We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'm staying here on business three nights a week for a couple of months. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and they offer nice amenities. The hot breakfast is good, the fitness center has just enough equipment to mix up a workout, and the shuttle is a very nice bonus as it takes me to and from work each day.

The hotel is within walking distance to King Street and the metro. There is a Whole Foods about a block away and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    158
    50
    6
    4
See reviews for
206
105
32
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a long weekend in DC and we booked the hotel through a cheap deals site.

Although my boyfriend has Marriott Rewards, due to the way we had booked the room, we couldn't credit any on our stay, but at the front desk, they gave us a free bag of chips from the mini mart.

The hotel is just down the road from King Street metro which runs direct into DC. It is also near to King Street shops and restaurants (we went to Hard Times Cafe on our first night which was incredible, but also an incredible amount of food!)

The room was a good size and was clean, and the bathroom was clean too. I like how the sink area is nice a large (for me to leave all my toiletries on!)

Breakfast was just ok, a large choice, but all the food is quite average tasting and it was quite busy and sometimes hard to find a seat for the 2 of us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOldTownManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are glad you and your boyfriend were able to enjoy the hotel and the area. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for staying with us.

Mike Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is the very best. We have stayed there many times - in fact - it's the only place
we will stay when we travel to DC area. Metro is so convenient and the staff is remarkable!
The hotel is spotless clean and very comfortable. Each time we return , we are thrilled with the
quality of service. The location is perfect for visiting DC. We have stayed at other hotels in the area but the management & staff at this location are what makes this hotel a cut above all the rest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOldTownManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the great comments! We will celebrate your note with the entire team. Glad you enjoyed the location and the staff! We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Mike Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdwk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed here before, last time, for 5 nights. We visit family in the area. This hotell has a great location for Metro access. You can park here, although, last time we flew into Reagan, got on the Metro and walked over to the hotel. Very polite and accomodating staff, great rooms and breakfast. Work out room. Restaurants nearby. Trolley is a short walk. Alexandria is a wonderful city for a visit. Came in last night, the entire street was strung with lights, gets you in the mood for the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOldTownManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for the nice review - we are excited you came back! Glad you enjoyed the proximity to the airport, King Street and the Metro. We hope you have a great holiday season!

Regards,

Mike Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for about 4 days in June. It is the usual Residence Inn in the rooms but a bit different in that it's one large multi-storied building. It is within easy walking distance to the Metro Station and there are several restaurants also close enough to walk to. It is definitely easier if you have a car, but not really required. Given the cost of parking in DC, it's much easier to leave the car and take the Metro if you do need to go in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are glad you stayed with us this past summer with your family.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location, especially our proximity to the Metro and all of the restaurants.

We hope you get the chance to travel back to the area and would love to see you again.

Happy Holidays,

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for four nights in mid-November 2012. Having stayed in Alexandria before, we wanted to be in Old Town, but still be conveniently located to the King St Metro stop. The room was very spacious. It had a decent-sized kitchen, including a full-size refrigerator. The bed was further back around a corner, with a vanity and closet on the way to the bathroom. The entire back wall was windowed, but there were curtains the entire length to keep it dark enough for sleeping. The first night, we set the thermostat to 69 or 70, but it seemed that the blower kept blowing cool air. We turned it off and left it off the rest of the trip, and the room was very comfortable; the hallway felt a little chilly by comparison. One morning I could hear the noise of leafblowers outside at the property next door, but we were up by then anyway. Other than that, I didn't hear a thing, which was good considering that weren't too far from the train. Breakfast was excellent - many choices made fresh every day, including scrambled eggs, French toast, Canadian bacon, various kinds of potatoes, cereals, pancakes, fruit, a waffle maker, and the usual bagels and toast, all of which was complimentary. On Sunday, breakfast was very crowded, but not too bad on the other days. There is also a mini store in case you forget anything (or if you have a last-minute need for beer or wine and don't want to leave the hotel). Parking was admittedly tight; it's just about all garage-parking, so there were tight spots and tight corners, but it all seemed very secure since you needed card access. We used the complimentary shuttle one night to get into Old Town, which worked out fine, but be advised that it doesn't seem to run past 8:30pm, so you're on your own to get back. King St is only a couple blocks away, although most of the hotspots are several blocks closer to the river. The Metro stop is only a couple blocks away, as is Joe Theismann's Restaurant, which is a great choice to go if you don't want to go far. Whole Foods is also only about a block away if you need any groceries. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor on the east side of the building; as long as you have the curtains clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. I always look forward to feedback and would welcome any further comments. Please feel free to call me at (703) 310-3040 (Direct Line) or email me at mike.wilson@marriott.com.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and hope to see you again!

Happy Holidays!

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We only stayed overnight, but this is a great place if you are staying for a longer visit. The kitchen area had a nice fridge, stove top, and sink. It was equipped with a lot of glassware/dishes/pots/pans. The bedroom was separated from the kitchen/sitting room/desk area by the sink and bathroom. The bed was not the best I've ever slept in but was comfortable. The employees were very pleasant and very helpful. Didn't try the breakfast buffet so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the review on our hotel. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again...perhaps longer than 1 night! We are pleased that the amenities worked well for your trip.

If you have specific feedback about your room and it is convenient for you, please feel free to email me directly at mike.wilson@marriott.com.

Happy Holidays!

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.