We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family reunions or large groups without extra cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for family reunions or large groups without extra cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Perfect for our family reunion of 26 people, including babies. The first level dining room is the ideal meeting place for take out pizzas or just family board game get togethers. Seating arrangements are a variety of booths, soft bleachers to individual padded chairs.

Breakfast is unbelievable. Everything you could think of, they have, healthy choices too. Hot buffet, cold fresh fruit. They even walked around and gave the kids stickers and activity sheets.

There is plenty of places to plug in your laptop, a full bar with swivel stools to work or eat on, along with lots of plugs for your cell phones.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to help us whether it be an emergency (one of the little ones fell and ended up with stitches on his head), or finding a small screwdriver to open a toy battery. Nothing was too small for them to handle with a smile.

TIP: Parking is cheaper and free after hours in the streets, especially behind the building. Or you can park at the hotel for a daily hefty price.

BONUS: Free shuttle within a mile (to old town), easy walk to Starbucks and Whole Foods.

WHY NOT 5 stars? They do not have any rooms with two beds, only single beds with pull out sofas. Also, the indoor pool is yucky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    179
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
228
120
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed 8 nights Staff great we had a young guest stay with us for two nights and they were so welcoming. Location great able to walk to Old Town and Whole Foods as well as Metro . Will stay there again

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a Marriott Gold member and I have stayed at many Marriotts including this one. At my most recent stay I noticed some sort of irritation on my skin, I simply thought this was due to an allergic reaction, bed bugs did not even cross my mind. When I got home the irritations had gotten much worse and I decided to go to a Doctor. The doctor confirmed that they were bed bug bites and there wasn't much they could do about it. I spent the next two weeks being miserable due to this, not to mention the embarassment as they were all over my arms, hands, and including a few on the side of my face. I am certain that this occured at this Marriott, but of course when I complained I got a similar response to that of another poster that they had a third party research this and nothing could be found. I also had a marriott claims person simply send me an email telling me to call her, which I did and left her a message but she did not return my phone call. I did a google search and found other reports of bed bugs at this hotel including one as recent as a few months ago. To say the least I am not satisfied with their response. I can understand why a hotel would deny any existence of bed bugs as it would be a PR nightmare but I am 100% certain it occured at this hotel despite the managers denial.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your post. As I mentioned previously, we take all issues very seriously, particularly those that involve the health and safety of our guests. As a result of your comments, we contracted an outside company to thoroughly inspect your suite as well as those in close proximity. According to our vendor, there was no trace of any pests in your suite or the immediate area. Additionally, we would be happy to provide this report to you if that would be helpful.

We sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we would definitely work to solve the problem quickly if one could be found. I also welcome a chance to speak with you about the experience. If you'd like, please call me directly at (703) 310-3040.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a long weekend in the Washington, DC area with family and stayed at this Residence Inn. The facility is very nice, coffee in lobby all the time along with newspapers. Front desk staff on all shifts were great, friendly and helpful. Free dinner on Thursday was an unexpected, breakfast each day was amazing. Free shuttle to Metro or Old Town was above and beyond. Rooms were comfortable, a service problem was resolved very quickly. The swimming pool was small, but nice and the life guard was exceptional. All in all a great stay, would go back anytime we are in the area. Lastly, my 6 year old daughter received a free Teddy Bear from the front desk staff, that made her day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have many good things to say about this place but at the top of the list is the service. While waiting for our airport shuttle in the morning I had set my new sweater down and accidentally left it there in the lobby. I called the hotel an hour or so later when we were at the airport, thinking I left it in the room and was told it had been found in the lobby. She immediately offered to mail it to me and sure enough it arrived in less than a week. Even beside this, the service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. They never acted put out or too busy if we had questions. The shuttle service too and from downtown or to the metro was great and very convenient. The room was clean and spacious; the view was lovely. The bathroom was clean which is very nigh on my priority list. The only negative was perhaps the bed itself; it was a little too firm for my comfort. I did, however, pull out the sofa bed and slept on that instead as it was actually more comfortable; oddly enough. Also it was very quiet up there on the 8th floor. The breakfast selection was very good; but I was surprised that the hot food was cold, even though we arrived during the first hour. Despite that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Let's put it this way. I spend 200+ days a year in hotels. There is NONE on this planet that will offer you better service than this hotel. This is a big city hotel that makes you feel like you are right at home. From the General Manager Mike Wilson helping us with our bags to the front desk staff giving stuffed animals to our kids, it could not have been a better stay.

Thank you to the entire staff for taking such great care of us!
Cameron

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I would highly recomend this hotel. The staff is wonderful and the breakfast great. A little distance from DC sites but worth it. Free shuttle will take you to Metro and pick you up. Better than the 4 and half star we stayed at in Baltimore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.