never have I come across an entire staff so friendly, helpful and proffessional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, ill start this off by saying that this was a great hotel to stay at. If you are looking for a hotel to do everything for you, ie: wipe you, bathe you, drop everything for you, this isn't the right hotel for you, you need to go 2 blocks farther to the Hilton. The hotel had excellent staff, they were extremely helpful with actually showing us where the metro was and how to get places. Next the hotel room was spacious and clean. It location is good, it's only a short walk to the metro to get to DC, and to KIng street ( where most of the restaurants are). Breakfast is standard, but absolutely sufficient and take advantage of it. Overall, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. Good location and typical Residence Inn facility and accommodations. However the staff here are incredible. You get a very warm greeting when you check in. Seems like they are actually glad you are here. Wife's waiting for me to check in and the maintenance guy comes over and says, hey if you need anything while you are here just let me know. See a housekeeper in the elevator and they greet you. Friendliness is obviously a culture here. Breakfast is organized and they actually have someone cleaning the tables as soon as someone leaves. And they has fresh blueberries. Asked for directions at the front desk and she says, let me take you outside and show you. That's impressive. All I can say is well done to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I will definitely visit this hotel again if ever in the DC area. It is a perfect location to catch the metro into DC. Enjoyed the free hot breakfast, clean room, and accomodations.
Their garage was full when we arrived so we ended up parking vehicle on the street. Very safe neighborhood. Make sure there are no signs for special or designated parking or the vehicle will be towed away.
Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.