We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for walking the town or Metro to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location for walking the town or Metro to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just had a nice stay at this hotel. The location is really good for being able to walk just about anywhere in the Old Town area between hotel and the water. The hotel also has it's own shuttle for local transport and also the King St free trolley is about a two minute walk to pick up and will take you anywhere up and down King St. The King St Metro stop is about a three minute walk away after you cross Duke St. Sometimes it can take a while for the light to turn in your favor to cross but once you get going, three minutes tops and you're in front of the station. Anyone who complains that this hotel is not that close to the Metro station is probably the same type who would complain that the Metro was too noisy if it was any closer of a walk. No pleasing these types. We could see the Metro platform from our room. It's that close. The room was fine, nice studio suite. Looked nice, clean and comfortable to me. One day we were there our room was never made up at all. Not sure why. My wife swears she took the do not disturb hangtag off the doorknob before we left for the day so I have to believe her. We had extra towels so it was no big deal and when we mentioned it downstairs it never happened again. The morning breakfast was nice. Eggs, cereals, sausage, waffle maker. Should be something for everyone I'd think. There's a parking garage there for guests. It was $18 daily to park. We were Silver Elite level with Marriott so they dropped the rate to $10 for us. We had a Chevy Traverse rental vehicle and this is about the biggest fattest thing you want to be bringing into the parking garage, It's really tight in there. There is free wi-fi available, we didn't use it though. There was no in-room safe which kind of surprised us. Overall it was a really pleasant stay. The location is really one of their greatest strengths. You can easily stroll all King St has to offer (or take the free trolley if you get tired of walking.) and the Metro can connect you with just about anywhere in the entire area you wish to go. I would stay there again myself and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    159
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
206
106
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague as a great base for touring DC. It really ticked all the boxes. First of all for less than the price of a small DC hotel room we had two rooms and a living room with a kitchen. This worked great for our family of four. Second, it is about two blocks from the Metro blue line station. We could ride the train right to the Mall and see all the sights. We parked our car on Sunday and didn't get back in it for several days. Third, breakfast (a hot breakfast) is included. Dinner is also included but we felt at the end of a long day walking like a hearty meal so we went out. Fourth, it's in Alexandria which is a really nice area.

The staff in this hotel was super nice. They seemed very eager to please our family and seemed to really enjoy having families with children around. If you travel with kids you know that is not always the case.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor near the elevators and we were very happy. Very little noise seeped i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for a week in the middle of the move with our young daughter. We are true Marriott fans and were really excited about this location. Unfortunately it did not meet all of our expectations.

The Good:
- Very convenient location to the metro. Very short walk.
- Whole Foods close by and lots of easy dinner options in the food bar area.
- Breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and super helpful. It seems they have an "all hands on deck" attitude as several office workers were out there clearing tables each morning.
- Easy, convenient parking

The Bad:
- While it is clean there is a sense of shabbiness in the rooms. This place needs to be on the books for new furniture and repairs.
- The cleaners took our daughters linens for the pull out sofa and didn't give us new ones. We didn't discover this until 9:00 at night. Not a problem, these things happen. The issue was it took us 45 minutes and several trips to the front desk to get linens so our daughter could go to bed.
- We were excited about having the pool but the hours are meant for business travelers 0600-1000 and after 1600. Really disappointing for us.
- The cursing among staff has got to stop! We heard it once or twice among a group hanging out at the front desk. The worst incident was when we were coming in from the parking garage on the 2nd floor and passed the open door to the employee area where we were greeted with a series of F-bombs being exchanged. I didn't enjoy spending the next hour explaining to my very inquisitive daughter why we don't use that word.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxs Creek, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel was excellent. The location was perfect close to the Metro but far enough away to get out of the rush and close to a Trolly stop which made it easy to shop and explore in Alexandria. We used the hotel shuttle a couple of times that worked well also. Very quiet location. Our room was great and breakfast was more than I expected. Something for everyone. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Every time I asked for something they more than delivered. This hotel is family friendly. I would defiantly stay here the next time I visit this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for a weekend. We were very impressed with the staff, as they were friendly and kind. The room was comfortable albeit on the small side compared to other Residence Inn locations I have visited. Parking is available for a daily fee. The hotel has a very nice breakfast area which we used in the evenings a couple times. The price was reasonable for a holiday weekend. Pool hours were limited due primarily to the city's (or county's) requirement of a certified lifeguard to be present.

The best aspect of the hotel to me is the location. It is a reasonable walk (5 minutes) to the Metro, adjacent to a Whole Foods Market, and steps away from the Alexandria historic area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The price was very reasonable, especially for three people in a room. There was a comfortable sofa bed, a nice kitchen and bath,free wi-fi, and the breakfast was great. All the employees who even just passed us in the hallway were friendly and appeared to enjoy their work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Middle of May 2012. We had a great experience, Luckily we checked in on a thursday so we were able to take advantage of the evening social. They have a different theme each night M-Th. It was an excellent location. So close to the metro which we were on every day, parked the car and never used it. Hotel is just steps from Whole Foods, which we used for a great dinner when we were just too tired to primp for a dinner out. Our room was so clean, I'd give it a 9. the living room sofa and recliner were just barely a little worn, but still in very good shape. the kitchen was a 10. Wi-fi worked great too. We did have a little trouble with the AC, it worked fine, but it got a little frosty on the coils. It had time to thaw while we were out for the day, so we were never uncomforable, and we like it chilly. We would stay there again without hesitation. Laporta's restaurant, just next door was excellent. Great jazz trio on Fri nights. I had scallops, hubby had beef. All delicious. go meet Coco, the piano dog.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.