We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a long weekend with the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great for a long weekend with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Alexandria over Veteran's Day weekend and found it to be spacious, clean and perfect for our family. We got a two bedroom suite which was great for us and our two kids. It had two bedrooms with queen sized beds, and two bathrooms. We loved the extra space to spread out. The kitchen was full and had a toaster, coffee pot, tea, coffee, and popcorn. The bathrooms had Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner (although very small sizes). The morning breakfast was good and not crowded. We did not use the pool or gym, but they looked adequate too. You are a couple of blocks from King Street, and a block from a whole foods. I would agree with some of the reviewers that some of the furniture was worn (mostly a leather chair and ottoman that showed age/cracking), but that didn't really bother us. This was a clean, spacious, and convenient suite which let our family spread out for a reasonable price. My only recommendation would be for them to provide thicker comforters on the beds. The bedding was a bit thin for November. The staff was helpful and friendly, letting my husband in to the breakfast buffet after it was closed to grab some fruit. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of our hotel. We are excited that our hotel worked well for your family. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing good experiences for all guests, especially families. We appreciate the feedback about the furniture as well. We are in the process of replacing some items, and would love to know specifically what room you stayed in so that we may properly inspect it. If it's convenient, please email me at mike.wilson@marriott.com...I'd love to learn more.

We hope to see you again in our great city.

Happy Holidays,

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    173
    52
    7
    4
See reviews for
220
115
32
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights this past week. The location is great, but the parking garage in the back is a little small and compact. I was scheduled to stay for 7 nights, but my trip was cut short. However, I was very happy with the morning breakfast and coffee that was offered. That was a major highlight and a wonderful gathering place for the hotel guests every morning. The hotel was very comfy. I slept very well and the customer service was great. Our heat did not work in our room the first 2 nights and the the 6th floor (near room 636) had no heat at all, so it was very chilly in the hallways. The cleaning staff was good and the rooms were clean. But there were no staff available to help with bags and none of the staff offered any "extra" help with anything, but if you asked, they were very friendly. So, the only real problem I had was the heating problem. But the room was clean, a little worn, but still in quality shape. I would stay here again, but I think I will check out a couple of more hotels in the area again before I commit. But the breakfast and coffee bar every morning was a great touch.

Room Tip: Rooms in hallways further away from the eleavator are extremely chilly. Try to get close to an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt's Gulch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff was very accommodating and warm - very kid friendly. And it's a very convenient location - a short walk to the Metro provides easy access to DC, and it's close to Old Town which offers some nice restaurants. There's also parking on premise for those who wish to drive to the nearby attractions. The lobby area was great as a meet up place for our group of six families. And the price was far more reasonable than staying in DC. Not to mention that Residence Inn rooms provide more elbow room and free breakfast. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back look over a cemetery. Quiet, but maybe not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great hotel, at a good location, with easy, short walk to Eisenhower Metro Station (the shuttle will gladly take you as well) where at the Metro all of great DC area is open to you. Breakfast is quite the elaborate spread with many options. The "light meal" Monday through Thursday truly is a meal. They don't try to pass-off popcorn, potato chips, chex mix, chips and salsa as a meal as Embassy Suites does. Although the Government rate is quite expensive (226.00), I stay here when on business.

Room Tip: An excellent experience. I rated the value as poor because the Government rate of $226.00 I felt is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose to stay just outside Washington DC. Only 20 minutes and <$5 by metro took you there, and the hotel shuttle ran on request to and from the station - or the Old Town, when you preferred, although it's not far to walk. Old Town is great fun, with interesting period buildings (including the former Torpedo Factory, home to art and craft outlets), shops and restaurants. There was a civic shuttle bus back and fore on the main street.

All hotel staff were friendly and helpful, from our late night arrival (you can buy snacks to heat up) to our departure after 3 nights.

It lived up to the slogan a residence not a room. The suite was roomy, with comfortable bedroom, large dressing area beside the bathroom, and good sized living room with useable kitchen (full hob, big microwave, fridge/freezer) in one corner, dining table for 2, and a comfortable soft furnished area. Free wi-fi was a bonus. Plus the view of the Capitol on the horizon.

Breakfast met certain American tastes (waffles well in evidence), but we found the hot buffet, fruit, yogurts, breads etc fine. It's included.

Everything worked.

We thought it strikingly good value - best of our USA trip - at $109 a night.

AVCR

Room Tip: We went for high - quiet, with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and finally decided to write a review. This hotel has everything you could ask for in a hotel. The staff is great, helpful and responsive to any request. The rooms are clean and very well maintained. The consistency in this hotel is what brings me back everytime. The location is great with the metro a short safe 5 minute walk from the hotel, along with a short walk to the many local restaurants Old Towne Alexandria has to offer. Ask the front desk to shuttle you down to the water front to walk around.

If you are planning on going into DC, use the metro. Driving could cause many headaches with traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A nice hotell, conviently lookaded near King Street metro station, and with walking distance to the waterfront. The room was quite big and really nice. However, the breakfast really really bad! Couldn't find anything I wanted on the buffet, instead we bought our own ham, cheese, bread, organge juice, etc in a nearby supermarket (Wholefood market).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.