We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Ritz or a JW have this type of service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not a Ritz or a JW have this type of service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here's the deal...I had started to type a review of this property and it turned into a novel that no one would read... I've stayed at what most people would consider 'nicer' properties, JW Marriotts, Starwood properties such as Westin properties and resorts, Le Meridian properties as well as independents like The Jefferson in Richmond.... none of them are even close to the service we received here at the Residence Inn. The manager food and drink and breakfast are all great, the room was comfy, quiet and clean... but the workers were above and beyond friendly, respectful and responsive. Tenitia (misspelling likely) at the front desk and Michael also at the front desk went out of their way to make us comfortable. Tenitia is worth her weight in gold. Michael at just after midnight is helping me with a microwave issue in our room offering complimentary pizza since our microwave wasn't working.

I don't want to get too long winded because no one will read the whole thing, but for the service we received from those helping at check-in, serving meals, 'bussing' your dishses after meals, I would expect to pay 4 or 5 times the advertised rate. I will follow-up with a more detailed email to the manager, because his staff deserves to be commended. Never have I come across an entire staff so friendly, helpful and proffessional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    153
    49
    5
    4
See reviews for
203
101
32
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

First, ill start this off by saying that this was a great hotel to stay at. If you are looking for a hotel to do everything for you, ie: wipe you, bathe you, drop everything for you, this isn't the right hotel for you, you need to go 2 blocks farther to the Hilton. The hotel had excellent staff, they were extremely helpful with actually showing us where the metro was and how to get places. Next the hotel room was spacious and clean. It location is good, it's only a short walk to the metro to get to DC, and to KIng street ( where most of the restaurants are). Breakfast is standard, but absolutely sufficient and take advantage of it. Overall, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. Good location and typical Residence Inn facility and accommodations. However the staff here are incredible. You get a very warm greeting when you check in. Seems like they are actually glad you are here. Wife's waiting for me to check in and the maintenance guy comes over and says, hey if you need anything while you are here just let me know. See a housekeeper in the elevator and they greet you. Friendliness is obviously a culture here. Breakfast is organized and they actually have someone cleaning the tables as soon as someone leaves. And they has fresh blueberries. Asked for directions at the front desk and she says, let me take you outside and show you. That's impressive. All I can say is well done to all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I will definitely visit this hotel again if ever in the DC area. It is a perfect location to catch the metro into DC. Enjoyed the free hot breakfast, clean room, and accomodations.
Their garage was full when we arrived so we ended up parking vehicle on the street. Very safe neighborhood. Make sure there are no signs for special or designated parking or the vehicle will be towed away.
Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first trip to Washington, DC was made even better by staying at this Residence Inn. This hotel is in a perfect location. It is 2 blocks to the Metro Station that takes you right into DC. It also is two blocks from King Street which is a lovely little area with local shops & plenty of restaurants. It has a free trolley that can take you up & down this area, ending right down at the beautiful river. The staff was polite & very attentive. The hot breakfast was great! Some evenings they have a light dinner included, too. The room was neat & clean & had all the comforts of home with a full kitchen, too. A safe area, too, & a safe, locked area to park your car. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Room was standard for this type of property. Free breakfast was a madhouse and strictly for the very hungry and budget conscious. A pretty fair walk to the old town. You need to check in before you can park your car in the garage which is very inconvenient. Make no mistake, this is a 2 1/2 - 3 star property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay here....we were hoping to see the cherry blossoms but unfortunately, they are a week behind schedule! First, the good - every member of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful, couldn't be any nicer. Second - the not so good. We had reserved a one bedroom suite but upon check in discovered we had a studio. We did arrive after midnight so I understand that we probably got the last room available but still.....we had made a reservation and paid in full in advance. Instead of adjusting the room price, they waived the pet fee as we had travelled with our dog....so all was well in the end. The room was fine....nothing to really complain about (or rave about either). I would recommend staying here....there is a free breakfast every day but we didn't partake as we chose to cook breakfast in our room. The location is great....just one block from King Street. Alexandria is a beautiful area and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.